• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!
  • Fill out your device list and let everyone know which phones you have!    Edit Your Device Inventory

Get fingerprint working on US version?

Search This thread

msamuels0

Oct 5, 2007
San Diego
Apologies in advance for noobish questions...

I bought an unlocked Z5C (US version) at Best Buy a few weeks ago, and have been happy with the phone, even though the fingerprint sensor has been disabled for the US.

I had been hoping for the possibility that when 6.0 was released for the phone, because of the new framework having more fingerprint-related libraries baked in, that the sensor would be enabled. No such luck.

So, my question is, how easy/difficult would it be to somehow enable the fingerprint sensor on the US version of the Z5 Compact?

I've never really gotten too deep into rooting, building, etc., but I am a software developer, so I'd be comfortable with development tools, build environments, modules, etc., but I just don't know where to start with something so specific, having never done it for this platform before.

I'd have to think that there would be some way to do a custom build, either importing fingerprint libraries into a US build, or importing US radio libraries into an international build that has the sensor enabled, or some combination like that?

I'm really just looking for someone to hopefully point me in a direction to try to do this. If there's already a solution, even better, but I'm not holding my breath for that one.

Thanks in advance for any info!
-Mark

Pakman123

Feb 7, 2010
Far Far Away

I bought an unlocked Z5C (US version) at Best Buy a few weeks ago, and have been happy with the phone, even though the fingerprint sensor has been disabled for the US.