• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!
Search This thread

immortalneo

Senior Member
Jan 25, 2011
4,423
1,942
Malappuram, Kerala
There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
the direction where that user can find an answer
and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
point out where to find the answer.



Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
(coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
and frustration it will save you in the future!



No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
NO TROLLING
NO NAME CALLING
NO RIDICULING
NO FLAMING


ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


*A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


HALL OF FAME

People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
problems/questions. In no particular order.

Bruce Wayne
post-mortem
SilentStrider
Ghostfreak NB
mayank9856
sgs22012
Zatta
ADDICT.ANK



These people also have the right to use the banner below:
Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


Just add this code to your signature:
HTML:
[URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
 
Last edited:

Fytdyh

Senior Member
Aug 17, 2015
338
102
Okay hi everyone, i really hope I'm putting this in the right place because i think i have at least a general idea of what i need to do but part of the problem I'm having is figuring out where to get all the files and stuff ill actually need, I've done quite a bit of reading on the topic and it does seem possible but no one guide is enough. OKAY SO

i am looking to remove windows 8.1 RT from an ASUS TF600T. After that i would like to put some other operating system on the device. Basically windows 8.1 RT is unusable at this point, i can only access like half the web and theres literally like no apps for anything. So if theres an android operating system i can install that would be cool, id even settle from something like Chromium OS or some kinda linux port, hell if its possible id even just stick windows 10 on it. its a fairly powerful device on its own but without support from ASUS or Windows its basically a glorified paperweight. SO if anyone has any ideas or knows of a good guide to do what i need to please point me in the right direction. Lastly i just want to say thanks for reading this post and i appreciate your time.
hey there. I ve searched around about your tablet, seems that is locked pretty tight, with a encrypted key that prevent anything else except for windows rt from booting up.

I did find on YouTube this video which might be the solution. (
) if you aren't terrible fond of that tablet anymore you could give it a go.

afterwards, if everything is good, you could try to use this script ( https://www.reddit.com/r/gpdwin/comments/6ipa6c ). been using it on a windows 10 laptop, does provides significant performance improvements. keep in mind, haven't used windows rt, so I don't know if it will work.
 
Last edited:

mstrnemo

Senior Member
Feb 1, 2021
129
14
This happened many times, you have to double check the integrity of your zip file, there is some applications that can do that in Windows, also consider that moving/copying the zip file something in the structure may change, check in TWRP if the md5sum verification is active, check too if Windows is detecting the zip file as a kind of trojan/virus, Windows could "hack" the zip file turning it invalidate (I know it, it sounds strange)

The issue is addressed clearly to the zip itself and not either to your device or the TWRP version.

I found a program and checked it seems oke.
windows doesnt see it as a virus.
if with md5 verification u mean zip check then i tried it both. (i dont see anything called that)

also odd i tried it with another custom rom and that one worked and did it exactly the same way wtf ?
 

FAU57

New member
Mar 9, 2021
2
0
hey there. I ve searched around about your tablet, seems that is locked pretty tight, with a encrypted key that prevent anything else except for windows rt from booting up.

I did find on YouTube this video which might be the solution. (
) if you aren't terrible fond of that tablet anymore you could give it a go.

afterwards, if everything is good, you could try to use this script ( https://www.reddit.com/r/gpdwin/comments/6ipa6c ). been using it on a windows 10 laptop, does provides significant performance improvements. keep in mind, haven't used windows rt, so I don't know if it will work.
hey so is this just hear say and not an actual things
 

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
2,975
2
1,311
I found a program and checked it seems oke.
PeaZip is a good tool for that.
windows doesnt see it as a virus.
if with md5 verification u mean zip check then i tried it both. (i dont see anything called that)
I meant disabling Zip signature verification.
also odd i tried it with another custom rom and that one worked and did it exactly the same way wtf ?
It might be that the zip was corrupted in the sideload process or the files inside contains something unreadable for TWRP ie. a bad flasher script or non present at all, check inside the zip what you find.
 

DiamondJohn

Recognized Contributor
Aug 31, 2013
5,542
5,286
Sydney
Hi guys, I need some help with a query, i have been asking myself if its possible to have any sinergy between a micro SD inserted on a phone(android) and an app. I mean if its possible to program an android app that could use some data storaged in the micro SD, is that possible or android apps are limited to the data in the phone?.Thanks
Of course. If apps could not use all the data on a 512GB sd card, what use would it be? That would be 512GB of unusable space.

There are really simple examples, such as a video player or Music app. They play large files sitting on your SDCard.

These are simple examples, but one could imagine a large app specific file, that only one specific custom app could read or write to; instead of something generic like an MP3/
 

mstrnemo

Senior Member
Feb 1, 2021
129
14
PeaZip is a good tool for that.

