Search This thread

immortalneo

Senior Member
Jan 25, 2011
4,409
1,953
Malappuram, Kerala
There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
the direction where that user can find an answer
and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
point out where to find the answer.



Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
(coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
and frustration it will save you in the future!



No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
NO TROLLING
NO NAME CALLING
NO RIDICULING
NO FLAMING


ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


*A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


HALL OF FAME

People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
problems/questions. In no particular order.

Bruce Wayne
post-mortem
SilentStrider
Ghostfreak NB
mayank9856
sgs22012
Zatta
ADDICT.ANK



These people also have the right to use the banner below:
Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


Just add this code to your signature:
HTML:
[URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
 
Last edited:

The Invizible

Member
Feb 28, 2017
29
2
Look into adb push

I dont remeember if your device was one of the other ones where its somehow broken, however, I use FTP Over WiFi to transfer files, using the brilliant file manager MiX

Building a new device tree is not for a noob.

I agree with most others in regards to theage of your device. I would kijelike to add a warning, with such an old device, you could end up spending a LOT of time & effort, only to have the physical device break the day after you get it working. Of course, you could be doing it for the challenge/hobby. Nearly all my phones I use until they physically die, and they are all MUCH younger than yours. Currently my spare / previous phone is from 2013 and its stumbling all over the place; and hence my upgrade.
Not sure if it is worth, but you may read this https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/...evices-small-update-as-of-10-13-2018.3481114/ anyway as the API level increase, the apps are dropping support to old Android versions, probably actually, MM is the most acceptable to run decently
I think building a new device tree or custom rom is not necessary because there are already custom roms available for the other identical models. I don't even have to port them to my Chinese model they are plug and play....sweet, right?

Now the only issue i faced is sound. there is no sound output whatsoever whether from speakers or headphones, however, Bluetooth headphones work....could it be due to different audio drivers?

I have extracted the android 3.2 stock firmware of my tablet and android ics 4 firmware of the other identical model which also boots and works perfectly except for sound. which files do I need to replace from stock to port in order for sound to work? and is there any way to debug the sound problem and find out which files are exactly causing the issue?

these tablets are the exact same and im pretty sure that i could get sound to work by replacing a couple of lib files or something but i have no idea where to go from here
 
Last edited:

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
3,748
4
1,546
I think building a new device tree or custom rom is not necessary because there are already custom roms available for the other identical models. I don't even have to port them to my Chinese model they are plug and play....sweet, right?

Now the only issue i faced is sound. there is no sound output whatsoever whether from speakers or headphones, however, Bluetooth headphones work....could it be due to different audio drivers?

I have extracted the android 3.2 stock firmware of my tablet and android ics 4 firmware of the other identical model which also boots and works perfectly except for sound. which files do I need to replace from stock to port in order for sound to work? and is there any way to debug the sound problem and find out which files are exactly causing the issue?

these tablets are the exact same and im pretty sure that i could get sound to work by replacing a couple of lib files or something but i have no idea where to go from here
This is exactly what I pointed out to that thread, not to port the ROM, completely, from zero but to see which files are related to which event (in this case sound stuff), what you are looking for is a part of porting ROMs guides here and there, also always it is recommendable start by porting the kernel from the boot image, this is, I could say mandatory in 99% of devices.
 

Fytdyh

Senior Member
Are Cricket phones generic Android devices fih devices manufactured by fih how come I can't find any fih devices in forums can any one lead menk. He direction of twrp for Cricket Dream 5 zip file
Threads are started by users. If there are no threads, it means that there are quite a few people using this device. Had to research this device myself, haven't heard of it before.
 

tchl

Senior Member
Nov 15, 2021
65
6
Bought an LG K40 off of eBay and theRE is a sticker on the back with the "IMEI" number. When I try to find the IMEI number inside the device through adb commands, system settings or using the dialpad it always comes back as NULL.

What is wrong with this phone?
 

DiamondJohn

Recognized Contributor
Aug 31, 2013
6,089
5,973
Sydney
I think building a new device tree or custom rom is not necessary because there are already custom roms available for the other identical models. I don't even have to port them to my Chinese model they are plug and play....sweet, right?

Now the only issue i faced is sound. there is no sound output whatsoever whether from speakers or headphones, however, Bluetooth headphones work....could it be due to different audio drivers?

