• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!
Search This thread

immortalneo

Senior Member
Jan 25, 2011
4,423
1,947
Malappuram, Kerala
There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
the direction where that user can find an answer
and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
point out where to find the answer.



Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
(coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
and frustration it will save you in the future!



No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
NO TROLLING
NO NAME CALLING
NO RIDICULING
NO FLAMING


ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


*A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


HALL OF FAME

People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
problems/questions. In no particular order.

Bruce Wayne
post-mortem
SilentStrider
Ghostfreak NB
mayank9856
sgs22012
Zatta
ADDICT.ANK



These people also have the right to use the banner below:
Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


Just add this code to your signature:
HTML:
[URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
 
Last edited:

IsThisAValidNameTag

New member
Oct 15, 2021
1
0
So i unlocked my phone's bootloader (a redmi note 10s) and patched a patched version of the default os with magisk. After trying to flash the patched iso with fasboot, i get : https://pastebin.com/TRzUUR6s (size too large).

After some unsuccessful research, i deduced that my boot partition was probably too small. Do i have to resize my partitions or is there an other way around? Thanks in advance! (i'm UTC 0 so i might not reply straight away)
 

JonD79

New member
Nov 11, 2013
2
0
Hello, and thanks in advance for any help. I’m looking for a way to programmatically turn the Google Photos “back up & sync” feature on and off at certain times to control when photos are uploaded from and downloaded/synced to my phone. I have Linux system administration experience, so I’m thinking cron jobs, but I know that’s different on Android and I’m not sure if we have API/programmatic access to that feature. Can anyone shed some light on this?

I have a Pixel 2, and will probably stick with Pixels going forward, possibly OnePlus, but I am hoping for a solution for all Android phones.

An existing app, Tasker plugin, or similar would be great (though I haven't found one yet), but I'm also willing to try my hand at Android development.

Or, if there's no function/app to do that, is there a way to program a sequence of screen presses to accomplish it?

Thanks again!
 

DiamondJohn

Recognized Contributor
Aug 31, 2013
5,736
5,562
Sydney
Hello, and thanks in advance for any help. I’m looking for a way to programmatically turn the Google Photos “back up & sync” feature on and off at certain times to control when photos are uploaded from and downloaded/synced to my phone. I have Linux system administration experience, so I’m thinking cron jobs, but I know that’s different on Android and I’m not sure if we have API/programmatic access to that feature. Can anyone shed some light on this?

I have a Pixel 2, and will probably stick with Pixels going forward, possibly OnePlus, but I am hoping for a solution for all Android phones.

An existing app, Tasker plugin, or similar would be great (though I haven't found one yet), but I'm also willing to try my hand at Android development.

Or, if there's no function/app to do that, is there a way to program a sequence of screen presses to accomplish it?

Thanks again!
If you are rooted, CRON is available on android as well.
 

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
3,244
2
1,376
So i unlocked my phone's bootloader (a redmi note 10s) and patched a patched version of the default os with magisk. After trying to flash the patched iso with fasboot, i get : https://pastebin.com/TRzUUR6s (size too large).

After some unsuccessful research, i deduced that my boot partition was probably too small. Do i have to resize my partitions or is there an other way around? Thanks in advance! (i'm UTC 0 so i might not reply straight away)
Are you sure that RN10s has two partitions and not only one, it seems you targeted to the slot A instead of target to the plain boot partition…
And the boot usually has an image extension (img) not an ISO, check it again.
Regards the size of the image, it could be around 32/64 MB, not many more than that.
 

Fytdyh

Senior Member
Aug 17, 2015
386
110

Noob here,​

while trying to flash TWRP recovery on my realme2pro from Ubuntu 20.04LTS through the command



got this error



as you can see the recovery image is in the folder


Can anyone help?
Have you tried using windows or another distro? Or maybe your recovery partition size is smaller than the image you are trying to flash.
 

wgahnagl

Member
Dec 24, 2019
11
1
OnePlus 7 Pro
oh! Could anyone help me with this?
I'm trying to unlock a oneplus 7 pro, but I'm not sure if I have all of the files from the tutorials! Any help would be greatly appreciated!
 

Applecheek

Member
Oct 20, 2021
7
0
Samsung Galaxy S7
Good day all I have a few questions regarding the Samsung galaxy s7 and the tethering business... (i have tethered using pdanet before but it was over 6 years ago so i need a little help lol)

1. Is pdanet still working on this phone?

2. if it is then will pdanet still a viable option or is there something much better that I can use?

3. I'm using MetroPCS on a galaxy s7 so will I have any hiccups?
 
Oct 1, 2021
5
0
Hi. I searched the forum a bit and can’t seem to find any posts on my new phone yet. I want to make sure it’s okay to create a thread somewhere to discuss this model of android that was just released Oct 9/2021.

it’s the Titan Pocket, by Unihertz. Shape of a blackberry Q10, but with android 11 and many of the premium features found in the blackberry Key2 (not key2 LE)

I want to open discussion on my experience and see if anyone else has gotten one yet. Maybe lead into discussion about flashing a new OS like Lineage or something to it.

I only found a few posts about Unihertz but they’re for other phones by them.

Question being - where should I start a thread? Or, since I’m new to forums, can someone direct me to a thread already discussing this phone? Since it’s not branded a blackberry I think it deserves a category of its own and not to be thrown into the blackberry forum. Am I on the right train of thought here? Thanks
 

YanaMur

New member
Jul 20, 2019
4
0
Mod edit - translated by https://www.deepl.com/translator:
Greetings. Help me out here. Need to put Xposed on Meizy m3 note.
Rooted through settings, security settings have "root" button.
But can not activate xposed. I have tried different versions, no luck. I am attaching a photo of the error.
*********************************************************
Приветствую. Помогите разобраться. Нужно поставить Xposed на Meizy m3 note.
Сделала рут через настройки, в настройках безопасности есть кнопка "root".
Но не могу активировать xposed. Пробовала разные версии, не получается никак. Прикрепляю фото ошибки.
 

Attachments

  • 16349784572215309419140953932805.jpg
    16349784572215309419140953932805.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 12
Last edited by a moderator:

Droidriven

Senior Member
Jan 27, 2014
14,927
1
5,184
NC
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S III
HTC Thunderbolt
Приветствую. Помогите разобраться. Нужно поставить Xposed на Meizy m3 note.
Сделала рут через настройки, в настройках безопасности есть кнопка "root".
Но не могу активировать xposed. Пробовала разные версии, не получается никак. Прикрепляю фото ошибки.
The forum rules require your posts to be posted in English at the top of your post. You can still post in your native language but the English must be at the top of your post and then below that you can post in your native language.
 
Mod edit - translated by https://www.deepl.com/translator:
Greetings. Help me out here. Need to put Xposed on Meizy m3 note.
Rooted through settings, security settings have "root" button.
But can not activate xposed. I have tried different versions, no luck. I am attaching a photo of the error.
*********************************************************
Приветствую. Помогите разобраться. Нужно поставить Xposed на Meizy m3 note.
Сделала рут через настройки, в настройках безопасности есть кнопка "root".
Но не могу активировать xposed. Пробовала разные версии, не получается никак. Прикрепляю фото ошибки.
@YanaMur

As courtesy, I've translated your post above. With reference to rule no. 4 of the XDA Forum Rules, please post in English or add at least an English translation to your Russian posts. Thanks for your cooperation!
4. Use the English language.

We understand that with all the different nationalities, not everyone speaks English well, but please try. If you're really unable to post in English, use an online translator. You're free to include your original message in your own language, below the English translation. (This rule covers your posts, profile entries and signature). You could try :- https://translate.google.com/ or https://www.babelfish.com/ or use one of your choice.

Regards
Oswald Boelcke
Senior Moderator
The forum rules require your posts to be posted in English at the top of your post. You can still post in your native language but the English must be at the top of your post and then below that you can post in your native language.
@Droidriven Just a very small request. Please only report such posts! This will allow us to immediately add a translation as courtesy to the benefit of all users; and we'll simultaneously make aware about the rules. Tanks very much for your cooperation.
 
Oct 1, 2021
5
0
Hi. Can I put a GSI of lineage OS 17 on a phone running android 11? I read some articles on other sites about flashing lineage onto any treble supported android. But those articles were for android 10. Hoping I can follow the same set of instructions and get lineage on my phone.
 

Edgaxd

New member
Apr 25, 2019
4
2
Hello, after changing battery on mi max 3 i cant change brightness in OS and in TWRP. Tried updating to latest xiaomi.eu rom and reinstalled magisk. When i turn phone, before bootload MI logo flashes is full brightness and as system loads brightness goes to low instantly. Anyone had similar issue?
 

