• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!
Search This thread

immortalneo

Senior Member
Jan 25, 2011
4,423
1,945
Malappuram, Kerala
There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
the direction where that user can find an answer
and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
point out where to find the answer.



Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
(coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
and frustration it will save you in the future!



No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
NO TROLLING
NO NAME CALLING
NO RIDICULING
NO FLAMING


ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


*A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


HALL OF FAME

People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
problems/questions. In no particular order.

Bruce Wayne
post-mortem
SilentStrider
Ghostfreak NB
mayank9856
sgs22012
Zatta
ADDICT.ANK



These people also have the right to use the banner below:
Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


Just add this code to your signature:
HTML:
[URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
 
Last edited:

aiem

Senior Member
Dec 8, 2015
51
3
Me personally, I would look into safely getting back to a fresh clean start like nothing has been done at all and then start over with the correct method instead of trying to go further and potentially hard brick.

Since I am not familiar with your device I am not sure how or if you can get back to a fresh start, you need to research that and find other users that are technically familiar with your model.

Dripped from the Tapa of a Liquidsmooth far far away Galaxy SIII

Thanks for the reply. That's what I am currently looking into. I'm looking for ways to either go back to 5.0 stock or go down 6.0. As it stands factory resetting does nothing to solve this issue. A shame though since 1st Gen Android One section is very dead.

It sounds like you are ticking the OEM unlock toggle, then just trying to flash recovery. I would think you have to turn on OEM unlocking then actually unlock it, then flash custom recovery. I'm not familiar with your device either, but that makes sense and is how you do it on nexus.
Also, after you flash custom recovery in fastboot, you should boot straight to recovery without booting system. Some devices re install stock recovery if you boot to system after flashing recovery.

Thanks for the reply Madbat. I have done fastboot oem unlock but didn't toggle this on. Successfully flashed custom recovery but always got stock rom.

When I turn OEM unlocking on and flash custom recovery I get a black screen when I try to go recovery.

Current state is I relocked it. Still contemplating on risking a hard brick if I do the process again of toggling oem unlock on and doing fastboot oem unlock. The weird behavior of the toggle frightens me. If you look closely at the video. If I press the option and the prompt asks me enable or cancel.

If I click Enable it toggles OFF.
If I click Cancel it toggles ON.

Another option is I wait out till future OTA update which will hopefully fix this.

Thanks.
 

madbat99

Senior Member
Mar 1, 2014
5,538
3,287
Thanks for the reply. That's what I am currently looking into. I'm looking for ways to either go back to 5.0 stock or go down 6.0. As it stands factory resetting does nothing to solve this issue. A shame though since 1st Gen Android One section is very dead.



Thanks for the reply Madbat. I have done fastboot oem unlock but didn't toggle this on. Successfully flashed custom recovery but always got stock rom.

When I turn OEM unlocking on and flash custom recovery I get a black screen when I try to go recovery.

Current state is I relocked it. Still contemplating on risking a hard brick if I do the process again of toggling oem unlock on and doing fastboot oem unlock. The weird behavior of the toggle frightens me. If you look closely at the video. If I press the option and the prompt asks me enable or cancel.

If I click Enable it toggles OFF.
If I click Cancel it toggles ON.

Another option is I wait out till future OTA update which will hopefully fix this.

Thanks.

Again, it sounds like you're just turning on oem unlocking then flashing recovery. You have to turn it on, then fastboot oem unlock, then custom recovery. The reason its giving you a black screen is because all you're doing is turning on unlock ability, without unlocking (fastboot command). So essentially trying to flash recovery on a locked bootloader. Hence the black screen.
 

aayan007

Member
Sep 19, 2015
27
1
Hey all
My spice dream uno (Android one) is dead after flashing it with sp flash tool its not booting up but detectable in my pc in mtk preloader
Sp flash tool download only and format+ download go smoothly without any error but its still not booting and the firmware upgrade shows error failed to get pmt info
Help! Me out plzz :(:(:(
 

RUBA_RC

Member
Oct 5, 2014
8
0
Colorfly G808 octa 3G MT6592

Hi, i tried to install a custom ROM on my chinese tablet. After flashing, i turned on the tablet and there were multi color vertical lines all over the screen. I can not see anything. Even if i go to the recovery mode, the screen would be the same. So i can't factory reset the tablet because i can not see the options. I made a backup using titanium back up earlier before flashing, but i can not restore using it due to screen problem. Any idea to restore or reset the tablet using a PC?? Thanks in advance.

