[HELP THREAD] Ask ANY Question. Noob Friendly.

Did you find this thread useful?

  • Yes, it was very helpful to me.

    Votes: 1,674 64.1%
  • No, I didn't feel it helped me.

    Votes: 433 16.6%
  • I don't know.

    Votes: 505 19.3%

  • Total voters
    2,612
I want to motify a MIUI ROM( MIUI 12 ), but I can't mount the "system.img" file in my Ubuntu system.
I'm using mount command like that:
"sudo mount -t ext2 -o loop system.img /mnt/system" '/mnt/system' is a folder a created using mkdir
I got such output: "mount: /mnt/system: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/loop9, missing codepage or helper program, or other error."
The output of 'file' command:
"system.img: Linux rev 1.0 ext2 filesystem data, UUID=8d63fcde-560d-52f8-a382-c8a8da0768d7 (extents) (large files) (huge files)"
The way I get 'system.img' file from 'system.new.dat.br' file as follows:
"
brotli -d system.new.dat.br
git clone https://github.com/xpirt/sdat2img
cd sdat2img
python sdat2img.py ../system.transfer.list ../system.new.dat
"

Could anybody help me? Thanks!
I found that I forgot to add the system.img file.
It can be downloaded here : http://www.unknownnetworkservice.com:8012/Download/system.img
 
  • Like
Reactions: xunholyx

Fytdyh

Senior Member
Aug 17, 2015
186
71
48
What can I do on a Samsung Galaxy A01 cause so far theres not much left I need my biggest thing is more storage on the phone I have all the cloud storage I need I need more device storage
Buy a bigger micro sd. use google photos to store your photos. You can't use cloud storage to store your apps.
 

Fytdyh

Senior Member
Aug 17, 2015
186
71
48
Anyway to run diagnostics to know if it's locked or not?? If it is I'll have to learn more!
Btw, since theres not much support or info on rooting this model, could I overclock it simply?
Do these things allow for increased voltage like a PC or do you only increase clock speed with stock power??
Cheers!
If the bootloader is tightly locked then it won't allow you to flash a patched boot image. But on some mediatek devices you can still flash a patched boot image, since the loose bootloader lock. You still can't flash a custom recovery or a custom rom.

The manufacturer sets the cpu voltage/clock speed in order to have the best ratio of battery life - performance. The difference between a computer and a smartphone, among others, is that on computer you have administrator rights. Rooting, on smartphone, gives you those rights. Out of the box you are not the administrator. Overclocking can damage your device if done incorrectly. That's why isn't available out of the box.
 

HITAISHI1

New member
Jan 19, 2021
1
0
11
I'm new to Android and this forum too....so pls have some mercy
I want to learn about inner workings of the OS at it's core especially the kernel part....
I have read Linux Kernel Development by Robert Love and I liked it a lot.
I'm asking if there is any source where can I get similar explanations like where core concepts and how those concepts are implemented are explained.
I found this: https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/...ne-android-development-noob-friendly.3175121/
But I hoped there would be more, but it only showed how to get the code and build it.
I also read https://source.android.com/ (I mean only parts that I thought I need, I might be wrong) however I want to dig deeper.
Is there any source where things are explained in bottom up approach with occasional top down view of things....
I want to know how Android works from the inside......
 

SilvaGi

Member
Jan 18, 2021
15
0
1
If the bootloader is tightly locked then it won't allow you to flash a patched boot image. But on some mediatek devices you can still flash a patched boot image, since the loose bootloader lock. You still can't flash a custom recovery or a custom rom.

The manufacturer sets the cpu voltage/clock speed in order to have the best ratio of battery life - performance. The difference between a computer and a smartphone, among others, is that on computer you have administrator rights. Rooting, on smartphone, gives you those rights. Out of the box you are not the administrator. Overclocking can damage your device if done incorrectly. That's why isn't available out of the box.

okay but even once you get root does the HW and apps allow you to increase voltage to the cpu? or are you stuck with stock voltage amount??
 

SonyProblem

New member
Jan 19, 2021
3
0
1
Hi,

I have a problem with my phone lock screen and I was pointed to this site. Hopefully some of you may be able to help me. I have a Sony Xperia ZX2 Compact which I unlock using either fingerprint or pattern. However, it all of the sudden asks me for a PIN which I do not remember setting. I have tried all possible PINs that I could think of. (And Im pretty sure that if I did set a PIN I would keep it the same as the default 0000). It does not prompt a "forgot your pin" google thing. It lets me try as many times as I want and just shows me the amount of times incorrectly entered my PIN.
I tried finding my phone using the google find my device app, but it cant find it. It is connected to the wifi and says it has internet, however I can no longer receive app messages (so it is probably not really connected to the internet).
Does anyone know how I can fix this without factory setting my phone and losing all my personal data?

Thanks!
 