Attachments

  • VID_20211025_210528.mp4
    64.3 MB · Views: 0

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
3,244
2
1,376
Hello, after changing battery on mi max 3 i cant change brightness in OS and in TWRP. Tried updating to latest xiaomi.eu rom and reinstalled magisk. When i turn phone, before bootload MI logo flashes is full brightness and as system loads brightness goes to low instantly. Anyone had similar issue?
The first thing I can think of is that you have to revisit the technician, it might be that some part of the display/digitizer is not responding.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Edgaxd

Dinjoralo

New member
Mar 22, 2016
4
0
I have a Oneplus 6T and a set of Bluetooth headphones with a USB-C cable for wired listening. The headphones aren't supposed to be able to charge from phones according to the manufacturer, but they still charge from my phones battery, cutting battery life considerably. Is there any way to disable charging external devices with Android? I've already got developer options enabled, Magisk set, and I've used ADB in the past.
 

SpacedSyd

Member
May 23, 2017
25
0
Hi everyone,
Have you guys had any successful experience with upgrading firmware of a phone without reflashing the ROM ? (e.g LineageOS)
 

Top Liked Posts

  • 1
    I'm starting to not like those chances as well. I've searched GitHub but found nothing relevant to my specific model.

    How should I go about finding the files that are responsible for sound? also I don't have a device tree so I'm guessing that i'd have to build one myself. you think this work can be done by a total noob?

    I should mention that the other model received an Ice cream sandwich update while they model that I have didn't. now if custom roms were based on an andoird 4 device tree, will my android 3 tree " assuming i build it " be compatible with it?
    To be honest, building an android 4 or lesser ROM these days is really not worth doing for many reasons. Between compatibility issues with apps and a myriad number of security aspects not being available in Android 4 and older ROMs, it is probably more of a risk and inadequate operating system to be using with modern apps and networking.
    1
    hello. i dont know if this is the right place to ask. could anyone direct me how to install custom rom on sony xperia xa2 (h3133) running on android pie(9)? If anyone wishes to "spoonfeed" me the whole process it would be really appreciated. Directing me to respective links should be helpful anyways.
    You will find here all that you need.
  • 3
    I want to ASK a question but cant even see the ASK option anywhere!? Some forums drive me Nuts.
    You can ask exactly where you did write.
    2
    Okay I finally did manage to boot into os. Although i wiped cache and system settings through recovery mode, it was stuck in boot loop as in this previous post of mine. What helped to get out of it was third option in recovery - "wipe user data(pics, music, etc...)"

    Can anyone explain why that helped, what was written in user data that could have made it not boot? As i wrote - i patched with magisk and moved wrong boot.img, of the other os, on my phone, then i flashed totally new stock rom and was stuck in oxygen os not managing to boot itself - spinning circles animation.

    I will make a troubleshooting post for other new users like me in the nord ce subforum. Now I can finally try to root a little guy and I have enough confidence to do it. Thank you guys for your help!
    Simple, when you flash an incorrect file/image, the files contained in this image are unpacked/split into the Android directory (it is not a solid nucleus), this wrong image/files manage how Android has to act, a wrong image/file will always give bad directions/instructions, and device won't work as desired; in the second act; when you are trying to return device to its natural/pristine status anyway some trash/traces get there, and it's not enough with just re-flashing the original image, but you need to clean all that remained there, this is what wipe data or in some cases format data does.
    2
    I have one more nooby question.

    I would like to remove encryption on a Pixel XL using Universal DM-Verity, ForceEncrypt, Disk Quota Disabler:

    - As I understand, step one format the device via TWRP to remove all encryption.

    - Step 2 is to reboot back in recovery

    - Step 3 is to flash the ROM. And this is where I have a question. Are there any TWRP flashable ROM for Pixel XL?

    - If there isn't, then what are my options? When I flash the factory ROM using flash-all.bat it restarts the device thereby encrypting it and if I am not mistaken, TWRP also get removed?

    - So I need a way to install the stock ROM and Universal DM-Verity, ForceEncrypt, Disk Quota Disabler without the first booting into the system (and thereby enabling encryption).
    There are some ROMs here https://forum.xda-developers.com/c/google-pixel-xl.5916/ that could bring you natively or at least you can disable the verity over them.