My tablet is Colorfly G808 octa 3G MT6592.
Model: COLORFLY G808 Oc
 

aiem

Senior Member
Dec 8, 2015
51
3
Again, it sounds like you're just turning on oem unlocking then flashing recovery. You have to turn it on, then fastboot oem unlock, then custom recovery. The reason its giving you a black screen is because all you're doing is turning on unlock ability, without unlocking (fastboot command). So essentially trying to flash recovery on a locked bootloader. Hence the black screen.

Ok I tried it again. I'm happy it didn't brick but at the same time annoyed how OEM unlocking button still kept acting weird after doing the conventional unlocking with wipe.

A part of me wishes the android one section/rooting instructions that I read got updated and included a note regarding 5.0 toggle in dev options.
 

mouldy.beer

Member
Mar 30, 2015
40
21
Hi. I'm relatively new to Android and still finding my way around how everything works. Is there a way to completely reformat your device so you are starting from scratch similar to formatting a pc?

I've been trying out custom roms and I'm concerned that I might be leaving "bits" behind when I change the rom.

Samsung galaxy tab s if that makes a difference.

Sent from my SM-T705 using Tapatalk
 

Droidriven

Senior Member
Jan 27, 2014
14,848
5,164
NC
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S III
HTC Thunderbolt
Ok I tried it again. I'm happy it didn't brick but at the same time annoyed how OEM unlocking button still kept acting weird after doing the conventional unlocking with wipe.

A part of me wishes the android one section/rooting instructions that I read got updated and included a note regarding 5.0 toggle in dev options.
There may be a forum for it. If the instructions you are following were for older firmware then you shouldn't have used it in the first place without enough evidence that it works on your updated firmware.

Dripped from the Tapa of a Liquidsmooth far far away Galaxy SIII
 

aiem

Senior Member
Dec 8, 2015
51
3
There may be a forum for it. If the instructions you are following were for older firmware then you shouldn't have used it in the first place without enough evidence that it works on your updated firmware.

Dripped from the Tapa of a Liquidsmooth far far away Galaxy SIII

I checked specifically at the Android One section since that's where my device is grouped with. The stickies were not up to date. Heck the section itself is almost a ghost town with how sparse the post frequencies are.

Anyway the information regarding OEM toggling came from Nexus threads outside of xda.

Oh and another thing, a friend of mine of has the same model apparently gets the same problem. A thing to note is that he has not done any oem unlocking yet. At first the toggle was working normally. When he rebooted his phone, he said he got the same abnormal behavior of the toggle.
 

andywoody12

Senior Member
Jun 27, 2015
163
4
I can't understand this tutorial on this guy message:


Here is a working TWRP for Allwinner A33 tablets running Android 4.4



You will need to use a mouse for navigation.



In TWRP you may need to use mnt/usb as one tablet I tested it on could access sd + ext sd + mnt usb and the other could only access mnt/usb. If this is the case you will need a multi usb adapter to accommodate the mouse+usb flash drive.



I recommend setting the screen in TWRP to no sleeping.



I have tested this today and all is working (tested backup and restore)



The recovery.img just needs flashing with Rashr.apk (de.........recoverytools )



Best regards



Bob
(End)

I already download this files that he provided:
-Recovery.IMG (generic twrp for a33)
-Rashr.apk
-Readme.text(the tutorial above that I gave)

Now the question is........

Can I directly install the IMG using rashr without porting the stock recovery on it?

Also the Rashr is not working properly on my tab..it freezes when I backup the stock IMG..
Please help me on installing this twrp recovery...

