[DEV/GUIDE]Creating APKs for use with TMobile Theme engine

t3project

Jun 14, 2010
First of I want to say that I am not a developer. I don't have programming experience nor do I know a whole lot about this particular subject. I hope that sharing what I have found so far will help anyone else who wants to do something similar. With the help of voodoo55 I have successfully created and compiled APKs for use with the TMobile theme engine. Although this appears to be a great idea for the experienced developer because it will make themes cross device compatible it probably isnt going to be such a big hit with the normal joe blow themer such as myself for a few main reasons.

1. You have to be running linux and tapped into the CyanogenMOD github.
2. You're probably going to need to know a bit of xml coding (which I didnt when I started).
3. You're going to have to know how to decompile and edit .9 PNGs.
4. You're going to have to know how to compile APKs un linux as well​

None of these in themselves are all that complicated or hard for that matter, just tedious and very time consuming for the average themer. I am not going to get into specifics or xml code details here. As I am not a developer and dont know much about this stuff all I am going to do is tell you how these APKs function and what files need to be changed in order to compile them. Also, you'll find out the time consuming problem with compiling these APKs and how to fix it. Im just too lazy to sit here and manually fix hundreds of images.

Please remember these instructions are not very detailed but give a general idea on the direction you will need to take to make this happen. Also, for anyone who knows more about this than I do, please, feel free to correct me.

Step 1 - You are going to need to have a working linux distro running.​
Step 2 - You need to follow the instructions located here minus the last step to get the source from Cyanogen's github.​