Full Guide on how to Unlock, Root, and flash GSI to Redmi Note 8 Pro

Top Liked Posts

• There are no posts matching your filters.
    A word of caution: I am not a ROM developer for this device, I'm just giving a safe method for flashing GSI to this device. If you decide to flash an unsafe/untested GSI (which is anything other than Havoc OS 2.9 GSI) the resulting outcome is your fault, may that be your phone booting up to the welcome screen of your new ROM or a brick. If you have any questions, please PM me.

1. Unlocking the Bootloader
    This is pretty easy.
    -Install the Mi Unlock app from here on your PC.
    -Go to the Settings app on your RN8P.
    -Press About Phone and then press the MIUI version number 7 times or until it says "No need, you are already a developer."
    -Go back and scroll down until you see Other Settings. Tap Other Settings and from there tap on Developer Options. From there you should turn on OEM Unlocking and USB Debugging.
    -Scroll up and click on Mi Unlock Status. Add your account there and install the ADB and USB drivers for this phone onto the PC that you installed Mi Unlock tool to.
    -Connect it to that PC via USB and turn off your phone. Open Mi Unlock. Enter your Mi Account information. Enter fastboot mode by holding Power and Volume Down on your phone until a picture of a rabbit appears.
    -Press Unlock on Mi Unlock. Then, the program will either say that your phone is unlocked or that you have to wait 168 or more hours. If it does tell you this, wait until that time is up to press unlock again. Once the program says that your phone is unlocked, you're good to go.
    2. Installing TWRP
    -There isn't actually any official TWRP Recovery for this device, as you may have noticed. Instead, download the LR TEAM Unofficial TWRP here onto your PC.
    -Install Szaki Tools onto your PC here. This is not only a minimal ADB/Fastboot tool but it also contains a graphical interface if you need it.