Sent from my S710 using XDA Free mobile app
 

Shubhamfame

Member
Jul 26, 2014
43
23
23
Chitrakoot
There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
the direction where that user can find an answer
and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
point out where to find the answer.



Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
(coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
and frustration it will save you in the future!



No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
NO TROLLING
NO NAME CALLING
NO RIDICULING
NO FLAMING


ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


*A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


HALL OF FAME

People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
problems/questions. In no particular order.

Bruce Wayne
post-mortem
SilentStrider
Ghostfreak NB
mayank9856
sgs22012
Zatta
ADDICT.ANK



These people also have the right to use the banner below:
Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


Just add this code to your signature:
HTML:
[URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]

Please delete this tread http://forum.xda-developers.com/crossdevice-dev/android-one-general/miui-7-miui-7-ported-android-one-t3269865/post64287194#post64287194

I have made but now i dont need it please delete it as fast as possible:crying:
 

RUBA_RC

Member
Oct 5, 2014
8
0
Anyone know the answer?

Hi, i tried to install a custom ROM on my chinese tablet. After flashing, i turned on the tablet and there were multi color vertical lines all over the screen. I can not see anything. Even if i go to the recovery mode, the screen would be the same. So i can't factory reset the tablet because i can not see the options. I made a backup using titanium back up earlier before flashing, but i can not restore using it due to screen problem. Any idea to restore or reset the tablet using a PC?? Thanks in advance.

My tablet is Colorfly G808 octa 3G MT6592.
Model: COLORFLY G808 Oc
 

RamtheCowy

Senior Member
Mar 30, 2015
109
23
Hi, i tried to install a custom ROM on my chinese tablet. After flashing, i turned on the tablet and there were multi color vertical lines all over the screen. I can not see anything. Even if i go to the recovery mode, the screen would be the same. So i can't factory reset the tablet because i can not see the options. I made a backup using titanium back up earlier before flashing, but i can not restore using it due to screen problem. Any idea to restore or reset the tablet using a PC?? Thanks in advance.

My tablet is Colorfly G808 octa 3G MT6592.
Model: COLORFLY G808 Oc

Take a look at this thread
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2142660
Ask around there.

I'm no expert, but you should be able to reflash the kernel similarly if necessary.

Cheers
Sent from my ST21i
 

Droidriven

Senior Member
Jan 27, 2014
14,848
5,164
NC
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S III
HTC Thunderbolt
Hi. I'm relatively new to Android and still finding my way around how everything works. Is there a way to completely reformat your device so you are starting from scratch similar to formatting a pc?

I've been trying out custom roms and I'm concerned that I might be leaving "bits" behind when I change the rom.

Samsung galaxy tab s if that makes a difference.

Sent from my SM-T705 using Tapatalk
Yes, you can format the device like on PC, DONT DO IT THOUGH, it usually goes bad for new users when they try that.

If you want to wipe the device clean and do it safely without damaging the device so that you can do a clean installation, here us how.

I assume that you have custom recovery since you are flashing ROMs.
Boot to recovery and find the wipe option. If you have TWRP you will see a button for the wipe options. If you have CWM you will gave to go to the mounts and storage option then choose the advanced wipes.

Whichever recovery you have, you want to find the system partition and the data partition and format them(only system and data partition and not the others). Then you can flash the ROM and gapps. Then you'll have a clean installation.

Dripped from the Tapa of a Liquidsmooth far far away Galaxy SIII

---------- Post added at 11:22 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:12 AM ----------

Hi, i tried to install a custom ROM on my chinese tablet. After flashing, i turned on the tablet and there were multi color vertical lines all over the screen. I can not see anything. Even if i go to the recovery mode, the screen would be the same. So i can't factory reset the tablet because i can not see the options. I made a backup using titanium back up earlier before flashing, but i can not restore using it due to screen problem. Any idea to restore or reset the tablet using a PC?? Thanks in advance.

My tablet is Colorfly G808 octa 3G MT6592.
Model: COLORFLY G808 Oc
If the touchscreen still responds to touch you might be able to cast screen to PC and use the PC monitor to see what would be on the screen so that you can make your selections, if touch doesn't work you may can use a USB mouse to navigate and select, that's if you can share screen and use the mouse at the same time.



