• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!
Search This thread

immortalneo

Senior Member
Jan 25, 2011
4,423
1,947
Malappuram, Kerala
There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
the direction where that user can find an answer
and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
point out where to find the answer.



Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
(coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
and frustration it will save you in the future!



No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
NO TROLLING
NO NAME CALLING
NO RIDICULING
NO FLAMING


ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


*A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


HALL OF FAME

People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
problems/questions. In no particular order.

Bruce Wayne
post-mortem
SilentStrider
Ghostfreak NB
mayank9856
sgs22012
Zatta
ADDICT.ANK



These people also have the right to use the banner below:
Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


Just add this code to your signature:
HTML:
[URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
 
Last edited:

xx3x

Member
Dec 4, 2014
11
0
tunnel connection through https

hi,can someone tell me how to tunnel through https which doesn't reply to ping ,only can browse ,i used psiphon before ,but now became https not http ,so any script or application can be used will be helpful ,i can browse the ip but i can't ping it ...and i want to tunnel my connection through it .ssh or connect bot not working ,the ip https port 80 and 443 is open ,how can i tunnel through it if not reply to ping request ?please help
 
Last edited:

Uzeen

New member
Nov 3, 2015
1
0
Dear,developers please help to sort my problem.my phone model is primo s2 from walton.after rooted my phone i have used some market enabler apps.now,those apps have make my phone settings to china though i live in bangladesh.in online servers my proxy is found as a china proxy server.and my google play store paid apps feture has gone. I can't find many free apps also in my google store.
how can i solve this problem.
1; how to repair my stock settings for bangladesh proxy.
2; how can i have all mu previous feautures in google play store.
 

RamtheCowy

Senior Member
Mar 30, 2015
109
23
hi,can someone tell me how to tunnel through https which doesn't reply to ping ,only can browse ,i used psiphon before ,but now became https not http ,so any script or application can be used will be helpful ,i can browse the ip but i can't ping it ...and i want to tunnel my connection through it .ssh or connect bot not working ,the ip https port 80 and 443 is open ,how can i tunnel through it if not reply to ping request ?please help

XDA is not exactly the right forum to ask... try something like stackoverflow or Yahoo Answers

Sent from my ST21i
 

[email protected]

New member
Mar 28, 2015
2
0
galaxy s6 frp lock

I was rooting a t mobile s6 and tripped the frp lock that shouldn't have come on. Now it's stuck in bootloop. I'm not too tech savy but need help .
 

rohan2016

Member
Oct 30, 2015
16
0
A Google search shows a 1 star rating on CNet, so I would guess that you shouldn't use it.
What device do you own? You may be able to root the old fashioned way. (unlock bootloader, fastboot flash custom recovery, flash superuser in recovery)

i own a spice mi-445. i cant find a single way how to root my device. the ones listed in google search do not work. Srs root is the only option which stated a support for this device. but it is not safe. Can you help?
 

Abhigyan Mukherjee

New member
Nov 1, 2015
3
0
Will the EBR files of one custom Rom work with another? I intend to use my current custom ROM's EBR files with any other ROM so i get the same Amount Of Internal memory I Am getting With My current ROM... Is it Possible?
 
Last edited:

AbyssBreak

Member
Jul 20, 2014
41
1
What does it mean to install an app?
Is it just moving the apk to /data/app?

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
 
Last edited:

Brahms.Waltz

New member
Nov 3, 2015
2
0
Copy memory block

Hi

I'm a complete newbie to both this site and what I've been trying to achieve with my device, so please excuse any lack of knowledge on my part.

I found myself in a slight predcament after realising I'd lost some photos on my Samsung S3. After plenty of reading it appears the best method to recover them is to copy the entire memory block to my computer, covert the file, mount it as a drive and have a good recovery software to scan it.

The method I'm using is from the following link http://forum.xda-developers.com/gal...de-internal-memory-data-recovery-yes-t1994705 I've followed all the steps accordingly but cannot get the memory block copied. I get as far as step 5 (on the link I pasted above). I tried moving to step 6 but it doesn't start the copying, which leads me to think it has something to do with the 'connection reset by peer' on step 5? I've copy/paste the command and result of step 5 below:

[email protected]:/ # /system/xbin/busybox nc -l -p 5555 -e /system/xbin/busybox dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0
5 -e /system/xbin/busybox dd if=/dev/block/mmcblk0 <
dd: writing 'standard output': Connection reset by peer
3+0 records in
2+0 records out
1024 bytes (1.0KB) copied, 0.007182 seconds, 139.2KB/s

That is as far as I got. I've spent several hours the past week trying to find a solution, but it's become quite tiring now. I'd really be very grateful for some help on this matter.

Thank you.
 