I meant disabling Zip signature verification.

It might be that the zip was corrupted in the sideload process or the files inside contains something unreadable for TWRP ie. a bad flasher script or non present at all, check inside the zip what you find.

I ran peazip it shows no problems

zip signature verification is of

When i open the zip on computer there is another zipfile and when i open that it has the following inside

install
meta-inf
boot.img
system.new.dat.br
system.patch.dat
system.transfer.list
vender.new.dat.br
vendor.patch.dat
vendor.transfer.list
 

El-oi

New member
Jun 21, 2021
4
0
Of course. If apps could not use all the data on a 512GB sd card, what use would it be? That would be 512GB of unusable space.

There are really simple examples, such as a video player or Music app. They play large files sitting on your SDCard.

These are simple examples, but one could imagine a large app specific file, that only one specific custom app could read or write to; instead of something generic like an MP3/
Thats nice to read, in addition to this im not so into android programming, i asume that there is like a "library" that has some functions to read-write in the sd memory or something like that?What im trying to do basically is an app that could display some videos/docs that could be storaged in a micro sd, in a more family-friendly way in contrast to a regular file manager.
 

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
2,975
2
1,311
  • Like
Reactions: mstrnemo

DiamondJohn

Recognized Contributor
Aug 31, 2013
5,542
5,286
Sydney
Thats nice to read, in addition to this im not so into android programming, i asume that there is like a "library" that has some functions to read-write in the sd memory or something like that?What im trying to do basically is an app that could display some videos/docs that could be storaged in a micro sd, in a more family-friendly way in contrast to a regular file manager.
Wait a sec, you say " im not so into android programming" but then say "What im trying to do basically is an app". Thats kinda contradictory.

At a high level, the MediaDB scans and stores a link to all media found on your device. Normally apps query the Media DB (through the content provider) to return the file-types they wish/can "play" As such, each music player does not need to handle/find the contents on your SDCard, they all simply query the Media DB.
 
  • Like
Reactions: El-oi

mstrnemo

Senior Member
Feb 1, 2021
129
14
A zip inside the main zip? if it´s the case this is the problem.
That is what it is called when i hover over it with my mouse also i stil have peazip installed so when i click it it open it in peazip as a folder so it doesnt get unpacked huh ? does that mean it isnt a zipfile or is it ?

When i downloaded this file it was off this internetlocker site thing and when i click download it says wait zip in progress ? could that be it ?

should i try flashing just the so called zipfile inside ? whats the worse that can happen?
 

El-oi

New member
Jun 21, 2021
4
0
Wait a sec, you say " im not so into android programming" but then say "What im trying to do basically is an app". Thats kinda contradictory.

At a high level, the MediaDB scans and stores a link to all media found on your device. Normally apps query the Media DB (through the content provider) to return the file-types they wish/can "play" As such, each music player does not need to handle/find the contents on your SDCard, they all simply query the Media DB.
Oops, yeah your right, I would probably be working with other people more into android programming but in order to tell them what i want to do, i should know if this kind of app is possible or not and also to know what kind of resources are available to do this. Thats what i wanted to say. On the other hand, so in that way i assume that a regular file manager is based on queries to the Media DB, right?
 

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
2,975
2
1,311
That is what it is called when i hover over it with my mouse also i stil have peazip installed so when i click it it open it in peazip as a folder so it doesnt get unpacked huh ? does that mean it isnt a zipfile or is it ?
If I understood well; open it is different that unpack it, the zip inside the zip still remains there. Depending in the browser you choose, for example FireFox offers at the time to download a zip the option to "open it with" or "save it to" I always choose "save it to", also in case you download it through Mega there is an option to download it as zip that could confuse even more.
When i downloaded this file it was off this internetlocker site thing and when i click download it says wait zip in progress ? could that be it ?
It´s highly probable that the "antivirus" as they do some kind of checking inside the zip file they corrupted it or simply by cutting internet connection some browsers can deal well with that and can´t restart exactly where it left prior to this happened.
should i try flashing just the so called zipfile inside ? whats the worse that can happen?
Of course, TWRP can´t unpack a zip if doesn´t have before that a set of instructions to do it AKA a flasher script. The files that you showed and are inside the second zip look like the correct starting from Android 9 and if they´re for your device are supposed to not damage your device. All the errors may come from the mistakes that I pointed out before.
 

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
2,975
2
1,311
how can i do it? can you tell me more, pls!!
Ages have passed that I don´t remember exactly your issue but if I am not wrong you wished to flash a GSI on a device that doesn´t have a custom recovery, in this case you just have to decompress from one of the available GSI in the AOSP GSI project or other/s, in case they come in tgz format, from there you get an image to flash it in the right partition.