Dripped from the Tapa of a Liquidsmooth far far away Galaxy SIII
 
  • Like
Reactions: RamtheCowy

Sam.sachin007

Member
Dec 8, 2015
37
3
New Delhi
I checked specifically at the Android One section since that's where my device is grouped with. The stickies were not up to date. Heck the section itself is almost a ghost town with how sparse the post frequencies are.

Anyway the information regarding OEM toggling came from Nexus threads outside of xda.

Oh and another thing, a friend of mine of has the same model apparently gets the same problem. A thing to note is that he has not done any oem unlocking yet. At first the toggle was working normally. When he rebooted his phone, he said he got the same abnormal behavior of the toggle.

So i got the same problem as you.. My Oem unlocking setting is not turning ON so after doing some questions and answers, and asking some others technical guy i came to a conclusion that the oem unlocking setting was specially made for nexus devices, so there is no need to toogle it On for performing unlock bootloader in our devices.
(Sorry for my bad grammar?)
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 3
    ....snip...

    In the practice it's impossible to have a Samsung Q ROM for a Samsung device that official support stopped at Nougat, or at least I have never seen that. The most I could see is one and only one major update, of course may I totally wrong but never saw more than one update not supported officially.
    Funny you should chose Samsung for you example, my previous / spare device device is a Samsung S4 from 2013, which had official support stop at Lollipop (ie android 5, 2 before Nougat). There is an unofficial ROM using the blobs from the last official release for a current LineageOS 18.1 (ie R, ie Android 11), so that is the next version of android past Q. There is also talk of people starting builds of android 12 for this device. So it is very possible, but it also goes beyond the issue of manufacturers releasing the full source.

    I used to build ROMs from source for this device and a few other even older devices (and released here on XDA), which were well beyond the last official versions released by the manufacturer (from jelly bean to lollipop I think on another). That is one of the reasons for using/building custom ROMs on older devices. ie to upgrade your android version beyond official manufacturer support. To enable building these ROMs, more than just the Kernel needs to be attained. The example I gave a link for is simply just one case I found in a single web search. If you read the article, it actually talks of samsung releasing their source quickly, which I would assume is the full source of the ROM, but not the source for proprietary hardware drivers.
    3
    sure, but what do i do if i don't get an best answer, this is why i post everywhere.
    First, be patient. Second, respect the rules of this private platform. I assume you've meanwhile read them and also realised that we expect you to wait for at least 24 hours before you bump an unanswered question. I'm convinced you agree that a forum like XDA with 11+ million members, 3.5+ million threads and 78+ million posts can only be positively maintained to the benefit of its members if there're rules that are enforced.

    Thanks for your understanding.
    Regards
    Oswald Boelcke
    2
    Got a Droid Turbo with LineageOS recovery, only seen as offline, even with a 'factory' cord. Data and system were wiped to try to start anew, but the unexpected offline condition prevents any side loading. Any tips on how to remove the offline condition? My apologies if this is the wrong forum.
    It seemed better to answer you in this thread.
    Hi. :)

    I do not have the device and do not know your setup, so generic answer. ;)
    • Some devices have issues with USB ports, best to use a USB 2.0 port.
      Also try a different USB port and/or USB cable.
      If it is a USB-C to USB-C cable, try switching it (End B to computer, End A to device.)​
    • Windows - Make sure you have the correct (additional) drivers installed for the device when is in fastboot mode.
    • linux - Make sure you have access to USB.
      Depending on the linux distro you are running..
      Make sure the device is set in your udev-dev-rules and you (user) are part of the plugdev group.
      adb might be able to connect, that is a different connection than fastboot.​
    • macOS - Normally works out of the box once platform-tools are installed.

