CyanogenMod 9 - Bug report / Discussion thread / FAQ

Search This thread

jakelq

Senior Member
May 26, 2012
225
61
Arco the Wonder Man

---------- Post added at 06:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:57 PM ----------

I wonder if Arco fixed the issue for slow opening(or sometimes crashes) of some apps(especially in games) while freshly restarted.
But it'll be a very very nice achievement for sure.

LOTS OF THANKS TO ARCO....
 

reinjoy

Senior Member
Sep 15, 2012
231
54
XudaD sA OrmOc
kindly correct:

my fonz currently running on remics rom..i want 2 flash arco's beta 1 rom(or any cosrom based on arco's beta 1)...

A. boot recovery..
1. wipe data,cache partition, and dalvik cache..
2. install zip frm sdcard..
3. wipe data, cache partition, battry stats, and dalvik cache..
4. reboot...

is my way of flashing correct?
is step 3 needed or skipped?

please help guys..i shud hve posted this on QA section but i feel lyk putting it hre 2 gain a mre serious answer..
tnx for ur consdrationz guyz..
 

Hyst

Senior Member
Sep 11, 2012
111
70
kindly correct:

my fonz currently running on remics rom..i want 2 flash arco's beta 1 rom(or any cosrom based on arco's beta 1)...

A. boot recovery..
1. wipe data,cache partition, and dalvik cache..
2. install zip frm sdcard..
3. wipe data, cache partition, battry stats, and dalvik cache..
4. reboot...

is my way of flashing correct?
is step 3 needed or skipped?

please help guys..i shud hve posted this on QA section but i feel lyk putting it hre 2 gain a mre serious answer..
tnx for ur consdrationz guyz..

Skip step 3. When you wipe data AFTER installing the zip, you basicly did delete it again.
 
  • Like
Reactions: reinjoy

jakelq

Senior Member
May 26, 2012
225
61
kindly correct:

my fonz currently running on remics rom..i want 2 flash arco's beta 1 rom(or any cosrom based on arco's beta 1)...

A. boot recovery..
1. wipe data,cache partition, and dalvik cache..
2. install zip frm sdcard..
3. wipe data, cache partition, battry stats, and dalvik cache..
4. reboot...

is my way of flashing correct?
is step 3 needed or skipped?

please help guys..i shud hve posted this on QA section but i feel lyk putting it hre 2 gain a mre serious answer..
tnx for ur consdrationz guyz..

I dont know if it needs to install gapps

---------- Post added at 07:41 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:37 PM ----------

Skip step 3. When you wipe data AFTER installing the zip, you basicly did delete it again.

I think its ok to wipe data, the installed was fresh, so it will not delete any installed apps, or will not restore settings.
It will just return back to the settings of the BETA version of Mighty Arco.:laugh:

---------- Post added at 07:46 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:41 PM ----------

Long time user, only that i have never posted in here before, and development thread has a restriction. ^^

Sent from my GT-I8150 using xda app-developers app

Yup, so better post and post in here, and help others, so we can have privilege to comment/post/help to the other threads.
 
  • Like
Reactions: reinjoy

reinjoy

Senior Member
Sep 15, 2012
231
54
XudaD sA OrmOc
Skip step 3. When you wipe data AFTER installing the zip, you basicly did delete it again.

I think its ok to wipe data, the installed was fresh, so it will not delete any installed apps, or will not restore settings.
It will just return back to the settings of the BETA version of Mighty Arco..

-Now, i need some other party to reclarify the above matter..

please?:(
 

jon1011

Senior Member
Aug 26, 2012
223
30
I think its ok to wipe data, the installed was fresh, so it will not delete any installed apps, or will not restore settings.
It will just return back to the settings of the BETA version of Mighty Arco..
-Now, i need some other party to reclarify the above matter..

