• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!
  • Fill out your device list and let everyone know which phones you have!    Edit Your Device Inventory
Search This thread

immortalneo

Senior Member
Jan 25, 2011
4,425
1,941
Malappuram, Kerala
There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
the direction where that user can find an answer
and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
point out where to find the answer.



Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
(coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
and frustration it will save you in the future!



No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
NO TROLLING
NO NAME CALLING
NO RIDICULING
NO FLAMING


ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


*A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


HALL OF FAME

People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
problems/questions. In no particular order.

Bruce Wayne
post-mortem
SilentStrider
Ghostfreak NB
mayank9856
sgs22012
Zatta
ADDICT.ANK



These people also have the right to use the banner below:
Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


Just add this code to your signature:
HTML:
[URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
 
Last edited:

jesudas

Senior Member
Mar 16, 2012
209
53
Dharwad
I have a very strange region issue in play store..... The thing is...
1) I wanted to register for Battlegrounds mobile india which is region specific gaming app.
2) But it shows that "This is not available in your country"
3) But my region is India it is already set up.
4) Some time back I have made a payment through gpay with vpn on and the country selected was Singapore
5) After digging a little bit I have found that I have 2 payment profiles in gpay one is with India region and another one is with Singapore
6) I have deleted a Singapore profile and made india one primary
7) Is this the impacting my region
8) Even I have deleted that profile still I am getting that same messages
9) My question is.. like in gpay is there any option I have in play store to choose my region.
10) I am not asking for region selection as I have attached SS it's already setup with my default region which is india.
Please shred light on it masters. need help need help urgently......
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20210518-104227_Google_Play_Store.png
    Screenshot_20210518-104227_Google_Play_Store.png
    134.4 KB · Views: 12
  • Screenshot_20210518-095540_Google_Play_Store.png
    Screenshot_20210518-095540_Google_Play_Store.png
    648.2 KB · Views: 12

Kostianka

New member
May 18, 2021
1
0
Hello everyone. I've searched the forum but haven't find an answer to this question. If anyone could help, it would be very appreciated.
Here goes :
I've ordered a Mi 11 Ultra with a chinese rom. Before doing that, I asked what whas the difference between a chinese and global rom. The selling website helpline told me that the only difference was that chinese version only supports chinese and english, that's it. When the phone arrived, I needed to install google manually, impossible to use google pay or google assistant, and one third of the phone was still in chinese even when the phone was set to english.
So the helpline sent me a link to a video how to flash the chinese rom and install a global or EEA one. Which I did because it's not the first time, I'm pretty much used to that. But now, I still cannot use any google pay services or other programs, because the global rom cannot be re-locked. When you try to relock any other roms than the chinese, the device fails to boot.
We are talking about native chinese rom MIUI 12.5.6, and I've tried the EEA 12.0.6 and global 12.0.1 roms, impossible to lock.

Could anyone advise please ?

I would hate to be obliged to send the phone back, because it's quite a device :)

Anyway, thank you for your time or even for reading until that point !
 

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
2,787
1
1,265
Hello everyone. I've searched the forum but haven't find an answer to this question. If anyone could help, it would be very appreciated.
Here goes :
I've ordered a Mi 11 Ultra with a chinese rom. Before doing that, I asked what whas the difference between a chinese and global rom. The selling website helpline told me that the only difference was that chinese version only supports chinese and english, that's it. When the phone arrived, I needed to install google manually, impossible to use google pay or google assistant, and one third of the phone was still in chinese even when the phone was set to english.
So the helpline sent me a link to a video how to flash the chinese rom and install a global or EEA one. Which I did because it's not the first time, I'm pretty much used to that. But now, I still cannot use any google pay services or other programs, because the global rom cannot be re-locked. When you try to relock any other roms than the chinese, the device fails to boot.
We are talking about native chinese rom MIUI 12.5.6, and I've tried the EEA 12.0.6 and global 12.0.1 roms, impossible to lock.

Could anyone advise please ?

I would hate to be obliged to send the phone back, because it's quite a device :)

Anyway, thank you for your time or even for reading until that point !
Well, sad news; you can't relock a Xiaomi device that came with Chinese ROM out of the box and while you are in RU, EEA, IN or Global ROM, you should need to return completely to its original state I mean the Chinese ROM.