RamtheCowy

Senior Member
Mar 30, 2015
109
23
Pliz help me. I have samsung gt s7392. How will i upgrade my android OS and what should i do???

You can always flash a custom ROM. What basically happens is that the folder that contains the files that will operate Android will be overwritten by those of your custom ROM. To do this, all you have to do is take the zip file of the ROM and flash it through your custom recovery.

Sent from my ST21i
 

CrimsonToker

Member
Feb 25, 2015
42
8
Help! I can't get Xposed to work. My M8 is running Android Revolution HD, 5.01 lollipop. I read the xda thread about finding the right installer, and I THINK I got the right one. (XposedV74 sdk 21)

When I install in recovery, it says install successful, then I go to check my modules and it tells me "Xposed framework is not installed." It's weird, because I can still get Awesome pop up video to play videos, but my other modules, such as smart network and minmin guard won't activate. If anyone can help, please send me a private message
 

Droidriven

Senior Member
Jan 27, 2014
14,943
1
5,191
NC
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S III
HTC Thunderbolt
Pliz help me. I have samsung gt s7392. How will i upgrade my android OS and what should i do???
Do you want an official stock upgrade or do you want a custom ROM? If you want custom then you'll need to be rooted and have a custom recovery installed so that you can flash a custom ROM to get upgraded.

Look to see if you have a locked bootloader also, if you do then you'll have to unlock it.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
 

RamtheCowy

Senior Member
Mar 30, 2015
109
23
Do you want an official stock upgrade or do you want a custom ROM? If you want custom then you'll need to be rooted and have a custom recovery installed so that you can flash a custom ROM to get upgraded.

Look to see if you have a locked bootloader also, if you do then you'll have to unlock it.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

You can check if your Bootloader is unlockable in the Service Menu. The code varies from device to device, yours you can check from http://goo.gl/PCiJfe just don't like... be silly and factory reset and blame it on us

Sent from my ST21i
 

badshaNyc

Member
Nov 3, 2015
22
1
I have samsung note 2 flashed dn4 rom. Now i want to flaah that eclipse v 4 rom in my phonw. Is it possible if i just do it with dn4 or i need to stock it again? Any reply will be helpful
 

Top Liked Posts

  • 1
    can I update a tablet to any android version?
    No. You cannot update any tablet to any android version.

    You have to speciofy whiuch tabletamd which android version you want, and search for that specific combination.
  • 2
    How to create a thread?
    I have noticed it's possible to create a thread within nodes.. But my device doesn't have a listing..
    If your device does not have its own specific forum here and you want to create a thread to discuss your device, you will have to create a thread in the General Discussion forum here at XDA.


    If you have questions about your device and would like to create a thread to ask about it, you will have to create a thread in the General Q&A forum here at XDA.


    Or, you can post questions in this thread that we are in now.

    Or, if you are looking to post some kind of software development that you have created, you will have to create a thread for it in the Miscellaneous Android Development forum here at XDA.

    2
    I'm starting to not like those chances as well. I've searched GitHub but found nothing relevant to my specific model.

    How should I go about finding the files that are responsible for sound? also I don't have a device tree so I'm guessing that i'd have to build one myself. you think this work can be done by a total noob?

    I should mention that the other model received an Ice cream sandwich update while they model that I have didn't. now if custom roms were based on an andoird 4 device tree, will my android 3 tree " assuming i build it " be compatible with it?
    To be honest, building an android 4 or lesser ROM these days is really not worth doing for many reasons. Between compatibility issues with apps and a myriad number of security aspects not being available in Android 4 and older ROMs, it is probably more of a risk and inadequate operating system to be using with modern apps and networking.
    2
    Okay I finally did manage to boot into os. Although i wiped cache and system settings through recovery mode, it was stuck in boot loop as in this previous post of mine. What helped to get out of it was third option in recovery - "wipe user data(pics, music, etc...)"

    Can anyone explain why that helped, what was written in user data that could have made it not boot? As i wrote - i patched with magisk and moved wrong boot.img, of the other os, on my phone, then i flashed totally new stock rom and was stuck in oxygen os not managing to boot itself - spinning circles animation.

    I will make a troubleshooting post for other new users like me in the nord ce subforum. Now I can finally try to root a little guy and I have enough confidence to do it. Thank you guys for your help!
    Simple, when you flash an incorrect file/image, the files contained in this image are unpacked/split into the Android directory (it is not a solid nucleus), this wrong image/files manage how Android has to act, a wrong image/file will always give bad directions/instructions, and device won't work as desired; in the second act; when you are trying to return device to its natural/pristine status anyway some trash/traces get there, and it's not enough with just re-flashing the original image, but you need to clean all that remained there, this is what wipe data or in some cases format data does.
    2
    I have one more nooby question.

