• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!
Search This thread

immortalneo

Senior Member
Jan 25, 2011
4,423
1,946
Malappuram, Kerala
There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
the direction where that user can find an answer
and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
point out where to find the answer.



Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
(coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
and frustration it will save you in the future!



No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
NO TROLLING
NO NAME CALLING
NO RIDICULING
NO FLAMING


ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


*A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


HALL OF FAME

People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
problems/questions. In no particular order.

Bruce Wayne
post-mortem
SilentStrider
Ghostfreak NB
mayank9856
sgs22012
Zatta
ADDICT.ANK



These people also have the right to use the banner below:
Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


Just add this code to your signature:
HTML:
[URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
 
Last edited:

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
3,094
2
1,331
I hope I am asking in the right place, but here goes!

I have purchased an international S9 SM-G960F. I have been looking for days for a reason it wont work here in the USA. everyone says it should but it dont. So I got devcheck and I found out that it has a snapdragon proccessor and that knox has been tripped, also usb debugging is active. My question is, could this be a phone that has had international firmware flashed on it (since its snapdragon) and if so can I flash it back? Thank you for any information as I have been round and round on this.
According to this site https://www.gsmarena.com/samsung_galaxy_s9-8966.php#g960f the SM-G960F and the SM-G960F/DS use Exynos.
You can check which was the firmware that originally came onto the device by going to the recovery stock.
 

Droidriven

Senior Member
Jan 27, 2014
14,857
5,169
NC
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S III
HTC Thunderbolt
I have tablet with intel atom processor running on android x86 and has one problem the orientation are reversed i.e when the device is in horizontal the display becomes vertical and vice versa. Can anybody help in solving this issue?
You probably flashed a firmware that "generically" works on your hardware but the firmware has a slightly different kernel than your original kernel. Try different kernels or different versions of firmware that are compatible with your hardware architecture, you might find one that fixes your screen orientation problem. Other than that, you'll have to decompile and modify some system files to remap your screen rotation and maybe some of your other sensors. Modifying system files to fix this "may" be possible but you'll have to figure it out by trial and error. It would be much easier to try different firmware that are compatible with your specific CPU/hardware architecture or your series of motherboard if you can identify the board. Be very careful when selecting firmware, you need to make absolutely certain that the firmware is for your specific Atom CPU series or for your specific motherboard series.
 
  • Like
Reactions: forstar

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
3,094
2
1,331
Hello, I am trying to root my Lenovo tablet, and I am following a guide on here, but when I do "adb reboot bootloader" it works, but when I try to unlock the OEM it just says waiting for device example here: https://prnt.sc/1gbgerc What do I do to fix this?
The issue would not be (yet) with the ability to unlock or not, your device is not being recognized through fastboot.
 

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
3,094
2
1,331
I was hoping to learn more about this for future referance.
but that i cant get this vbmeta file to work really bugs me ahhahaha
i supose that if magisk basicly does the same then i geuss ill leave it at that
Well, my latest reply may contain some clue about that, if you tried the other commands... if you already unlocked critical partitions... some devices haven't implemented dm-verity... your device doesn't accept a generic (unsigned) vbmeta image... your device accepts only signed (or patched) images for some specific partition ... it should be that Magisk can interfere too by tapping it some way so tried again prior to root, try with the one that should include your stock ROM, without consider all these points the conclusion is less than nothing
although i do wonder how do you update a gsi ? does it work the same as a custom rom where u flash over it ? if so then i take it magisk needs to uninstalled before that ?
Basically it does, regarding Magisk you should need to reinstall it for your next GSI.
Anyway i wish there was more out there about all this gsi stuf would make it easier oh and i tried phh treble aosp gsi first worked pretty wel after i tried linage os 18.1 gsi wich i have been using the past day and it works pretty well camera doesnt work and some little glitches here and there and batterie life isnt as good but all in all i am impressed.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mstrnemo

Adam_Jensen_

New member
Jul 26, 2021
3
0
Hi everyone, I just got a samsung xcover pro and rooted it, is there a sliver of a chance that someone might help me compile twrp and also help me installing lineageos? I have experience with linux but not with android.
If nobody wants to help me do it directly (more than understandabe) could you help me set up the compiling environment for twrp? I don't know how to proceed from chapter 2 of https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/...ompile-twrp-from-source-step-by-step.3404024/ onwards
 

mstrnemo

Senior Member
Feb 1, 2021
130
14
Well, my latest reply may contain some clue about that, if you tried the other commands... if you already unlocked critical partitions... some devices haven't implemented dm-verity... your device doesn't accept a generic (unsigned) vbmeta image... your device accepts only signed (or patched) images for some specific partition ... it should be that Magisk can interfere too by tapping it some way so tried again prior to root, try with the one that should include your stock ROM, without consider all these points the conclusion is less than nothing

Basically it does, regarding Magisk you should need to reinstall it for your next GSI.
Thank you for all your help.
 