This explain some additional steps https://source.android.com/setup/build/gsi and here´s a useful site regarding that https://www.androidsage.com/2019/02/13/download-android-q-gsi-generic-system-image-project-treble/
 
  • Like
Reactions: thailinh.bui

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
2,975
2
1,311
hey so is this just hear say and not an actual things
I don´t know particularly about your device but I think you should go to the BIOS/UEFI and you´d need to perform 2 things; clear the DRM keys licenses and disable secure boot, if these actions can´t be done then probably you can´t change the OS.

Depending in your BIOS/UEFI settings, it includes a way to backup the keys licenses before but it could be that the option to disable secure boot it´s grayed out, anyway there are newer Linux distros that can work with but for a different Windows version won´t work (probably).
 

mstrnemo

Senior Member
Feb 1, 2021
129
14
If I understood well; open it is different that unpack it, the zip inside the zip still remains there. Depending in the browser you choose, for example FireFox offers at the time to download a zip the option to "open it with" or "save it to" I always choose "save it to", also in case you download it through Mega there is an option to download it as zip that could confuse even more.

It´s highly probable that the "antivirus" as they do some kind of checking inside the zip file they corrupted it or simply by cutting internet connection some browsers can deal well with that and can´t restart exactly where it left prior to this happened.

Of course, TWRP can´t unpack a zip if doesn´t have before that a set of instructions to do it AKA a flasher script. The files that you showed and are inside the second zip look like the correct starting from Android 9 and if they´re for your device are supposed to not damage your device. All the errors may come from the mistakes that I pointed out before.

So i tried to flash it with the zipfile inside the zipfile and it worked !

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/UVFwf6h9X3Y/hqdefault.jpg

I couldnt have done it without you!

Thank you so much u should get a raise!


Edit: however because i didnt wipe the current rom of the phone it did a dirty flash wich also happend before this one ... if there was a peble between my cheeks i would have popped out a diamond ... scared of the old bootloop

once my phone is fully charged i will wipe the current os and then flash it again clean to avoid any possible problems so i know it is not of that.
cant be to carefull.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SubwayChamp

mstrnemo

Senior Member
Feb 1, 2021
129
14
I also have another qeustion and that is i want to go without google no gapps no playstore nothing i have tried it for 2 days now and i constantly get this annoying message how there is no play protect and it shows up constantly in surtent apps driving me crazy is there anything i can do about that ?

I am also going to root my phone i dont know if that can help?
 

Thrishen

New member
Nov 13, 2017
2
0
Hello everybody. I dont know if you guys can help me with this but please assist me if you can.

So ive got a programming assignment due soon and i tried my ultimate best to do things right but its so hard and im struggling.

Could you guys please help me. I dont want to fail.
 

Attachments

  • POE_2.pdf
    333.6 KB · Views: 2

Domi_nik

Member
Dec 26, 2013
7
0
24
Hello,

I have a Leeco Le S3 X626 and I want to install TWRP on it. I went on twrp.me to download it, but my device isn't listed there.
Which other model should I choose to install it?

twrp.png
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 1
    Ive got a Samsung Frontier 3, sm-r760 (R760XXU2BQH1), its on Tizen 2.3.2.4, is there a newer version I can install? Thanks in advance guys, any help with this will be very much appreciated
    Simple Google search for:

    "Samsung gear S3 sm r760 firmware download"

    Would have gotten you the latest update as below:
    1
    Hi, kind of new here but I read the instructions. So I am running into a problem while installing any rom, when I tried to install the pixelexperience rom on my redmi note 4, it worked out fine and I used for a month or 2. But I was forced to restore my device with a backup I made after installing the rom because I think I downloaded a virus of some sort and my device just wouldn't respond. However, after restoring I got an error message extracttarfork() process ended with error=255. I just clicked reboot and it worked fine, but my phone wouldn't recognize my sim card or any wifi networks, not a wifi or sim card error, but a phone error. I searched for many articles and one article said formatting data might help, so I did that and my backup was gone, so I had to download the pixelexperience rom and flash it again. Now when I got into setup, the phone still wouldn't recognize my sim card or wifi. I tried formating data again both through format data and advanced wipe, and tried installing the corvus os. after flashing the rom and clicking on reboot I got a message saying "no os installed, are you sre you want to reboot?" I clicked yes and the corvus boot animation showed up but it went into a boot loop. after sometime however it did start but again the phone couldn't detect my sim card or any wifi network. after this I tried flashing a stock miui rom but when I click format data I got a failed to mount /system error. I tried changing the system file system to ext2 and then to ext4 and then I was able to format data but now the sd card folder is completely empty and when I tried sideloading the stock miui rom It worked but its stuck in bootloop. This is where I am right now and I'm trying to use mi's miui rom flashing tool but I don't know if that would work and I'd love to know if there is any way to fix this problem or there is no way and I have to take my phone to a service centre. I'd hate having to go to the service center because I like using custom roms butI have no clue about what I'm doing, so any help would be appreciated.
    You should need to restore other partitions like dtbo, persist, vendor depending on what led your device to this state.