Fytdyh

Senior Member
Aug 17, 2015
186
71
48
Hi,

I have a problem with my phone lock screen and I was pointed to this site. Hopefully some of you may be able to help me. I have a Sony Xperia ZX2 Compact which I unlock using either fingerprint or pattern. However, it all of the sudden asks me for a PIN which I do not remember setting. I have tried all possible PINs that I could think of. (And Im pretty sure that if I did set a PIN I would keep it the same as the default 0000). It does not prompt a "forgot your pin" google thing. It lets me try as many times as I want and just shows me the amount of times incorrectly entered my PIN.
I tried finding my phone using the google find my device app, but it cant find it. It is connected to the wifi and says it has internet, however I can no longer receive app messages (so it is probably not really connected to the internet).
Does anyone know how I can fix this without factory setting my phone and losing all my personal data?

Thanks!
This might be the problem
Do you have usb debugging active?
 

SonyProblem

New member
Jan 19, 2021
3
0
1
This might be the problem
Do you have usb debugging active?
That does sound similar to what is happening to my phone, however the screen does not fade to black or loop.

Depends, I have never turned it off. So if the default option is that it is on, then it is on. I have to admit that I am a complete noob when it comes to phones/software/computers what not.
 

Fytdyh

Senior Member
Aug 17, 2015
186
71
48
That does sound similar to what is happening to my phone, however the screen does not fade to black or loop.

Depends, I have never turned it off. So if the default option is that it is on, then it is on. I have to admit that I am a complete noob when it comes to phones/software/computers what not.
That option by default is turned off. So no USB debugging. You are going to need to take the phone to service, since there aren't a lot of stuff you can do in this case.
 

DiamondJohn

Recognized Contributor
Aug 31, 2013
4,793
3,914
243
Sydney
Anyway to run diagnostics to know if it's locked or not?? If it is I'll have to learn more!
Btw, since theres not much support or info on rooting this model, could I overclock it simply?
Do these things allow for increased voltage like a PC or do you only increase clock speed with stock power??
Cheers!
I have built ROMs from source before, including modifying the Kernel to over-clock & also under-clock the cpu; as well as a bucket load of CPU Govs and IO Schedulers. In the kermal code for that device, the voltages at each clock speed are explicitly set in the source code, and the list of available clock-speeds that the cpu can run at are also set, and therefore what voltage they use. That was for one device, which is now getting old (2013), but I am seeing less and less device I own having over-clock'able kernels.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SilvaGi

OmarxLM

Member
Jan 19, 2021
11
1
3
Help!
I just reinstalled the firmware to my moto z2 force and I had this problem:
I want to connect Bluetooth headphones and it connects well and stays connected, the problem is that the sound sounds but on the phone!
I go into sound settings and it switched to playing multimedia on the Bluetooth device and nothing.
I already tried to reset network settings, Bluetooth and wifi and nothing :(
 

Fytdyh

Senior Member
Aug 17, 2015
186
71
48
Help!
I just reinstalled the firmware to my moto z2 force and I had this problem:
I want to connect Bluetooth headphones and it connects well and stays connected, the problem is that the sound sounds but on the phone!
I go into sound settings and it switched to playing multimedia on the Bluetooth device and nothing.
I already tried to reset network settings, Bluetooth and wifi and nothing :(
Did you install the right version for your device? US version on the US smartphone...
 

AkiraPerera04

Senior Member
Apr 15, 2018
145
6
18
Help! Need help cracking encrypted backup file! Skip to end of this thread.


Thanks guys!
 

SilvaGi

Member
Jan 18, 2021
15
0
1
I have built ROMs from source before, including modifying the Kernel to over-clock & also under-clock the cpu; as well as a bucket load of CPU Govs and IO Schedulers. In the kermal code for that device, the voltages at each clock speed are explicitly set in the source code, and the list of available clock-speeds that the cpu can run at are also set, and therefore what voltage they use. That was for one device, which is now getting old (2013), but I am seeing less and less device I own having over-clock'able kernels.
[/QUOTE

Okay, thanks for the info
 

OmarxLM

Member
Jan 19, 2021
11
1
3
Did you install the right version for your device? US version on the US smartphone...
Yeah, I install the correct version.
>Nash_retail.
I have installed that version before.
The problem comes when I updated to lineage, for some reasons I needed to uninstall it.
Then I reinstall the same firmware but for some reason my Bluetooth headphones doesn't work
 
Jan 20, 2021
2
0
1
Hello, i would like to flash a firmware on my Honor 9 to be able to unlock the bootloader.

I found out i can do this with the dload method, so copying the update.app in the dload folder and then by pressing power + volume buttons install it.

my problem now is i think i found in some question here the files which should give me some firmware with Android 8 before the 6/18 secrutiy patch.
But i dont get which files exactly i now have to put in the dload folder.

The files are:
-update.zip
-> update.app
-update_full_STF-L09_hw_eu.zip
-> update.app
-update_data_full_public.zip

also there is some other stuff in the zip archies

So does anyone know which files should be in it?

Also i previously tried to install a firmware with Android 7 which told me its invalid when i tried to install it, since apperantly you cant install a android 7 firmware when you are on Anroid 8.


i got the Android 7 stuff from this threa
and the Android 8 form this post #31
https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/help-honor-9-stf-l09-stock-firmware.3761710/page-2

any help is appreciated

edit: i made a thread for my Question, if you know anything https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/...lash-an-anroid-8-firmware-on-honor-9.4220803/
 
Last edited: