• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!

How To Guide F926U and F926U1 Firmware Links and Flashing Discussion Here

Search This thread
Thanks for the reply! This makes sense. I guess having the XAU in my service provider version may be due to setting up the device with a deactivated sim. If anyone with a T-Mobile locked F926U device could verify weather or not they have the XAU in service provider version (see screenshot) it would be greatly appreciated! Trying to avoid resetting my device to find out (y)
Actually, I have xau as well.
My phone was set up at t-mobile, but they had to get me a 5g Sim card because my previous phone only had LTE.

I'm 99% sure the XAU just means it's a multi CSC firmware that doesn't set a specific region when firmware is flashed. Instead using the Sim to check region for Ota updates.
Which as you said could be due to being set up without a Sim card, but also could be just how the fold 3 is if it's a universal CSC partition. That would require someone to chime in that had a proper Sim card in the phone during setup.

Normally a phone pings Samsung's servers when booting after firmware flash and sets the region to whatever server location is closest, as well as inferring carrier specific CSC from that region.
That generally would mean that you couldn't get Ota updates from someplace that isn't your region. (say you were overseas)
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20211011-090440_Settings.jpg
    Screenshot_20211011-090440_Settings.jpg
    552.8 KB · Views: 81
  • Like
Reactions: rsfinsrq

rsfinsrq

Senior Member
Actually, I have xau as well.
My phone was set up at t-mobile, but they had to get me a 5g Sim card because my previous phone only had LTE.

I'm 99% sure the XAU just means it's a multi CSC firmware that doesn't set a specific region when firmware is flashed. Instead using the Sim to check region for Ota updates.
Which as you said could be due to being set up without a Sim card, but also could be just how the fold 3 is if it's a universal CSC partition. That would require someone to chime in that had a proper Sim card in the phone during setup.

Normally a phone pings Samsung's servers when booting after firmware flash and sets the region to whatever server location is closest, as well as inferring carrier specific CSC from that region.
That generally would mean that you couldn't get Ota updates from someplace that isn't your region. (say you were overseas)
Thanks for your reply! I think as long as there was a T-Mobile sim, regardless of 4 or 5G, I believe it would identify the sim and set up properly. That being said, I feel comfortable that our service provider version is in fact correct. Unless someone chimes in with something different, I'll hold off on resetting my device. Thanks again!
 
  • Like
Reactions: Acoustichayes
Thanks for your reply! I think as long as there was a T-Mobile sim, regardless of 4 or 5G, I believe it would identify the sim and set up properly. That being said, I feel comfortable that our service provider version is in fact correct. Unless someone chimes in with something different, I'll hold off on resetting my device. Thanks again!
Right that's what I'm saying. Region is only set for Ota update purposes. The xxx/xxx/xxx/TMB is what says to set it up as a t-mobile device from initial boot if no Sim is present.

The region being XAU(instead of TMB) is solely saying you can still get Ota updates regardless what region you are in
 
  • Like
Reactions: rsfinsrq

iBowToAndroid

Senior Member
Nov 9, 2010
4,804
1
1,519
Twin Cities MN
Can I flash my carrier locked fold 3 on att without unlocking the bootloader or being sim unlocked.
Yes
Does anyone know if the 926W (Canada) model can also be flashed to U1 firmware? I know this was previously possible with the S8+, S10+, and potentially other models too, don't imagine Sammy would change things up now, but I'm gonna be waiting at least a month for my order to ship so I can't test for myself atm.
Yes
 
  • Like
Reactions: pilotp94

Hero_is_Over

Senior Member
Nov 5, 2012
104
143
If you've flashed U1, then you'll get U1 updates.

Bloatware doesn't usually make any noticeable difference in battery. For the most part, if you're not using it, it's not using battery
Tbis is completely incorrect. Carrier bloat will run in the bc kground without your knowledge. Typically it is software used by the carrier to "optimize your data speeds by reporting your triangulated location incessantly. Even worse some carriers like ATT have apps like "MobileServices" which will actively install bloatware. These are two examples, but to say bloat doesnt hurt battery is the wrong message to tell others. It will also cause slowdowns and other miscellaneous issues.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ronaldheld

iBowToAndroid

Senior Member
Nov 9, 2010
4,804
1
1,519
Twin Cities MN
Tbis is completely incorrect. Carrier bloat will run in the bc kground without your knowledge. Typically it is software used by the carrier to "optimize your data speeds by reporting your triangulated location incessantly. Even worse some carriers like ATT have apps like "MobileServices" which will actively install bloatware. These are two examples, but to say bloat doesnt hurt battery is the wrong message to tell others. It will also cause slowdowns and other miscellaneous issues.
We'll all wait on pins and needles for a comprehensive detailed report by you, showing proof of this
 

tyrone1

Senior Member
Feb 9, 2011
683
102
My unlocked t mobile z fold 3 says tmb/tmb/xau after I flagged u1 csc tmb firmware.