    I would like to remove encryption on a Pixel XL using Universal DM-Verity, ForceEncrypt, Disk Quota Disabler:

    - As I understand, step one format the device via TWRP to remove all encryption.

    - Step 2 is to reboot back in recovery

    - Step 3 is to flash the ROM. And this is where I have a question. Are there any TWRP flashable ROM for Pixel XL?

    - If there isn't, then what are my options? When I flash the factory ROM using flash-all.bat it restarts the device thereby encrypting it and if I am not mistaken, TWRP also get removed?

    - So I need a way to install the stock ROM and Universal DM-Verity, ForceEncrypt, Disk Quota Disabler without the first booting into the system (and thereby enabling encryption).
    There are some ROMs here https://forum.xda-developers.com/c/google-pixel-xl.5916/ that could bring you natively or at least you can disable the verity over them.

    On a stock ROM you can't do it, so flashing back a stock ROM all returns to the original state.
    2
    I had actually meant Lineage OS. I apologize for remembering wrong.

    I appreciate the responses! You were very helpful. I wanted to find a way to identify the platform for future phone repairs other than a google search. For anyone who wants to find out the platform of their phone in the forum search (I'd like to contribute a bit if I can, I don't know who knows what) :

    I actually found the answer to my question via app search. I looked for an app that functions like Speccy on the PC for android devices. Turns out there is one called CPU-Z that provides full specs of your device, including the Kernal architecture, for anyone else with similar questions. Which is apparently armv71. Strangely enough because DROID ULTRA is advertised as x86 Platform in a release article I found.
    To find technical details of your phones, a good spec list is normally available at www.gsmarena.com for many devices. It provides the model number, by region, which is very useful.

    Also, if you are rooted or are flashing a custom ROM, there are many details regarding the platform of the ROM and hence pretty much your device, in your /system/build.prop file, which is also commonly found in the install ZIP file for your ROM.
  • 382
    There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
    which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

    The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
    ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
    leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

    Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
    the direction where that user can find an answer
    and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
    point out where to find the answer.



    Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

    Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

    Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
    (coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
    and frustration it will save you in the future!



    No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
    NO TROLLING
    NO NAME CALLING
    NO RIDICULING
    NO FLAMING


    ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


    *A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


    HALL OF FAME

    People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
    problems/questions. In no particular order.

    Bruce Wayne
    post-mortem
    SilentStrider
    Ghostfreak NB
    mayank9856
    sgs22012
    Zatta
    ADDICT.ANK



    These people also have the right to use the banner below:
    Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


    Just add this code to your signature:
    HTML:
    [URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
    111
    Reserved

    Just a few words of advice on keeping this thread clean of unnecessary clutter:

    1. Before posting a question, it is highly recommended to read this thread.

    2. Click the Thanks button on the posts that helped you, instead of posting "Thanks". This helps other members in finding out the best replies that get buried in the thread.

    3. Do not use this thread to increase your post count! The Off-Topic forum is the place for that.

    4. Do a simple search of this thread before asking to see if your question has been asked previously.

    5. If your question has not received an answer after a few hours, please be patient. Someone will answer you shortly. If you do not get an answer in 24 hours, you may BUMP your post. If you still have no answer after a week, do mention me in your post.

    Thank you for your cooperation!
    26
    Good job mate, hopefully lots of members will find this thread very helpful :cool::good:
    12
    ZTE V970 Brick?

    Hi,

    I've been trying to install Bruno's ROM for this phone (cam with all chinese apps). http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1856578

    but have a big problem. I tried my best to follow the instructions but, really couldn't work out if I was doing things in the right order.. is there an actual step- by step for this procedure? I know I'm a noob and read this read that I am an idiot etc. etc. but I thought if I used to ROM on that page and the software recommended it would be easy.

    Here's what I did:

    Downloaded all the files as told.

    Tried to 'flash a custom recovery' as here http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    but it did not mention how to use the ZTE custom recovery file http://d-h.st/Vgt

    I'm also not sure at all that the 'MediaTek drivers' were installed properly. The phone never appeared in the Device manager.

    I opened SP flash tool and followed this: http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    and selected the 'scatter file' from the unzipped Bruno ROM (took a while to realise had to unzip it to get the file!!!)

    I noticed most of the boxes on the scatter file were unchecked but carried on and ignored a warning message about the phone may not be able to boot (the tutorial said to ignore it).

    I had to click 'download' then plug the phone in and eventually I got the red loading bar. This finished... then nothing else.. no purple bar.. nothing.

    So after waiting a few minutes I unplugged the phone.

    It now appears to be a total brick. What did I do wrong? Why no purple bar? Were the scatter items supposed to be unchecked? What was the 'custom recovery' file for? Because the SP flash prog never asked for it.

    Is there any point in trying it again or is the phone dead?

    Thanks for any help..

    Theo