    On a stock ROM you can't do it, so flashing back a stock ROM all returns to the original state.
    2
    How to create a thread?
    I have noticed it's possible to create a thread within nodes.. But my device doesn't have a listing..
    If your device does not have its own specific forum here and you want to create a thread to discuss your device, you will have to create a thread in the General Discussion forum here at XDA.


    If you have questions about your device and would like to create a thread to ask about it, you will have to create a thread in the General Q&A forum here at XDA.


    Or, you can post questions in this thread that we are in now.

    Or, if you are looking to post some kind of software development that you have created, you will have to create a thread for it in the Miscellaneous Android Development forum here at XDA.

    2
    I had actually meant Lineage OS. I apologize for remembering wrong.

    I appreciate the responses! You were very helpful. I wanted to find a way to identify the platform for future phone repairs other than a google search. For anyone who wants to find out the platform of their phone in the forum search (I'd like to contribute a bit if I can, I don't know who knows what) :

    I actually found the answer to my question via app search. I looked for an app that functions like Speccy on the PC for android devices. Turns out there is one called CPU-Z that provides full specs of your device, including the Kernal architecture, for anyone else with similar questions. Which is apparently armv71. Strangely enough because DROID ULTRA is advertised as x86 Platform in a release article I found.
    To find technical details of your phones, a good spec list is normally available at www.gsmarena.com for many devices. It provides the model number, by region, which is very useful.

    Also, if you are rooted or are flashing a custom ROM, there are many details regarding the platform of the ROM and hence pretty much your device, in your /system/build.prop file, which is also commonly found in the install ZIP file for your ROM.
  • 382
    There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
    which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

    The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
    ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
    leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

    Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
    the direction where that user can find an answer
    and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
    point out where to find the answer.



    Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

    Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

    Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
    (coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
    and frustration it will save you in the future!



    No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
    NO TROLLING
    NO NAME CALLING
    NO RIDICULING
    NO FLAMING


    ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


    *A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


    HALL OF FAME

    People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
    problems/questions. In no particular order.

    Bruce Wayne
    post-mortem
    SilentStrider
    Ghostfreak NB
    mayank9856
    sgs22012
    Zatta
    ADDICT.ANK



    These people also have the right to use the banner below:
    Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


    Just add this code to your signature:
    HTML:
    [URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
    111
    Reserved

    Just a few words of advice on keeping this thread clean of unnecessary clutter:

    1. Before posting a question, it is highly recommended to read this thread.

    2. Click the Thanks button on the posts that helped you, instead of posting "Thanks". This helps other members in finding out the best replies that get buried in the thread.

    3. Do not use this thread to increase your post count! The Off-Topic forum is the place for that.

    4. Do a simple search of this thread before asking to see if your question has been asked previously.

    5. If your question has not received an answer after a few hours, please be patient. Someone will answer you shortly. If you do not get an answer in 24 hours, you may BUMP your post. If you still have no answer after a week, do mention me in your post.

    Thank you for your cooperation!
    26
    Good job mate, hopefully lots of members will find this thread very helpful :cool::good:
    12
    ZTE V970 Brick?

    Hi,

    I've been trying to install Bruno's ROM for this phone (cam with all chinese apps). http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1856578

    but have a big problem. I tried my best to follow the instructions but, really couldn't work out if I was doing things in the right order.. is there an actual step- by step for this procedure? I know I'm a noob and read this read that I am an idiot etc. etc. but I thought if I used to ROM on that page and the software recommended it would be easy.

    Here's what I did:

    Downloaded all the files as told.

    Tried to 'flash a custom recovery' as here http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    but it did not mention how to use the ZTE custom recovery file http://d-h.st/Vgt

    I'm also not sure at all that the 'MediaTek drivers' were installed properly. The phone never appeared in the Device manager.

    I opened SP flash tool and followed this: http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    and selected the 'scatter file' from the unzipped Bruno ROM (took a while to realise had to unzip it to get the file!!!)

    I noticed most of the boxes on the scatter file were unchecked but carried on and ignored a warning message about the phone may not be able to boot (the tutorial said to ignore it).

    I had to click 'download' then plug the phone in and eventually I got the red loading bar. This finished... then nothing else.. no purple bar.. nothing.

    So after waiting a few minutes I unplugged the phone.

    It now appears to be a total brick. What did I do wrong? Why no purple bar? Were the scatter items supposed to be unchecked? What was the 'custom recovery' file for? Because the SP flash prog never asked for it.

    Is there any point in trying it again or is the phone dead?

    Thanks for any help..

    Theo