• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!
  • Fill out your device list and let everyone know which phones you have!    Edit Your Device Inventory

[FRAMEWORK MODS] Disable Screen On/Off on USB plug + Center Clock + others 11/27/2016

Search This thread

CZ Eddie

Sep 27, 2011
Austin, TX
The mods listed below are for the "V" version of Google Pixel XL images.

They probably work for non-XL as well as "U" and "X" images, but I can't guarantee this. I would definitely NOT flash this if you're on "N" or anything else.
Do note this is my first time providing framework mods, so... yeah. :eek:

Installing this mod probably won't wipe any data or pre-configured settings, but I can't guarantee that either.

The mod may or may not conflict with WETA framework mods, I'm not sure. Please let me know?

LIST OF CUSTOMIZATION YOU GET AFTER DOING THIS MOD:
  • ---Disable screen wake-on when unplug or plug USB
  • ---Disable IME Switcher Notification
  • ---Enable all rotations
  • ---Enable lockscreen rotation
  • ---Disable safe media volume
  • ---Centered Clock
  • ---Enable double-tap to wake (no idea if it works or not, may require kernel)

UPDATE: @Tulsadiver has added battery percentage/numeral options.
Please see post #7 for his zip and give him some thanks!

I'm going to eventually explore more mods, such as getting the 1% battery icon and adjusting status bar icon/clock/battery sizes.

Download the framework-res.apk and SystemUIGoogle.apk here:
http://www.filedropper.com/frameworkfiles

To install, you'll need a file browser with root privileges.
I use Root Explorer and that's what these directions are for.

Before proceeding, I do recommend that you copy your original framework-res and SystemUIGoogle to your PC in case you need to restore them.

1) Download the zip from link above.
2) Extract the zip on your PC.
3) Copy both APK files to your /sdcard.
4) Open Root Explorer and locate the files.