    Which model do you have? MTK or Qualcomm based?
    1
    ok, so what exactly should I do?
    should I try flashing a vendor zip?
    sorry I'm new to this.
    If the last you did was flashing a custom ROM don't wipe something for now.

    Try this fixes in this order, one-by-one, and then try to reboot:
    - Flash the persist partition.
    - Flash the vendor partition (from the last stock ROM)
    - Flash the latest firmware.
    All the above, you can do it over your installed custom ROM.
    - And if nothing fixes, then flash the latest stock Miui ROM through EDL mode that will serve as based for any custom ROM.
    This last you have to do it wiping every thing or let that Mi Flash tool wipe everything selecting "Flash formatting data" be careful to not relock the bootloader although for older devices it can be re-unlocked instantly.

    From there you can start again...
    1
    Than name you call is path to file i can use special symblols there it will be renamed to recovery.img anyway.
    AND i said that i booted to OrangeFox successfully so what are you trying to explain to me?
    if orangefox booted successfully, why bother trying to install twrp? why not use orangefox instead?
    1
    Greetings!

    I have a Samsung Galaxy A22 5G and did the awful mistake to play with the kernel without doing a backup first. I know...
    So I'm in a bootloop now, factory reset did nothing. Since I don't have any ROM or backup on the phone, what would be the easiest way to push a rom onto the phone without beeing able to mount it (since I can't boot.

    Is there a good way via adb cmd or some GUI 1 click rootkit/flashing tool?

    Any pointing or linking in the right direction is highly appreciated <3
    Download the official firmware for your device and flash it through Odin.
  • 378
    There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
    which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

    The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
    ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
    leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

    Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
    the direction where that user can find an answer
    and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
    point out where to find the answer.



    Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

    Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

    Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
    (coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
    and frustration it will save you in the future!



    No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
    NO TROLLING
    NO NAME CALLING
    NO RIDICULING
    NO FLAMING


    ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


    *A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


    HALL OF FAME

    People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
    problems/questions. In no particular order.

    Bruce Wayne
    post-mortem
    SilentStrider
    Ghostfreak NB
    mayank9856
    sgs22012
    Zatta
    ADDICT.ANK



    These people also have the right to use the banner below:
    Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


    Just add this code to your signature:
    HTML:
    [URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
    110
    Reserved

    Just a few words of advice on keeping this thread clean of unnecessary clutter:

    1. Before posting a question, it is highly recommended to read this thread.

    2. Click the Thanks button on the posts that helped you, instead of posting "Thanks". This helps other members in finding out the best replies that get buried in the thread.

    3. Do not use this thread to increase your post count! The Off-Topic forum is the place for that.

    4. Do a simple search of this thread before asking to see if your question has been asked previously.

    5. If your question has not received an answer after a few hours, please be patient. Someone will answer you shortly. If you do not get an answer in 24 hours, you may BUMP your post. If you still have no answer after a week, do mention me in your post.

    Thank you for your cooperation!
    26
    Good job mate, hopefully lots of members will find this thread very helpful :cool::good:
    11
    ZTE V970 Brick?

    Hi,

    I've been trying to install Bruno's ROM for this phone (cam with all chinese apps). http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1856578

    but have a big problem. I tried my best to follow the instructions but, really couldn't work out if I was doing things in the right order.. is there an actual step- by step for this procedure? I know I'm a noob and read this read that I am an idiot etc. etc. but I thought if I used to ROM on that page and the software recommended it would be easy.

    Here's what I did:

    Downloaded all the files as told.

    Tried to 'flash a custom recovery' as here http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    but it did not mention how to use the ZTE custom recovery file http://d-h.st/Vgt

    I'm also not sure at all that the 'MediaTek drivers' were installed properly. The phone never appeared in the Device manager.

    I opened SP flash tool and followed this: http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    and selected the 'scatter file' from the unzipped Bruno ROM (took a while to realise had to unzip it to get the file!!!)

    I noticed most of the boxes on the scatter file were unchecked but carried on and ignored a warning message about the phone may not be able to boot (the tutorial said to ignore it).

    I had to click 'download' then plug the phone in and eventually I got the red loading bar. This finished... then nothing else.. no purple bar.. nothing.

    So after waiting a few minutes I unplugged the phone.

    It now appears to be a total brick. What did I do wrong? Why no purple bar? Were the scatter items supposed to be unchecked? What was the 'custom recovery' file for? Because the SP flash prog never asked for it.

    Is there any point in trying it again or is the phone dead?

    Thanks for any help..

    Theo