please?:(
Edit:
As much as I don't like to do this,
but here it is:
Install

  1. Use CWM5 or CWM6.
    • Warning: Only use this recovery to flash CM9. Otherwise, you risk bricking your phone!
  2. Wipe data and cache.
  3. Flash update*.zip.
  4. Flash gapps*.zip. You must flash gapps after every upgrade to CM9 since /system is formatted, wiping your previous add-ons.
  5. Reboot phone.
  6. After you setup your Google account, reinstall the three apps from Market in order to restore most of your apps, call log and SMS history.
  7. Warning: Do not restore backup data of system apps!
    • If you restore a bad backup with cached settings in telephony.db in data/data/com.*.*.telephony it can break MMS.
    • It seems that restoring backups can also break Calendar sync.
Upgrades
Upgrades from previous versions of CM9 are the same process as install, except you do not need to wipe anything. Contrary to popular belief, you do not need to even wipe cache and dalvik-cache when upgrading between CM9 versions. You only need to wipe if you are doing a major upgrade, switching to a different ROM entirely, or attempting to fix bugs caused by bad backups or corrupt app data.
And oh, there's also a backup portion which I didn't include in the quote.
Above is only for a fresh install. :)


Happy flashing everyone! :)
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: reinjoy

sigprof

Senior Member
Jan 5, 2012
180
234
Installed Beta 1 — works great for now, will check builtin USB tethering tomorrow.

BTW, in Alpha 8 I was using Wired Tether for Root Users as a workaround for non-working tethering, and this app trips a bug in Superuser 3.2 — root permissions are not remembered (the prompt is shown on every attempt to toggle tethering). The problem is that this app invokes two different commands as root (the script gets invoked with either "start" or "stop" argument), but the permission check code in the su binary from Superuser 3.2 (which now uses plaintext files instead of an sqlite database) supports only a single command per calling app. This is probably not a common way to invoke su (many apps just start a root shell and pass commands to it), but the older Superuser version did not have such problems.

And there is a small problem with the camera (was present in Alpha 8 too): the “Power shutter” option (using the Power button instead of the nonpresent camera button) starts working only after the camera app is exited and started again. Attempting to press the power button immediately after turning the “Power shutter” option on just turns the screen off and locks it, and sometimes the camera app crashes after unlocking the screen. After restarting the camera app, however, using the power button to shoot pictures works.
 

AmrMgdi

Member
Aug 18, 2012
6
0
Cairo
First...thanks for Arco and all contributing developers for this masterpiece......i recently tried beta1 and it is really awesome...but i found video recording quality is less than photoshot quality...is this normal or just because of focus mode in photoshots
 
Last edited:

[iop]wah

Senior Member
Apr 9, 2012
121
27
Manila
Battery Deformed

Hi,

Dont know if this is regarding the OS but i just want to repport it, i just noticed that after using alpha8 fo a week my battery started to expand that it no longer fits and i cannot close the cover..it started with continued random reboots, then suddenly it would no longer open if i will not w8 for a few minutes..
 

honeyx

Senior Member
Dec 30, 2011
1,046
927
Hi,

Dont know if this is regarding the OS but i just want to repport it, i just noticed that after using alpha8 fo a week my battery started to expand that it no longer fits and i cannot close the cover..it started with continued random reboots, then suddenly it would no longer open if i will not w8 for a few minutes..

Are you kidding, or are you meaning this serious? If this is serious then take out your battery immediately out of your phone and buy a new one. It´s not related to the OS. Your battery is crapping out and may explode any time. A exploding Li-ion battery is nearly like a little phosphor bomb.
 

azhiekurosaki

Senior Member
Apr 7, 2012
644
130
limboto
Hey, I have just upgrade my CM9 to beta but it seems a little lag compared to alpha 8. Especially in the launcher and opening app. And when I open antutu to test the benchmark but it stops at 78%. I upgraded this CM9 by these steps:
1. Wipe cache, dalvik
2. Format system
3. Install zip
4. Install gapps
4. Wipe cache, dalvik, battery stats again
5. Fix permission
6.reboot


Anyone has the same issue? Or this CM9 Beta should be flashed by a "clean Install"? I actually upgraded CM9 alpha 7 to alpha 8 by the same way but it seemed fine and nothing went wrong. But this beta, seems have a problem by doing upgrade straight from alpha version. Any proper answer would get thanks from me.