Unfortunately the seller wasn't honest enough or they didn't know what thing are selling, the main three differences are:
- Chinese version comes with only English and Chinese language (as you said) but in some devices not all is translated fine.
- It doesn't come with Google Play Store and although there is some workaround it doesn't work as a certificate device.
- Chinese version receives update quickly and get support to bugs faster (I don know if this worth it the deal)

Maybe the seller may kindly change it for the Global version.
 

NyxV

New member
May 18, 2021
4
0
Is it possible to use Samsung phone as usb webcam. (I'm talking about a situation that will work as a usb webcam when the usb cable is plugged in while the phone is turned off thanks to a code written on the kernel) thanks
 

Droidriven

Senior Member
Jan 27, 2014
14,758
5,142
NC
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S III
HTC Thunderbolt
Any attempt to root it or unlock it will trigger the Knox/security features and of course the warranty so if you want to stay in the safe side the most you can do by now to "get rid of" (not totally) is disable them using this method https://www.xda-developers.com/disable-system-app-bloatware-android/ be careful to not disable essential apps, also surprisingly there is a lot of real (that I should call them) bloatware that can be uninstalled too.
Another possible method is to try removing the unwanted bloatware from the firmware file and then flash the modified firmware file, if the device will accept the modified firmware.
 

Droidriven

Senior Member
Jan 27, 2014
14,758
5,142
NC
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S III
HTC Thunderbolt
Hello,

Q: What is the correct (and simplest) way to install Samsung firmware updates?

Presently, I install the Samsung firmware using Odin (BL, AP, CP, CSC), then flash the TWRP (AP) with Odin, wipe everything, then install the custom ROM.

Is there a simpler way?

I mention that currently I am using a lineage GSI image as custom rom and that in the "Tremble app" it says it does not allow seemliness updates. By the way, what does that last part mean?
The only other simpler way to install updates is if your device has a built in OTA software update feature but this only works if your service provider has made the OTA update available to its users that own that device.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: mrrocketdog

thanhtacles

New member
May 19, 2021
4
0
Where can I find the spec sheet for the IR blaster, on any phone really. I want to know what nanometer wavelength of IR light it's blasting, and thus far it's impossible to find.
 

felix121

New member
May 20, 2021
2
0
HAVE A RED MAGIC 5G AFTER THE UPDATE MY NET SPEED ON 5G BECAME VERY BAD.........ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED.....HEARD FROM SOMEONE THE UPDATE MIGHT HAVE LOWERED THE TRANSMISSION POWER OF THE ANTENNA.....THANKYOU FOR ANY HELP.....:)
 

zappigan

Member
Apr 28, 2020
8
0
I have a question about naming conventions for packages in the Android platform source.

I understand that the path for something like "[email protected]" is "hardware/interface/thermal/2.0", but what about "[email protected]"?

Then there's packages like "[email protected]" which I understand is "vendor/qcom/opensource/interfaces/btconfigstore/1.0", but what is the ".vendor" at the end? does it include *@1.0.so, *@1.0-service, @1.0-impl, etc? (if those exist)
 

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
2,787
1
1,265
HAVE A RED MAGIC 5G AFTER THE UPDATE MY NET SPEED ON 5G BECAME VERY BAD.........ANY HELP WOULD BE APPRECIATED.....HEARD FROM SOMEONE THE UPDATE MIGHT HAVE LOWERED THE TRANSMISSION POWER OF THE ANTENNA.....THANKYOU FOR ANY HELP.....:)
Reset your APNs and then set it them again.

If not probably factory resetting will fix it, keep the update zip in a safe place firstly, if not repeating the process might do but this time over a clean/fresh software; re-flash the update zip after you factory reset it.
 