I have extracted the android 3.2 stock firmware of my tablet and android ics 4 firmware of the other identical model which also boots and works perfectly except for sound. which files do I need to replace from stock to port in order for sound to work? and is there any way to debug the sound problem and find out which files are exactly causing the issue?

these tablets are the exact same and im pretty sure that i could get sound to work by replacing a couple of lib files or something but i have no idea where to go from here
You are contradicting yourself and thus setting yourself up for failure when you say "other identical models" It is not uncommon for manufacturers to use slightly different internals (for example sound chips) for different markets (ie nations). If that is the case, then the blobs (ie hardware drivers) for those chips will be different. And the fact you are having sdound problems kinda tells you there is incompatibility.
 

Droidriven

Senior Member
Jan 27, 2014
15,314
6
5,317
NC
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S III
HTC Thunderbolt
Bought an LG K40 off of eBay and theRE is a sticker on the back with the "IMEI" number. When I try to find the IMEI number inside the device through adb commands, system settings or using the dialpad it always comes back as NULL.

What is wrong with this phone?
It is possible that the previous owner did not pay their phone bill and the carrier blacklisted the IMEI of the device to prevent it from being activated then the seller sold the device to you knowing that the IMEI was blacklisted instead of paying their bill or accepting a loss.

Or, maybe the previous owner tried flashing or modifying the device and corrupted the IMEI then sold the device instead of accepting a loss.

Or, maybe the seller didn't know. I'm willing to bet they did know the IMEI was missing when they sold it, otherwise, they probably would have sold the device on a more reputable site. Ebay is not a good place to buy used devices, people get screwed all the time because there is no oversight, regulation or safeguards to prevent sellers from selling faulty merchandise under false pretenses. I suggest you use a reputable site such as Swappa.com to buy used devices.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mrrocketdog

Fytdyh

Senior Member
Got a MediaTek device running Android 4.1. Just to be sure, there is no way I can flash a stock rom using twrp? The USB port is broken, connects and disconnects quite often, so sp flash cant get a stable connection. And yes, I did try with other new cables. The phone port is at fault.

The phone is in a non booting situation, the problem resides with a missing build.prop. I ve got a backup build.prop stored on the microSD, seems I cannot move that to system. Any suggestions?
 

NebulaXD

Member
Dec 4, 2021
8
0
How can I flash my Nokia Lumia 630?

I tried on WPInternals, but it says:
Flash failed! Error 0x1106: Security header validation failed

I also tried THOR2, which also failed. It says:
Initiating FFU flash operation WinUSB in use. isDeviceInNcsdMode isDeviceInNcsdMode is false Device mode 6 Uefi mode [THOR2_flash_state] Pre-programming operations Disable timeouts Detecting UEFI responder Lumia UEFI Application did not respond to version info query Device is not in Lumia UEFI mode Device mode get failed, mode is 6 Connection lost, trying to re-connect Rebooting to the normal mode... Rebooting from the WP/MMOS failed. Operation took about 16.00 seconds. THOR2_ERROR_TO_COMMUNICATE_WITH_DEVICE THOR2 1.8.2.18 exited with error code 84102 (0x14886)

Can someone help me?
Anyone?
 

Sahib Abbas

Member
Dec 2, 2021
8
0
(disclaimer: direct me to the exact place to question if this isnt the right place).I have xperia xa2 (h3133). I have XperiFirm 5.6.2 (by Igor Eisberg). No matter how many times i try to download my firmware file,it says unpacked successful or something (cant remember at the moment) but there is no file in the result directory
 

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
3,748
4
1,546
(disclaimer: direct me to the exact place to question if this isnt the right place).I have xperia xa2 (h3133). I have XperiFirm 5.6.2 (by Igor Eisberg). No matter how many times i try to download my firmware file,it says unpacked successful or something (cant remember at the moment) but there is no file in the result directory
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sahib Abbas

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
3,748
4
1,546
Got a MediaTek device running Android 4.1. Just to be sure, there is no way I can flash a stock rom using twrp? The USB port is broken, connects and disconnects quite often, so sp flash cant get a stable connection. And yes, I did try with other new cables. The phone port is at fault.

The phone is in a non booting situation, the problem resides with a missing build.prop. I ve got a backup build.prop stored on the microSD, seems I cannot move that to system. Any suggestions?
You always can flash many images at partitions support your TWRP version, move/copy the images to your internal or SD Card and flash them from there. If the build.prop is the issue, and you can't reach system to replace the file probably due to the dynamical partitions' implementation you can try this https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/script-android-10-universal-mount-system-r-w-read-write.4247311/ or flash simply the system image.
 

Droidriven

Senior Member
Jan 27, 2014
15,314
6
5,317
NC
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S III
HTC Thunderbolt
Got a MediaTek device running Android 4.1. Just to be sure, there is no way I can flash a stock rom using twrp? The USB port is broken, connects and disconnects quite often, so sp flash cant get a stable connection. And yes, I did try with other new cables. The phone port is at fault.