Sent from my GT-I8150 using xda premium
 

2g11

Senior Member
Nov 24, 2011
375
86
Accra
I've noticed my external sd has developed a problem. Before I flashed beta 1, I could no longer write/delete files from my external sd, only the internal. After flashing beta 1 it worked fine for a while, but now it's crapping out again. Every file I copy on it, whether through pc connection or from the internal sd gets corrupted. Any ideas?

Sent From My Wonder on CyanogenMod 9
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 81
    in7kew.jpg


    Bug report / Discussion thread / FAQ

    Latest CyanogenMod 9 and Developer Thread

    Bugs: (UPDATED UP TO PAGE 212) STATUS

    Major issues:
    - White Bug: While scrolling the mail turns to a white screen (Facebook, GMail) [1][2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] [9] [10] [11] [12] [13] [14] (Beta 4) - useful conclusion
    - Bluetooth: autoconnect does not work properly [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] (Beta 4)
    - Ringtones: not repeating [1] [2] (Beta 4)
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    - WiFi: autoconnect does not work [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [7] [8] (Beta 3) - possible fix
    - Camera/Videocamera: crashes with video effect(smile, big eye) [1] [2] [3] [4] (Beta 3)
    - phone app: calls often disconnect / phone sometimes reboots while in call [1] [2] [3] [4] (Beta 3)

    Single issues: (These need to be confirmed)
    - SMS-Notifications: stopped working [1](Beta 4)
    - Bluetooth: Bluetooth Device Settings do not work correctly [1] (Beta 4)
    - System: If Hotspot is switched on, system gets instable [1] (Beta 4)
    - Mobile Network: not connecting to 3G networks [1] (Beta 4)
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    - Ringtones: is not being played repeatedly [1] [2](Beta 3)
    - System: phone turns off by itself, eating the battery change in the process [1] (Beta 3)
    - System: Phone shuts down itself [1](Beta 3)
    - System: SMS messaging [1](Beta 3)
    - System: phone reboots randomly [1](Beta 3)
    - System: statusbar does not show up [1](Beta 3)
    - Bluetooth: Phones Reboot after turning on the Bluetooth [1] [2] (Beta 3)
    - Camera: Photo taken from camera IN PORTRAIT MODE [1](Beta 3)
    - Phone-App: Calls often disconnect [1](Beta 3)
    - Camera: Camera colours' distorted [1](Beta 3)


    App issues:
    Waze: lag and freeze when navigating [1] (Beta 4)
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    - Play Store: sometimes can't install app [1] [2] (Beta 3)
    - Waze: screen still auto lock even though prevent auto lock is checked in Waze [1] (Beta 3)
    - Viber: audio is on loudspeaker [1] [2] [3](Beta 3)
    - Tango: force close at call [1] (Beta 3)
    - RunKeeper: hen save activity, RunKeeper crashes and closed [1] [2](Beta 3)
    - VPNC Widget: VPN connection lost [1] (Beta 3)
    - AnTuTu Benchmark: 2D/3D Benchmark [1] (Beta 3)
    - Alarm-App: does not ring [1] (Beta 3)
    - WhatsApp: The Vibration does not work [1] (Beta 3)

    Game issues:
    Angry Birds Star Wars: crashes after few minutes [1] (Beta 4)
    ---------------------------------------------------------
    - GTA 3: freezes [1] [2] (Beta 3)

    @everybody who reported bugs for previous versions:
    Would you please test the problem and report whether it has changed in latest version or not ?


    Working/Non-Working Status


    If you have any suggestions, bugs, corrections, please let me know.
    25
    How to post a bug:

    How to post a bug:

    Please copy the following code in your post and fill in the information:

    HTML:
    [B]Version:[/B] CM9 - Beta 3
    [B]App/Game/Subject:[/B] WRITE HERE APPNAME
    [B]Bugtitle:[/B] WRITE HERE BUGTITLE
    [B]Description:[/B] WRITE HERE DESCRIPTION

    Explanation:

    Version: If your current ROM differs from the latest version, please update to the latest one, in order to report a bug.

    App/Game/Subject: e.g. Gallery, Facebook, Camera, Battery, System, GTA 3 etc.