BIzZmarCk

New member
May 21, 2021
2
0
Hello first things first I'm totally new to this forum and I'm posting my question cause I searched the internet for weeks now and I simply can't find a solution.
The long story befor is.... I got a blackview bv9600pro for free and wanted to put lineage os (GSI) onto it (cause the blackview software is packed full of bloatware) this worked quite well except for the sound so I thought.... maybe just try the never version los 18.1... but this completly destroyed the phone into a softbrick (I think it destroyed the boot.img). So to get it back running I needed to format&flash it with the sp-flashtool. But there might come in my problem... I Have no Backup !!! So I got the original IMG from the blackview Forum and used it.
So now I'm on the original blackview software.... needet to flash the imei back... working fine.... but now to the real Problem... The mic simply does not work anymore. Or at least thats what I thought. After a while of testing around I tested a mic test app and my mic seems to work fine in direct mode but not to work at all in comunication mode and basically all apps except for memo apps use comunication mode. So I dug in a little deeper and found that Blackview has its on "diagnostics" built in (I think in its recovery.img)..... so I did run that and everything has run well except it shows me my mic error "mic-spk loopback failed". So I dug in even deeper and if I'm not mistaken its used to loopback the mic cause many android devices have multiple mics but blackview cheaped out and only built in one. So my real and Final question is - does anyone have any idea how to fix my mic?
Thanks in Advance BIzZmarCk
 

Cubicalspy_

New member
May 18, 2021
2
0
Hey! I have searched the whole internet but didn't find anything. How can I root my Xcover pro running android 11. I have tried Kingroot and stuff, following tutorials on youtube, but ended up failing. It is my first time, and Xcover pro doesn't seem very root-friendly. It does not support TWRP and I ant to install Magisk on it. The first time I tried, my phone got stuck at loading fastboot menu (I think) because it was a black screen (I ended up fixing by holding some button combination). Any help would be good. 😕
 

tesiz22

Senior Member
May 8, 2021
54
2
How would I go about porting a higher Android version to my device? I was able to find guides that teach how to port roms but they always have the requirement of being on the same Android version. What about porting a ROM based on a higher Android version?

For example, I have a Galaxy Note 5. How would I port a FOSS ROM like Lineage 10 or a propriatery stock ROM for Galaxy Note 8?
 

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
2,787
1
1,265
Hey! I have searched the whole internet but didn't find anything. How can I root my Xcover pro running android 11. I have tried Kingroot and stuff, following tutorials on youtube, but ended up failing. It is my first time, and Xcover pro doesn't seem very root-friendly. It does not support TWRP and I ant to install Magisk on it. The first time I tried, my phone got stuck at loading fastboot menu (I think) because it was a black screen (I ended up fixing by holding some button combination). Any help would be good. 😕
There are many non-popular devices out there from which probably you won't find much, the best bet would be searching devices with some coincidences that already were rooted i.e. looking at the same processor (not needed exact) being SD, MTK, etc., Android version and probably the most important first thing; if device have an unlockable bootloader or there is some method to unlock it.
One-Click methods are not recommendable so you would get more issues trying to fix unexpected results, also there are two more things to consider at this point, those methods stopped to working either at all or properly in android versions superior than MM (from what I know) and the fact that bootloader has to be unlocked to accept some change.

For the rest, if you can get the stock firmware, you should try the Magisk method.
 

Calamityx1

Senior Member
Jun 6, 2013
80
1
Phone: Note 20 Ultra (N986)

So I got twrp installed--3.5.2. Everything is running smoothly--up until I need to restore a back up. I get this message:

"cannot restore System -- mounted read only."

I've googled up and down on how to resolve this issue, and almost all of them recommend unticking the read only option in "Mount". That problem is: that option ISN'T there for me.

Does anyone have any insight into this?
 

hash02

Senior Member
Jul 7, 2016
57
5
Hi. On a zuk Z2 pro with arrow os 10(full ROM, not gsi) fresh install.
Instagram videos playback are corrupt jagged very noisy and messy.
Any fix ?
 

therighttime

Member
May 19, 2012
30
1
Hi, I have found a phone about 1.5 years ago. I tried to find the owner, but they never came to collect it. Because it's been over a year, I've been given the phone back since it's now abandoned and technically mine. Anyway, my point is that I didn't steal this phone.

It's a Moto One Action (XT-2013-2).

I have tried factory resetting it via Recovery, but I'm not faced with the FRP where it wants the last google account signed in or the screen lock pattern to continue. I have neither of these, and will likely never get that info since the previous owner is unknown.