  • Like
Reactions: SubwayChamp

DiamondJohn

Recognized Contributor
Aug 31, 2013
5,627
5,406
Sydney
Hi everyone, I just got a samsung xcover pro and rooted it, is there a sliver of a chance that someone might help me compile twrp and also help me installing lineageos? I have experience with linux but not with android.
If nobody wants to help me do it directly (more than understandabe) could you help me set up the compiling environment for twrp? I don't know how to proceed from chapter 2 of https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/...ompile-twrp-from-source-step-by-step.3404024/ onwards
You have found the TWRP specific threads, so you would be best to ask your question there.

As for your linlk, it is basically takes me to the OP; ie every step. Its not clear what step you are having issues with.

When I started compiling ROMs / TWRP. I found the lineage OS had clearer and more complete and up to date steps, somewhere on their website.
 

Ely_Pines

Member
Nov 11, 2020
6
0
Hi,

I'm trying to create my first custom rom from source so I did repo init -b android-4.4.4_r2 [the branch I want] then repo sync
At one point it stops and indicated this:

Code:
Checking out projects:  97% (402/412) platform/prebuilts/sdkerror: Cannot checkout platform/prebuilts/tools: ManifestInvalidRevisionError: revision refs/tags/android-4.4.4_r2 in platform/prebuilts/tools not found
error: in `sync`: revision refs/tags/android-4.4.4_r2 in platform/prebuilts/tools not found

So my question is: from what do you think it is due? do I have a way to do a fetch platform/prebuilts/tools or revise the manifest just for this? (my computer is not a good one so maybe errors occurred during the repo init and now I'm missing a few files)
Thanks!
 

Inoxius

Member
Jul 28, 2021
6
2
Hello guys,

so i recently just got a 2nd hand samsung s20+ (NTT docomo) and it's already sim unlock, and i've been trying to unlock my bootloader but when i try fastboot oem unlock it shows up as and unknown command.
Anyone know how to fix it or if it's even possible to unlock the bootloader for samsung s20+ japan version?.

Thanks!
 

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
3,094
2
1,331
Hello guys,

so i recently just got a 2nd hand samsung s20+ (NTT docomo) and it's already sim unlock, and i've been trying to unlock my bootloader but when i try fastboot oem unlock it shows up as and unknown command.
Anyone know how to fix it or if it's even possible to unlock the bootloader for samsung s20+ japan version?.

Thanks!
From What I know, unless a paid service it doesn't but probably the members on here may know more about https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/...root-s20-series-and-upgrade-firmware.4079353/
 
  • Love
Reactions: Inoxius

Inoxius

Member
Jul 28, 2021
6
2
From What I know, unless a paid service it doesn't but probably the members on here may know more about https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/...root-s20-series-and-upgrade-firmware.4079353/
Ya, tried to search for paid service too but i dont know if they also do the japan version.
Anyway i'll check the link you gave me first.

Thank you for the reply! Really appreciate it ☺

Edit : It Works! can finally unlock my bootloader!! thank you SubwayChamp you're a lifesaver :)
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: SubwayChamp

mystvearn

Senior Member
May 12, 2011
66
0
I have a problem when installing an apk. Need help on installing samsung camera app ver 11 on Samsung note 9. Minimum requirements are android 11. Phone is android 10. I tried apk editor Pro and apk signage still could not get it to install. I have a note 3 which is android 11, and it could not install too. For both devices, installation is fine, but st the end of installation it says app not installed. Any ideas how to get it installed? I need to use the Bluetooth mic in the pro video mode to record from a distance.
 

liteclorox

New member
Jul 30, 2021
1
1
Is it possible to install a different OS than Android on a mobile phone as the primary OS? For example, can I install ARM based Fedora Linux on a device that is currently running on Android? What I'm trying to say is Android will be replaced with an ARM based Linux distro. Is it possible?
 
  • Like
Reactions: mstrnemo

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 4
    Mod edit - translated by https://www.deepl.com/translator:
    Greetings. Help me out here. Need to put Xposed on Meizy m3 note.
    Rooted through settings, security settings have "root" button.
    But can not activate xposed. I have tried different versions, no luck. I am attaching a photo of the error.
    *********************************************************
    Приветствую. Помогите разобраться. Нужно поставить Xposed на Meizy m3 note.
    Сделала рут через настройки, в настройках безопасности есть кнопка "root".
    Но не могу активировать xposed. Пробовала разные версии, не получается никак. Прикрепляю фото ошибки.
    @YanaMur

    As courtesy, I've translated your post above. With reference to rule no. 4 of the XDA Forum Rules, please post in English or add at least an English translation to your Russian posts. Thanks for your cooperation!
    4. Use the English language.