The phone is in a non booting situation, the problem resides with a missing build.prop. I ve got a backup build.prop stored on the microSD, seems I cannot move that to system. Any suggestions?
There is more than one way to do this with what you have.

1) try using the terminal emulator that is built into TWRP and then use terminal commands to move the file from your sdcard to system. Terminal emulator uses the exact same commands as adb shell does, you just need to remove "adb shell" from the commands.

2) you can use your copy of build.prop to create a TWRP flashable .zip then flash it via TWRP, or, if you have an existing TWRP flashable .zip, you can remove everything from the .zip except for the META-inf folder then place your copy of build.prop in the zip then flash it via TWRP.

There are other ways as well but one of these should work for you.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: mrrocketdog

DiamondJohn

Recognized Contributor
Aug 31, 2013
6,089
5,973
Sydney
Got a MediaTek device running Android 4.1. Just to be sure, there is no way I can flash a stock rom using twrp? The USB port is broken, connects and disconnects quite often, so sp flash cant get a stable connection. And yes, I did try with other new cables. The phone port is at fault.

The phone is in a non booting situation, the problem resides with a missing build.prop. I ve got a backup build.prop stored on the microSD, seems I cannot move that to system. Any suggestions?
NINJA'D. You can make your own TWRP flashable zip with only a build prop file in it, and then dirty flash that zip.
 

dorkxperience

New member
Dec 7, 2021
4
0
i could use help on this too..was my kids phone..she doesnt remember the pw to bypass frp. i need to bypass frp..any suggestions?
No I don't. Sorry, I've never done that before . IDK no much about this phone I gave my buddy 5 bucks for it. It was his teen sons phone and they bought him a new one. I bought it Just so I could root it and have something to do. I'm not even going to get at&t service. Just Wi-Fi for this phone 😁 I'm sure someone on here can help though.
 

Sahib Abbas

Member
Dec 2, 2021
8
0
i have this already. used this software to download my firmware. although the software says its done but there is no file in the download directory
 

Top Liked Posts

  • 1
    Trying to find the appropriate place to post this question.
    Why are there no tweakable modem/tuner-recivier/ LTE-4G-5G-GSM-CDMA posts or questions?
    Seems to me tuneable connectivity would be a top priority to me? What good is a custom device if you can't dial it in to your providers network and transmission bands especially if you are traveling the world or just need to improve your reception and transmission in a weak area and so on ?
    There is little or no discussion here on this seemingly important topic...JS
    What you are asking about is "dialed in" by flashing a modem for your specific model number for your region/carrier(this configures the bands and network type to those used in/by the region/carrier the modem is made for) and/or by using a SIM provided by the mobile service provider.
  • 2
    Just to be sure and confirm i go to twrp-wipe - select cache and dalvik and wipe correct?
    I did that and then re downloaded titanium back up and it did not work ?

    i am running android 11 official havoc os, microg and magisk v23

    one more thing couple of days ago i downloaded the official twrp app through the store and it acted very weird would crash and whatnot and now i download titanium and it doesnt even want to open.

    I know for a fact it has worked on my phone when i installed it a couple of months ago
    Also, erase all the files and folders related to TB, install the TB add-on, it's the manager to get the app running well, don't forget to allow permissions when prompted.
    2
    Hi recently started building custom Roms I tried EvolutionX for RMX1851 and I found this error =

    Warning: An API level of 1000 is not supported by this compiler. Please use an API level of 32 or earlier
    13:52:22 ninja failed with: exit status 1

    How can I fix this error please explain it more depth cause i have no idea what to do thanks for your help
    You should get better spport on one of the ROM dev threads. Such as:

    On face value, I have never heard of any API 1000 (i think android is still in the 30's), so there appears to be something borked with your config or compile options.

    Also, as a general rule when posting loooong logs, you would be better off posting to a text hosting website such as https://freetexthost.net/n instead of expecting someone wishing to help, to scan through a screenshot.
    2
    Thanks for creating this thread!

    I just managed to flash my S10 with a stock rom using the advice on this forum (thanks all!). The thing is, I thought that flashing the CSC file (and not the HOME_CSC file) would effectively wipe my phone.

    I didn't get any errors and Odin gives me a Pass at the end, but when I reboot my phone, all my apps are still there. I've tried this several times, even trying the HOME_CSC once in case the files somehow were mislabeled.