There is no 4th tmb. Why?
 

Markeee

Senior Member
Sep 29, 2012
1,180
244
South Florida
Is it possible to re-flash and use an International Dual sim variant of the Fold 3 here in the US on Xfinity Mobile?

I know for fact that Xfinity Mobile does not support dual or eSims so i would use another carrier for the second number
 

iBowToAndroid

Senior Member
Nov 9, 2010
4,804
1
1,519
Twin Cities MN
Is it possible to re-flash and use an International Dual sim variant of the Fold 3 here in the US on Xfinity Mobile?

I know for fact that Xfinity Mobile does not support dual or eSims so i would use another carrier for the second number
Reflash? No.

Use it as is? I don't know for sure but probably not. My guess would be that if you typed the IMEI into Xfinity's BYOD checker, they would say it's not compatible with them
 

Markeee

Senior Member
Sep 29, 2012
1,180
244
South Florida
Reflash? No.

Use it as is? I don't know for sure but probably not. My guess would be that if you typed the IMEI into Xfinity's BYOD checker, they would say it's not compatible with them
There BYOD compatibly checker is pretty useless it only allows you to check for Pixel Apple and Samsung phones. I been running a Nexus 6 with LineageOS that shows up as not compatible for years. many other phones work also.

I guess what I'm asking is isn't there a way to just simply flash one of the US firmware's like XAA = U1 firmware or the CCT = Xfinity to enable the proper US frequency bands on a Physical dual sim international phone ?
 

Markeee

Senior Member
Sep 29, 2012
1,180
244
South Florida
Just snagged a Fold 3 Samsung version SM-F926U1 off Swappa https://swappa.com/listing/view/LVLI62772

if its already running the latest firmware Is there any added debloat or other benefits to flashing XAA = U1 firmware. My carrier is Xfinity Mobile also wondering if there's anything in particular to Xfinity I need to know before I start flashing it ?
 
Just snagged a Fold 3 Samsung version SM-F926U1 off Swappa https://swappa.com/listing/view/LVLI62772

if its already running the latest firmware Is there any added debloat or other benefits to flashing XAA = U1 firmware. My carrier is Xfinity Mobile also wondering if there's anything in particular to Xfinity I need to know before I start flashing it ?
If just a U1, which it is listed as such in that listing, then it's already running the XAA U1 firmware. Just pop in your SIM card and enjoy.
 

kenbrownstone

Senior Member
Feb 12, 2013
1,490
372
OnePlus 7 Pro
I've got the u1 firm I'm gonna odin to my Verizon u..Was wondering in odin do I do the user data thing too..Read on another not to do it so I wanted to check
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 1
    Hi guys. Been a few years since I've been on here.
    My question is can I use a Tmobile version and flash it for Verizon?
    Will everything function as a normal Verizon fold 3?
    Buying used and tmobile is everywhere cheap. Unlocked and Verizon still high priced. Found phone and the watch 4 classic 46mm for $1000
    This question maybe answered somewhere already, sorry if I missed it and thanks for your help!
    1
    Hi guys. Been a few years since I've been on here.
    My question is can I use a Tmobile version and flash it for Verizon?
    Will everything function as a normal Verizon fold 3?
    Buying used and tmobile is everywhere cheap. Unlocked and Verizon still high priced. Found phone and the watch 4 classic 46mm for $1000
    This question maybe answered somewhere already, sorry if I missed it and thanks for your help!
    I was wondering the same thing from what I understand after reading the first post in this thread seems all US carriers F926U versions along with the F926U1 version that Samsung sells the are basically the same phone and are all 100% interchangeable.
    Best to read it yourself I'm a bit on the ADD side when it comes to reading and comprehending details
  • 8
    For those who aren't already aware, F926U is the model number of all of the US carrier versions of the Z Fold3. The F926U1 is the model number of the same device, but sold by Samsung SIM unlocked and with no carrier bloatware. Firmware is 100% interchangeable among these models: any U or U1 firmware version can be flashed to any U or U1 device at any time, assuming that you're not trying to downgrade the bootloader. A "U to U" or "U1 to U1" flash does not require a factory reset, but changing from one firmware to the other will require one. Also, U firmware is identical for the 4 base files (AP, BL, CP, CSC) for each individual build, no matter which carrier it comes from. So if you download 2 different carrier versions of the exact same build, the 4 base files will be identical. Where the firmware differs is in the USERDATA file - that's where the carrier bloatware and customizations reside.

