**Desktops and Laptops Thread**[All In One Thread]

Search This thread

K.A.

Senior Member
Apr 4, 2012
6,359
1,271
Well, seems this is the Official desktops and laptops thread in the XDA OT.

Feel free to ask any questions you may have, any suggestions you may want/have you would like to share and if you are visiting this thread for the first time do also post your PC/laptop config. ;)


Cheers!
 
Last edited:

side_effect

Senior Member
Dec 30, 2011
1,470
324
i5 @ 3.3ghz
4 GB ram
1TB hdd
Dell 21" slimtower
ATI radeon 6570 GC
And Windows 7 ultimate..
The two skins that i use mostly
6ad33132-97a6-8f50.jpg
6ad33132-98a3-1289.jpg
 
Last edited:

deerhurst

Senior Member
Apr 1, 2012
214
23
Im using a malibal p150hm1.

Specs:
Intel i7 2630QM at 2.0GHz
8GB RAM
2x 500GB HDD
15" 1920x1080 display
GTX 560m

Sent from my Transformer TF101 using Tapatalk 2
 

lewymaro

Senior Member
Jul 8, 2012
58
17
Warsaw
Redmi K20 / Xiaomi Mi 9T
So.. Here's my little one :D
CPU:AMD Phenom X3 8750 Black Edition
Motherboard: Gigabyte M68M-S2P
GPU:Galaxy GeForce 8800GT
RAM: 4GB Geil Black Dragon
HDD: Seagate 120GB
LCD: Asus VW223 1600x1200
Windows 7 Ultimate
 

kevin2516

Senior Member
Sep 1, 2010
3,707
1,345
Sydney
Intel i7 920
Gigabyte EX58-UD3R motherboard
Kingston 2x3gb ram
2x500gb HDD
ATI HD Radeon 5750
Samsung 20" LCD
Windows 7 Ultimate

Sent from my GT-I9000 using xda premium
 

Mitko

Senior Member
Oct 29, 2009
700
230
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
3GB DDR2 RAM
450GB SATA Hard drive
nVIDIA GeForce 9600 GT (1GB)
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 5000+ (2.61GHz)
Samsung 20" LCD
 

jaszek

Senior Member
Dec 30, 2008
5,742
1,094
30
Brooklyn
jaszekphoto.com
That's not a PC,that's a beast.....

Sent from the year 3000 using a SGA where sheep's are not present.

this is what u call a machine:thumbup:
She runs great. I was actually gonna go for 32GB of RAM, but decided to save the $100 and only get 16.

Ummm no. It says I'm running W7 and how would I have an Asus MB in a Mac? I can post screenshots later for you if you want. lol
 

BeerChameleon

Senior Member
Aug 21, 2008
16,212
1,172
Tucson,Arizona.
Dell Inspiron I15RSE-4500BK laptop
-3rd Gen Intel® Core™ i7-3612QM processor (Quad Core)
-8gb Ram
-2gb dedicated AMD AMD Radeon HD 7730M graphics
-TB Hard Drive
-15.6 1080p High Definition Display
-Bluetooth
-4 3.0 USB Ports
-Moar stuff don't want to copy and paste every little thing :p
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 5
    Linux is ugly as ****








    You guys dont belong in this world..

    Sent from the Underdog..
    4
    This is my beast lol.

    Samsumg 19' LCD
    Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.00Ghz
    Kingston 1 GB RAM
    80GB HDD1 + 40GB HDD2
    Arch Linux 3.5.4-1-ARCH
    Radeon 9600 Graphics card

    I'm gonna use it until it explodes, it's not that bad.

    A 19 foot LCD display? Not bad...
    4
    Intel i7 2600K 3.4GHZ Overclocked @ 4.0GHz
    Asus P8P67 Deluxe Motherboard
    16GB Ram (4X4GB)
    2x1TB HDD
    64GB SSD
    Acer 23" Display
    2x Geforce 9600GTS in SLi
    W7 Ultimale
    4
    Can someone tell me the use of having a 128(or any other variant) SSD and a 1 TB/any variant HDD?? Any benefit of having both?

    This is my exact set up. Here's how it works.

    What goes on the SSD?
    OS (Windows 7 boots in like 10 seconds, amazing) and Applications (photoshop, steam, steam games, MS visual studio, MS Office, etc). My applications get the benefit of running off a lightning fast SSD which makes them all faster to open and easier to work with.

    What goes on the HDD?
    Music, movies, small applets (i.e. my hard drive partitioning tool), apps that don't require a lot of performance (in my case, Android SDK...as I just use it for ADB, fastboot, etc on my Windows computer). This is where my torrent downloads go, my Android stuff (ROMs, kernels, toolkits, etc) goes here and all my programs are defaulted to set the HDD as their default path when downloading something.

    The reason:
    Price. In most cases, the storage outweighs the programs. In my case, OS and Applications take up only about 75-80GB, give or take. My storage, on the other hand, is a mammoth 400GB. So, in reality, I only need a hard drive that's 128GB to keep my applications on because they fit on a drive that size. Then I get the much bigger, albeit much slower, hard drive for all the files, music, video, etc. Since things like movies, videos, etc aren't typically bottlenecked by slower hard drives, then you don't need the faster speed when accessing those files.

    TL;DR In short, why buy a 500GB SSD (which is INSANELY expensive) when you can get 128GB of SSD space for what you need it for and 1TB for the rest at but a fraction of the cost.

    Hope I helped. I love this set up...my only regret is that I didn't spend a month, save up and go for double the space :)
    4
    here,something better than previous screenies.hope u people are familiar with rainmeter:D