    Is it possible that things didn't get wiped because the rom version I was flashing was the same version that is already on the phone?
    Yes, probably because you are flashing the same firmware as what you already had or maybe something to do with Factory Reset Protection or Mobile Device Manager preventing the wipe in order to prevent FRP lock when you reboot the device. If you want the device wiped after flashing, first, remove the Google account from the device then boot into recovery and factory reset the device from within recovery then reboot.
    1
    Trying to find the appropriate place to post this question.
    Why are there no tweakable modem/tuner-recivier/ LTE-4G-5G-GSM-CDMA posts or questions?
    Seems to me tuneable connectivity would be a top priority to me? What good is a custom device if you can't dial it in to your providers network and transmission bands especially if you are traveling the world or just need to improve your reception and transmission in a weak area and so on ?
    There is little or no discussion here on this seemingly important topic...JS
    What you are asking about is "dialed in" by flashing a modem for your specific model number for your region/carrier(this configures the bands and network type to those used in/by the region/carrier the modem is made for) and/or by using a SIM provided by the mobile service provider.
    1
    I want to do factory reset last if i got no other choice. I want to recover my files but i don't know if it's possible or not. Thanks anyway. Are there any other possible ways ?
    Not much you can do, wiping caches and dalvik would worth it the try (this won't delete your data), and the other thing is trying to find the exact build, you had previously to this, and flashing it again.

    Device refusing to boot, is most likely due an interference from the data not being formatting.
    Of course, this is discounting that you had any issues while updating, i.e. some partition from your device or some file from the update was corrupted, it seems nothing of that happened, otherwise you would receive an error update warning.
    The other reason could be the FRP protection, in some updates this is included as an extra measure from Google (in compliance with a vendor)
  • 389
    There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
    which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

    The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
    ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
    leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

    Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
    the direction where that user can find an answer
    and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
    point out where to find the answer.



    Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

    Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

    Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
    (coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
    and frustration it will save you in the future!



    No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
    NO TROLLING
    NO NAME CALLING
    NO RIDICULING
    NO FLAMING


    ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


    *A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


    HALL OF FAME

    People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
    problems/questions. In no particular order.

    Bruce Wayne
    post-mortem
    SilentStrider
    Ghostfreak NB
    mayank9856
    sgs22012
    Zatta
    ADDICT.ANK



    These people also have the right to use the banner below:
    Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


    Just add this code to your signature:
    HTML:
    [URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
    113
    Reserved

    Just a few words of advice on keeping this thread clean of unnecessary clutter:

    1. Before posting a question, it is highly recommended to read this thread.

    2. Click the Thanks button on the posts that helped you, instead of posting "Thanks". This helps other members in finding out the best replies that get buried in the thread.

    3. Do not use this thread to increase your post count! The Off-Topic forum is the place for that.

    4. Do a simple search of this thread before asking to see if your question has been asked previously.

    5. If your question has not received an answer after a few hours, please be patient. Someone will answer you shortly. If you do not get an answer in 24 hours, you may BUMP your post. If you still have no answer after a week, do mention me in your post.

    Thank you for your cooperation!
    26
    Good job mate, hopefully lots of members will find this thread very helpful :cool::good:
    12
    ZTE V970 Brick?

    Hi,

    I've been trying to install Bruno's ROM for this phone (cam with all chinese apps). http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1856578

    but have a big problem. I tried my best to follow the instructions but, really couldn't work out if I was doing things in the right order.. is there an actual step- by step for this procedure? I know I'm a noob and read this read that I am an idiot etc. etc. but I thought if I used to ROM on that page and the software recommended it would be easy.

    Here's what I did:

    Downloaded all the files as told.

    Tried to 'flash a custom recovery' as here http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    but it did not mention how to use the ZTE custom recovery file http://d-h.st/Vgt

    I'm also not sure at all that the 'MediaTek drivers' were installed properly. The phone never appeared in the Device manager.

    I opened SP flash tool and followed this: http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    and selected the 'scatter file' from the unzipped Bruno ROM (took a while to realise had to unzip it to get the file!!!)

    I noticed most of the boxes on the scatter file were unchecked but carried on and ignored a warning message about the phone may not be able to boot (the tutorial said to ignore it).

    I had to click 'download' then plug the phone in and eventually I got the red loading bar. This finished... then nothing else.. no purple bar.. nothing.

    So after waiting a few minutes I unplugged the phone.

    It now appears to be a total brick. What did I do wrong? Why no purple bar? Were the scatter items supposed to be unchecked? What was the 'custom recovery' file for? Because the SP flash prog never asked for it.

    Is there any point in trying it again or is the phone dead?

    Thanks for any help..

    Theo