    Bugtitle: Describe the bug in a few words

    Description: Describe the bug in detail, so the developer or user does not need to ask for further information.

    You can post as many bugs in one post you like, but please list them all seperated and not all in one!

    Example:
    Version: CM9 - Beta 3
    App: Facebook
    Bugtitle: White screen after start
    Description: When I start the Facebook app, the screen where the posts should be listed turns white. Only while scrolling the posts appear.
    22
    APN and pin lock issue is fixed for next build, both CM9 and CM10.
    19
    However, it works for me on RC2 (although the AP is very old — ASUS WL-500g Deluxe, Broadcom chipset, 802.11g, using WPA2-PSK). But I set it up on alpha4 and did not perform any wipes since then.

    Strange, cause nothing has been changed regarding wifi between RC2 and RC3.

    cm9 RC3 can't record video using front camera..am i the only one?

    Confirmed. Was caused by frame rate fix for back camera. I fixed it for front camera now, and compiled a new camera.msm7x30.so
    Push it to system/lib/hw and reboot.

    Preview and recording should be a lot smoother now.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?1mua8u68ul7ra7a
    18
    FAQ:

    How can I update this ROM?
    Unless exceptions aren't mentioned, you simply have to flash the latest ZIP-file of the ROM using CWM. You files should stay untouched, but still it is always recommended to make a backup.

    Does it support my language?
    CyanogenMod (9) is multilingual, so it supports all common language in the world.

    How can I update my basebandversion?
    a) You can flash the Baseband from here.
    or
    b) Make a Nandroid backup of your current CM9 -> wipe everything -> Flash the latest stock ROM from your region via ODIN ->
    flash ClockWorkMod -> wipe everything -> flash CM9 -> restore data.

    What is CWM ?
    CWM stands for ClockWorkMod. It is a custom Recovery which enables complete backups (Nandroid backup) and complete restores.
    (HowTo install)

    What are GApps?
    GApps stands for GoogleApps. Google Apps = Google Play Store, Google Calender ...
    Due to copyright, CyanogenMod is not allowed to implement GoogleApps directly in their ROMs, that is why you have to install it manually.

    How do I install or update Google Mail?
    Due to copyright, CyanogenMod is not allowed to implement Google Mail directly in their ROMs, that is why you have to install/update it manually:
    Follow this link on your device and open it with the Google Play Store: click here

    Where do I find the external SD on CM9 ?
    The directory has changed (The following are the directories before swapping):
    external(physical) SD card: /external_sd/ or /mnt/external_sd/
    internal SD card: /sdcard/ or /mnt/sdcard/

    How do I swap the internal and external SD on CM9 ?
    Settings -> Storage->Menu-Button->Storage configuration (a restart might be necessary)

    How do I activate MTP on CM9 ?
    Settings ->Storage->Menu-Button->USB connection->mark MTP

    How do I enable brightness control for the notification bar?
    Settings -> System ->Status bar ->Activate brightness control
    Now you can use the notification bar to control the brightness.(wipe on it left and right)
    Source

    My phone restarts randomly after update?
    Note: All your Data will stay untouched (Backup/Restore)
    1.Open ClockWorkMod->backup and restore->backup to externl sdcard
    2.wipe data/factory reset
    3.wipe cache partition(not sure if needed)
    4.install zip from sdcard->choose the latest CM9 version
    5.advanced restore from external sdcard->choose backup->Restore data
    6.reboot

    The battery of my device drains rapidly fast, what can I do?
    After flashing a new ROM you will have to do several(5+) charging cycle in order to get a calibrated battery.
    There are also battery calibration apps, such as Battery Calibration which help you with the battery calibration. Long story short: Be patient.

    My Data connections / Adding APNs doesn't work, what can I do?
    It is a known bug in (Alpha 1). Flash this zip to solve this bug.

    What is a funny SIM card ?
    A funny SIM card, is a SIM card which provides GSM connection, but does not let you enable data connection, because APNs can't be added.(only on CyanogenMod)Flash this zip to solve this bug.
Our Apps
Get our official app!
The best way to access XDA on your phone
Nav Gestures
Add swipe gestures to any Android
One Handed Mode
Eases uses one hand with your phone