Can I safely upgrade my G1 to Android 2.1?

Search This thread

geora

Jul 5, 2010
I'm very new to Android (just got an HTC G1 with Android 1.6 from Craigs List) and I was wandering if there is a way to safely upgrade to Android 2.1.

I truly appreciate your help.

goldenarmZ

Oct 14, 2008
Sheffield
www.gzthemes.com
It's perfectly safe if you read and understand all the instructions before you do anything. If there's any part where you aren't 100% sure what you're doing and what the aim of it is, do more research before you press a single key. All the information is in the wiki here (link up top) and the wiki at cyanogenmod.com

lbcoder

Jan 21, 2009
One must realize that NOT ALL INSTRUCTIONS are correct. SOME instructions can brick your phone.

Using this is brick-proof: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=717874

HOWEVER, your phone needs to be set up to work with it (the setup is safer for preparing for this than most others).

Installation of 1.33.2005 SPL aka "DEATHSPL" is the most dangerous step anyone puts in their instructions. The above link DOES NOT require 1.33.2005. It works with all SPLs, including all of the "perfectly safe" SPLs -- 0.95.x000 and 1.33.2003.

geora

Jul 5, 2010
Thank you for the great responses.

I read a couple of instructions and looks like I have a lot more learning to do before I can touch anything. For example there are terms like rooting, flashing and other terms that I have no idea where to start from.

Do you know of any video that shows all the process?

BuddhaTeh1337

Jun 8, 2010
phoenix

I read a couple of instructions and looks like I have a lot more learning to do before I can touch anything. For example there are terms like rooting, flashing and other terms that I have no idea where to start from.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tS9l2XVG0iY
i cant verify the files, as i just used the wiki and understood from past flashing experience =]

ezterry

Retired Recognized Developer
Jan 16, 2010
Asheville, NC