    Hope something above helps. 🙃

    Maybe another member (who knows more about the issue you are running into) is willing to help. :D


    Cheers. :cowboy:

    PS.
    For anyone who is looking for the official link. :whistle:
    SDK Platform Tools - developer.android - WebSite - Link
    2
    Can you please add more info on what you are saying? Those words mean nothing to me. " erasing caches through recovery" "logs are good"
    I guess "mean nothing to me" it really means that you are unfamiliar with.

    You may need to read something like these:
    - https://android.gadgethacks.com/how-to/boot-your-oneplus-5-5t-into-recovery-fastboot-mode-0182576/
    - https://krispitech.com/oneplus-5-wipe-cache-partition/
    - https://nerdschalk.com/how-to-keep-track-of-battery-drain-information-on-android/
    1
    Greetings!

    I have a Samsung Galaxy A22 5G and did the awful mistake to play with the kernel without doing a backup first. I know...
    So I'm in a bootloop now, factory reset did nothing. Since I don't have any ROM or backup on the phone, what would be the easiest way to push a rom onto the phone without beeing able to mount it (since I can't boot.

    Is there a good way via adb cmd or some GUI 1 click rootkit/flashing tool?

    Any pointing or linking in the right direction is highly appreciated <3
    Download the official firmware for your device and flash it through Odin.
  • 381
    There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
    which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

    The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
    ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
    leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

    Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
    the direction where that user can find an answer
    and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
    point out where to find the answer.



    Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

    Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

    Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
    (coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
    and frustration it will save you in the future!



    No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
    NO TROLLING
    NO NAME CALLING
    NO RIDICULING
    NO FLAMING


    ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


    *A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


    HALL OF FAME

    People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
    problems/questions. In no particular order.

    Bruce Wayne
    post-mortem
    SilentStrider
    Ghostfreak NB
    mayank9856
    sgs22012
    Zatta
    ADDICT.ANK



    These people also have the right to use the banner below:
    Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


    Just add this code to your signature:
    HTML:
    [URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
    110
    Reserved

    Just a few words of advice on keeping this thread clean of unnecessary clutter:

    1. Before posting a question, it is highly recommended to read this thread.

    2. Click the Thanks button on the posts that helped you, instead of posting "Thanks". This helps other members in finding out the best replies that get buried in the thread.

    3. Do not use this thread to increase your post count! The Off-Topic forum is the place for that.

    4. Do a simple search of this thread before asking to see if your question has been asked previously.

    5. If your question has not received an answer after a few hours, please be patient. Someone will answer you shortly. If you do not get an answer in 24 hours, you may BUMP your post. If you still have no answer after a week, do mention me in your post.

    Thank you for your cooperation!
    26
    Good job mate, hopefully lots of members will find this thread very helpful :cool::good:
    11
    ZTE V970 Brick?

    Hi,

    I've been trying to install Bruno's ROM for this phone (cam with all chinese apps). http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1856578

    but have a big problem. I tried my best to follow the instructions but, really couldn't work out if I was doing things in the right order.. is there an actual step- by step for this procedure? I know I'm a noob and read this read that I am an idiot etc. etc. but I thought if I used to ROM on that page and the software recommended it would be easy.

    Here's what I did:

    Downloaded all the files as told.

    Tried to 'flash a custom recovery' as here http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    but it did not mention how to use the ZTE custom recovery file http://d-h.st/Vgt

    I'm also not sure at all that the 'MediaTek drivers' were installed properly. The phone never appeared in the Device manager.

    I opened SP flash tool and followed this: http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    and selected the 'scatter file' from the unzipped Bruno ROM (took a while to realise had to unzip it to get the file!!!)

    I noticed most of the boxes on the scatter file were unchecked but carried on and ignored a warning message about the phone may not be able to boot (the tutorial said to ignore it).

    I had to click 'download' then plug the phone in and eventually I got the red loading bar. This finished... then nothing else.. no purple bar.. nothing.

    So after waiting a few minutes I unplugged the phone.

    It now appears to be a total brick. What did I do wrong? Why no purple bar? Were the scatter items supposed to be unchecked? What was the 'custom recovery' file for? Because the SP flash prog never asked for it.

    Is there any point in trying it again or is the phone dead?

    Thanks for any help..

    Theo