    We understand that with all the different nationalities, not everyone speaks English well, but please try. If you're really unable to post in English, use an online translator. You're free to include your original message in your own language, below the English translation. (This rule covers your posts, profile entries and signature). You could try :- https://translate.google.com/ or https://www.babelfish.com/ or use one of your choice.

    Regards
    Oswald Boelcke
    Senior Moderator
    The forum rules require your posts to be posted in English at the top of your post. You can still post in your native language but the English must be at the top of your post and then below that you can post in your native language.
    @Droidriven Just a very small request. Please only report such posts! This will allow us to immediately add a translation as courtesy to the benefit of all users; and we'll simultaneously make aware about the rules. Tanks very much for your cooperation.
    3
    ....snip...

    In the practice it's impossible to have a Samsung Q ROM for a Samsung device that official support stopped at Nougat, or at least I have never seen that. The most I could see is one and only one major update, of course may I totally wrong but never saw more than one update not supported officially.
    Funny you should chose Samsung for you example, my previous / spare device device is a Samsung S4 from 2013, which had official support stop at Lollipop (ie android 5, 2 before Nougat). There is an unofficial ROM using the blobs from the last official release for a current LineageOS 18.1 (ie R, ie Android 11), so that is the next version of android past Q. There is also talk of people starting builds of android 12 for this device. So it is very possible, but it also goes beyond the issue of manufacturers releasing the full source.

    I used to build ROMs from source for this device and a few other even older devices (and released here on XDA), which were well beyond the last official versions released by the manufacturer (from jelly bean to lollipop I think on another). That is one of the reasons for using/building custom ROMs on older devices. ie to upgrade your android version beyond official manufacturer support. To enable building these ROMs, more than just the Kernel needs to be attained. The example I gave a link for is simply just one case I found in a single web search. If you read the article, it actually talks of samsung releasing their source quickly, which I would assume is the full source of the ROM, but not the source for proprietary hardware drivers.
    2
    Got a Droid Turbo with LineageOS recovery, only seen as offline, even with a 'factory' cord. Data and system were wiped to try to start anew, but the unexpected offline condition prevents any side loading. Any tips on how to remove the offline condition? My apologies if this is the wrong forum.
    It seemed better to answer you in this thread.
    Hi. :)

    I do not have the device and do not know your setup, so generic answer. ;)
    • Some devices have issues with USB ports, best to use a USB 2.0 port.
      Also try a different USB port and/or USB cable.
      If it is a USB-C to USB-C cable, try switching it (End B to computer, End A to device.)​
    • Windows - Make sure you have the correct (additional) drivers installed for the device when is in fastboot mode.
    • linux - Make sure you have access to USB.
      Depending on the linux distro you are running..
      Make sure the device is set in your udev-dev-rules and you (user) are part of the plugdev group.
      adb might be able to connect, that is a different connection than fastboot.​
    • macOS - Normally works out of the box once platform-tools are installed.

    Hope something above helps. 🙃

    Maybe another member (who knows more about the issue you are running into) is willing to help. :D


    Cheers. :cowboy:

    PS.
    For anyone who is looking for the official link. :whistle:
    SDK Platform Tools - developer.android - WebSite - Link
    1
    • Bad news: my paid leave days are up, so I'm only able to try to recover the data in my spare time.
    • Good news: I'm coping. I already bought a Galaxy S21 (let's hope Samsung takes software update QA more seriously). I am keeping the Realme device untouched, installing regular updates, hoping for future fixes (perhaps when Realme releases Realme UI 3.0/Android 12 for this phone, another major update will fix this problem and flashable using stock recovery without triggering a wipe).
    Not sure if this tip appears in that tutorial, usually flashing through SP Flash tool the process takes no more than 10 minutes or so.

    When you bypass the BROM restriction and your device is enabled to operate with the tool, you have to set these values; in Options/General uncheck Check LIB DA match and Storage Life Cycle Check, and in Options/Connetion/Conection Settings enable UART and set Baud rate to 921600, this is to speed up the flashing process to a low level, you have to check this option every time you flash otherwise is constantly set to its original value to 115200, also check in the Format tab the option to Flash all except bootloader.
    Thank you for the suggestion. However, tinkering with these settings cause flashing to fail midway. Maybe it doesn't fail every time, but I'm not in a hurry.