I've searched around, and I see plenty of dubious Windows software for sale to bypass FRP. I don't trust these tools to not contain malware or to work.

What's the right way of bypassing FRP? I'd rather get this phone working again and for it to be of use to someone than collecting dust like it does now.

Edit: I was able to do it. I used this video:
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: fakewooder

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 3
    I do a lot of shell scripting. Recently i was looking into something on my current device, and I couldn't work out how to do it, so hopefully someone here would know.

    The question is basically, for an updated system app, how do you find the original APK location?

    When a system app gets updated (for example by the playstore), it will get installed to /data/app however, before it gets updated, it may be located in /system/app; and would stilll be there. When It is updated, retrieving its location, it will return the /data/app location, but I cant seem to find how to retrieve its "original" system location.

    To find examples, I can use the following to retrive a list of system apps
    Bash:
    cmd package list packages-s;
    To then find its current install location
    Bash:
    cmd package list packages-f;
    and grep out the specific package I am looking for.

    However, if the system package has been updated, it will only give me the /data/app path.

    Is there anyway (without uninstalling the update) to retrieve the original location?
    if anyone else is interested, I think I found the answer.
    dumpsys package $package_id;
    Gives details of the current install and the original package,
    2
    also may want to delete ur serial #. could be used for bad purposes and is not needed except by you.
    did you just quote his SN# :LOL:
    2
    I wish I could help, but I can't here. I had a S2, a GNex, and an S3. When Sammy announced Knox for the S4, I left. I couldn't be happier. Samsung devices are GREAT for the normal consumer. For people who root, they are a hassle. Being able to just boot to bootloader and use fastboot commands is glorious.

    There are Samsung experts (I am far from one at this point in time) on this thread. Hopefully one of them picks up on your post. Best of luck to you.
    Thanks for getting back to me -- and yeah, Samsung is a pain, and always has been. Unfortunately, they also make the only decent graphics tablets for artists (and I refuse to go to Apple), so for tablets I put up with it. But I've never had this much trouble. Grr!

    For phones, I had a T-Mobile S7 given to me, so I couldn't root it even if I wanted to. Next phone will probably be an LG. I've had both Nexus 4 and 5, both rooted and running (then) CyanogenMod, and loved them!

    SOLVED: I cracked it! For those getting the error "recovery: error validating footer. (6)" the problem is Samsung stupid validating feature called VBMETA that they don't really talk about. It's in the VBMETA partition, and apparently the only recovery that will pass verification is the one installed at the factory. I couldn't even get OEM recoveries to pass. They all gave me the same error.

    So the solution is:

    1) Make sure the recovery you're flashing also has an image called "vbmeta.img". If it doesn't, look elsewhere. (I flashed the recovery that came with my rom, so it had the vemeta.img file in the zip.)
    2) Flash both at the same time. Don't know about Odin, but with heimdall, here's the command: heimdall flash --RECOVERY recovery.img --VBMETA vbmeta.img --no-reboot
    3) Hold down PWR and Vol-dwn, until the device resets. Immediately! hold down Vol-Up & Pwr. The screen will blink a couple of times, then recovery will load.

    Boom!
    2
    Thanks for getting back to me -- and yeah, Samsung is a pain, and always has been. Unfortunately, they also make the only decent graphics tablets for artists (and I refuse to go to Apple), so for tablets I put up with it. But I've never had this much trouble. Grr!

    For phones, I had a T-Mobile S7 given to me, so I couldn't root it even if I wanted to. Next phone will probably be an LG. I've had both Nexus 4 and 5, both rooted and running (then) CyanogenMod, and loved them!

    SOLVED: I cracked it! For those getting the error "recovery: error validating footer. (6)" the problem is Samsung stupid validating feature called VBMETA that they don't really talk about. It's in the VBMETA partition, and apparently the only recovery that will pass verification is the one installed at the factory. I couldn't even get OEM recoveries to pass. They all gave me the same error.