    Manual Odin flashing is designed for those who:

    - want to manually update to a newer version of U firmware on their U device, either because they don't want to wait for their carrier's OTA or because OTAs aren't working on their device, or a different carrier got a new feature/patch before they did
    - want to flash U1 firmware to their U device
    - want to convert from U1 firmware to carrier U firmware
    - want to convert from one carrier's U firmware (with all apps and bloatware) to a different carrier's U firmware (with all apps and bloatware)

    For those who aren't already aware, anyone can now download firmware for almost any Samsung device any time that they want, via the various firmware download tools posted here on XDA like SamFirm or Frija. There are threads and info about them here on XDA so I won't waste time explaining - do a search if you're not already familiar with these tools. But they only provide whatever the latest/newest/current version is - nothing older. I have access to an internal Samsung firmware download tool that usually gets new versions before they hit the public firmware download tools, so that's where my files come from.

    This is not a "beginner's guide to Odin flashing" -type post/thread, so I won't list basic, step-by-step flashing instructions. My threads are geared towards those who already know what they're doing. If you're new to manually flashing Samsung firmware (or haven't done it in a long time), I recommend you consult one of those "beginner's" guides- there are tons of them here on XDA.

    Happy flashing!

    U firmware: https://www.androidfilehost.com/?w=files&flid=327754
    U1 firmware: https://www.androidfilehost.com/?w=files&flid=327755

    Notes:

    - DON'T QUOTE THE OP WHEN YOU REPLY, kthx

    - I have lots of threads just like this one for other Samsung flagships, if it interests you. For those who have already made use of my previous threads for a different device and are upgrading, welcome back :)

    - My zips are compressed extra small for space and bandwidth savings. The default Windows extractor can't handle it, so you'll need a 3rd party tool like 7zip, WinRAR, etc

    - it's quite time consuming to download the files, zip them up, and upload them to AFH. And, I do threads like this for every single flagship model, so I won't be uploading every single version. The only full builds that I upload are ones where I get access to a new bootloader and/or Android version early, before they hit the firmware download tools.

    - My naming method for folders on AFH is: build - bootloader - Android version
    So "SAT - 1 - 9.0" means the full build number ends in SAT, it's bootloader version 1, and it's Android 9.0. When bootloader and Android versions increment, the first build to have those changes will have its folder notated appropriately.

    - HOME CSC file keeps data intact; using the other CSC will wipe data. Flashing USERDATA will also wipe data.

    - Since AT&T doesn't allow their firmware to be publicly available (for any of their devices), I'll try to always upload at least one USERDATA per bootloader increment for AT&T (and Cricket, if they get this model). I'll also upload any full builds if AT&T is the only carrier to get that specific build, because you won't be able to find the files anywhere else.

    - For identifying USERDATAS, and to know what region/CSC to use in the firmware download tools if you're downloading yourself:

    AIO = Cricket (not available via firmware download tools)
    ATT = AT&T (not available via firmware download tools)
    BST = Boost Mobile
    CCT = Xfinity Mobile (Comcast)
    CHA = Spectrum Mobile (Charter)
    DSH = Dish Network
    TMB = T-Mobile
    TMK = Metro PCS
    USC = US Cellular
    VZW = Verizon (available via firmware download tools, but Manual Entry is required - Auto will not work)
    XAA = U1 firmware
    2
    I guess what I'm asking is isn't there a way to just simply flash one of the US firmware's like XAA = U1 firmware or the CCT = Xfinity to enable the proper US frequency bands on a Physical dual sim international phone ?
    Nope. If you want US firmware, get a US phone
    1
    Is there a T-Mobile version available yet?
    Yep, firmware has been on Samsung's servers since last week
    1
    I downloaded the file from samefirm, and frija but did not get the carrier bloat or T-Mobile boot screen from either one. I have an unlocked version.
    You need to make sure your CSC shows as TMB, and need to make sure you're flashing USERDATA too
    1
    Hi guys. Been a few years since I've been on here.
    My question is can I use a Tmobile version and flash it for Verizon?
    Will everything function as a normal Verizon fold 3?
    Buying used and tmobile is everywhere cheap. Unlocked and Verizon still high priced. Found phone and the watch 4 classic 46mm for $1000
    This question maybe answered somewhere already, sorry if I missed it and thanks for your help!
    I was wondering the same thing from what I understand after reading the first post in this thread seems all US carriers F926U versions along with the F926U1 version that Samsung sells the are basically the same phone and are all 100% interchangeable.
    Best to read it yourself I'm a bit on the ADD side when it comes to reading and comprehending details