    Isn't the firmware you can flash through SP Flash tool the same you can do it through the Realme Download tool, but with the main difference that in Realme Download tool the file doesn't need to be extracted from the original ofp format?
    My understanding:
    • SP Flash Tool: a backup software (can get data from phone and backs it up like UNIX's dd), shows partitions and could selectively restore it bit by bit.
    • Realme Download Tool: a one-way tool to flash firmware files to the device. Will flash the entire device.
    I suggested to flash using this method in the hope your device can be restored to its original functional state to can after that unlock bootloader and this way you could restore the userdata partition, while your device is with locked bootloader it will refuse to boot with that restored/unauthorized partition due to the integrity check.
    • Good news: the bootloader was successfully unlocked, installed a custom recovery, and got Realme UI 1.0 up and running (rooting unsuccessful). Then restore the userdata partition.
    • Bad news: The device throws all sorts of errors, even in Safe Mode. After some digging, apparently, Realme UI 2.0 introduces an encryption model change. Realme UI 1.0/Android 10 used FDE (you must enter a password before booting Android). Meanwhile, Realme UI 2.0/Android 11 uses FBE (the device boots up completely then asks you for a password. Phone calls, alarms, and even emergency mode work before the device is unlocked). Previously, this was a sign that the device was locked but not encrypted. However, this is the new encryption model in Android 11, and apparently, it's safe. It seems that Android made FBE available on Android 7 and required it on Android 10. Yet somehow, Realme just implemented it on Android 11.
    • Worse news: The encryption algorithm and working mode is also changed from AES-128-CBC-ESSIV to AES-256-XTS.
    • Worst news: Apparently, the encryption key is not stored in userdata partition; hence overwriting partitions like this are possibly dead-end. Restored the device from its full backup.
    • A glimmer of hope: I have been downloading and successfully installing OZIP updates in recovery. Just put the OZIP (must be official) in the SD card, and apparently, a monthly security patch is installed. Will wait for a monthly update to fix this issue (slim chance) or for Realme UI 3.0 to fix it (a good chance, but not quite assuring).
    1
    If you for your own have the knowledge to do it or take it to the repair center where they replaced the battery, if it was the case.

    When there is a bad connection, this kind of issues is expected to happen.
    It was my little diy :D
    I will try doing that after work and tell you how it goes.
    Thanks!
  • 381
    There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
    which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

    The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
    ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
    leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

    Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
    the direction where that user can find an answer
    and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
    point out where to find the answer.



    Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

    Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

    Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
    (coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
    and frustration it will save you in the future!



    No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
    NO TROLLING
    NO NAME CALLING
    NO RIDICULING
    NO FLAMING


    ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


    *A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


    HALL OF FAME

    People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
    problems/questions. In no particular order.

    Bruce Wayne
    post-mortem
    SilentStrider
    Ghostfreak NB
    mayank9856
    sgs22012
    Zatta
    ADDICT.ANK



    These people also have the right to use the banner below:
    Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


    Just add this code to your signature:
    HTML:
    [URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
    111
    Reserved

    Just a few words of advice on keeping this thread clean of unnecessary clutter:

    1. Before posting a question, it is highly recommended to read this thread.

    2. Click the Thanks button on the posts that helped you, instead of posting "Thanks". This helps other members in finding out the best replies that get buried in the thread.

    3. Do not use this thread to increase your post count! The Off-Topic forum is the place for that.

    4. Do a simple search of this thread before asking to see if your question has been asked previously.

    5. If your question has not received an answer after a few hours, please be patient. Someone will answer you shortly. If you do not get an answer in 24 hours, you may BUMP your post. If you still have no answer after a week, do mention me in your post.

    Thank you for your cooperation!
    26
    Good job mate, hopefully lots of members will find this thread very helpful :cool::good:
    11
    ZTE V970 Brick?

    Hi,

    I've been trying to install Bruno's ROM for this phone (cam with all chinese apps). http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1856578

    but have a big problem. I tried my best to follow the instructions but, really couldn't work out if I was doing things in the right order.. is there an actual step- by step for this procedure? I know I'm a noob and read this read that I am an idiot etc. etc. but I thought if I used to ROM on that page and the software recommended it would be easy.

    Here's what I did:

    Downloaded all the files as told.

    Tried to 'flash a custom recovery' as here http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    but it did not mention how to use the ZTE custom recovery file http://d-h.st/Vgt

    I'm also not sure at all that the 'MediaTek drivers' were installed properly. The phone never appeared in the Device manager.

    I opened SP flash tool and followed this: http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    and selected the 'scatter file' from the unzipped Bruno ROM (took a while to realise had to unzip it to get the file!!!)

    I noticed most of the boxes on the scatter file were unchecked but carried on and ignored a warning message about the phone may not be able to boot (the tutorial said to ignore it).

    I had to click 'download' then plug the phone in and eventually I got the red loading bar. This finished... then nothing else.. no purple bar.. nothing.

    So after waiting a few minutes I unplugged the phone.

    It now appears to be a total brick. What did I do wrong? Why no purple bar? Were the scatter items supposed to be unchecked? What was the 'custom recovery' file for? Because the SP flash prog never asked for it.

    Is there any point in trying it again or is the phone dead?

    Thanks for any help..

    Theo