    So the solution is:

    1) Make sure the recovery you're flashing also has an image called "vbmeta.img". If it doesn't, look elsewhere. (I flashed the recovery that came with my rom, so it had the vemeta.img file in the zip.)
    2) Flash both at the same time. Don't know about Odin, but with heimdall, here's the command: heimdall flash --RECOVERY recovery.img --VBMETA vbmeta.img --no-reboot
    3) Hold down PWR and Vol-dwn, until the device resets. Immediately! hold down Vol-Up & Pwr. The screen will blink a couple of times, then recovery will load.

    Boom!
    NICE! Thank you for posting the solution.

    As a side note, rooting the Pixel 5 on Android 12 has an issue with vbmeta as well. After an update, you need to flash the vbmeta.img with disabling verification and verity in fastboot, followed with a "-w" to wipe your phone. In future updates if you sideload the OTA you can boot immediately to bootloader and flash vbmeta with disabling verification and verity without a wipe. If you screw up and boot to system first, you'll have to use "-w" and wipe again
    2
    Hey, GCam suits on what basis. Is it by the Android versions or by the processor basis. Im using Lenovo k10 note which is android 9 and SD 710. I like to install GCam 8 or more.
    It's based on both, this app will help you find the appropriate for your device if there’s available https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.granturismo.gcamator&hl=es_PY&gl=US
  • 378
    There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
    which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

    The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
    ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
    leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

    Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
    the direction where that user can find an answer
    and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
    point out where to find the answer.



    Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

    Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

    Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
    (coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
    and frustration it will save you in the future!



    No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
    NO TROLLING
    NO NAME CALLING
    NO RIDICULING
    NO FLAMING


    ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


    *A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


    HALL OF FAME

    People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
    problems/questions. In no particular order.

    Bruce Wayne
    post-mortem
    SilentStrider
    Ghostfreak NB
    mayank9856
    sgs22012
    Zatta
    ADDICT.ANK



    These people also have the right to use the banner below:
    Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


    Just add this code to your signature:
    HTML:
    [URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
    110
    Reserved

    Just a few words of advice on keeping this thread clean of unnecessary clutter:

    1. Before posting a question, it is highly recommended to read this thread.

    2. Click the Thanks button on the posts that helped you, instead of posting "Thanks". This helps other members in finding out the best replies that get buried in the thread.

    3. Do not use this thread to increase your post count! The Off-Topic forum is the place for that.

    4. Do a simple search of this thread before asking to see if your question has been asked previously.

    5. If your question has not received an answer after a few hours, please be patient. Someone will answer you shortly. If you do not get an answer in 24 hours, you may BUMP your post. If you still have no answer after a week, do mention me in your post.

    Thank you for your cooperation!
    26
    Good job mate, hopefully lots of members will find this thread very helpful :cool::good:
    11
    ZTE V970 Brick?

    Hi,

    I've been trying to install Bruno's ROM for this phone (cam with all chinese apps). http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1856578

    but have a big problem. I tried my best to follow the instructions but, really couldn't work out if I was doing things in the right order.. is there an actual step- by step for this procedure? I know I'm a noob and read this read that I am an idiot etc. etc. but I thought if I used to ROM on that page and the software recommended it would be easy.

    Here's what I did:

    Downloaded all the files as told.

    Tried to 'flash a custom recovery' as here http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    but it did not mention how to use the ZTE custom recovery file http://d-h.st/Vgt

    I'm also not sure at all that the 'MediaTek drivers' were installed properly. The phone never appeared in the Device manager.

    I opened SP flash tool and followed this: http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    and selected the 'scatter file' from the unzipped Bruno ROM (took a while to realise had to unzip it to get the file!!!)

    I noticed most of the boxes on the scatter file were unchecked but carried on and ignored a warning message about the phone may not be able to boot (the tutorial said to ignore it).

    I had to click 'download' then plug the phone in and eventually I got the red loading bar. This finished... then nothing else.. no purple bar.. nothing.

    So after waiting a few minutes I unplugged the phone.

    It now appears to be a total brick. What did I do wrong? Why no purple bar? Were the scatter items supposed to be unchecked? What was the 'custom recovery' file for? Because the SP flash prog never asked for it.

    Is there any point in trying it again or is the phone dead?

    Thanks for any help..

    Theo