• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!
Search This thread

immortalneo

Senior Member
Jan 25, 2011
4,423
1,950
Malappuram, Kerala
There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
the direction where that user can find an answer
and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
point out where to find the answer.



Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
(coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
and frustration it will save you in the future!



No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
NO TROLLING
NO NAME CALLING
NO RIDICULING
NO FLAMING


ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


*A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


HALL OF FAME

People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
problems/questions. In no particular order.

Bruce Wayne
post-mortem
SilentStrider
Ghostfreak NB
mayank9856
sgs22012
Zatta
ADDICT.ANK



These people also have the right to use the banner below:
Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


Just add this code to your signature:
HTML:
[URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
 
Last edited:

DiamondJohn

Recognized Contributor
Aug 31, 2013
5,857
5,699
Sydney
Strange question... What happens if you "delete" all system applications using adb?
Your phone stops working. Most system apps perform duties for the OS itself and are thus required and assumed to be present. A VERY simple example would be your launcher. With no launcher, there is nothing for you to interact with on start up.
 

tchl

Senior Member
Nov 15, 2021
65
6
Your phone stops working. Most system apps perform duties for the OS itself and are thus required and assumed to be present. A VERY simple example would be your launcher. With no launcher, there is nothing for you to interact with on start up.
Okay and if you factory reset it would all come back?
 

DiamondJohn

Recognized Contributor
Aug 31, 2013
5,857
5,699
Sydney
Okay and if you factory reset it would all come back?
I have almost always used customROMS, so not totally familiar with stock factory resets. However, my understanding of a factory reset (in recovery) is that clears your data partition, so if you modified / damaged your system partition, it remains damaged after a factory reset. You need to re-flash the ROM/firmware.
 
Last edited:

tchl

Senior Member
Nov 15, 2021
65
6
I have almost always used customROMS, so not totally familiar with stock factory resets. However, my understanding of a factory reset (in recovery) is that clears your data partition, so if you damaged / damaged your system partition, it remains damaged after a factory reset. You need to re-flash the ROM/firmware.
Thanks for the reply.
 

Droidriven

Senior Member
Jan 27, 2014
15,103
3
5,235
NC
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S III
HTC Thunderbolt
Okay and if you factory reset it would all come back?
No, anything removed or modified in the system partition will not revert to their previous state after a factory reset, factory reset doesn't even touch the system partition. Factory reset only wipes the data partition, the partition that your user installed apps, app/device settings, media files(music/photos/videos) and various other types of user data and files stored by the user are stored.
 

0lPlayerl0

Member
Nov 26, 2021
5
0
I strongly suggest you stop using this device. Google dropped support for it, the links are dead, almost every thread is dead, and at 512 MB of ram consider yourself lucky if basic functionality works, like calculator or calendar. Anything else, starting from internet browsing to gaming will not work. Best case scenario, use this as a live picture frame.
Ok thx
 

The Invizible

Member
Feb 28, 2017
29
2
Look into adb push

I dont remeember if your device was one of the other ones where its somehow broken, however, I use FTP Over WiFi to transfer files, using the brilliant file manager MiX

Building a new device tree is not for a noob.

I agree with most others in regards to theage of your device. I would kijelike to add a warning, with such an old device, you could end up spending a LOT of time & effort, only to have the physical device break the day after you get it working. Of course, you could be doing it for the challenge/hobby. Nearly all my phones I use until they physically die, and they are all MUCH younger than yours. Currently my spare / previous phone is from 2013 and its stumbling all over the place; and hence my upgrade.
Not sure if it is worth, but you may read this https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/...evices-small-update-as-of-10-13-2018.3481114/ anyway as the API level increase, the apps are dropping support to old Android versions, probably actually, MM is the most acceptable to run decently
I think building a new device tree or custom rom is not necessary because there are already custom roms available for the other identical models. I don't even have to port them to my Chinese model they are plug and play....sweet, right?

Now the only issue i faced is sound. there is no sound output whatsoever whether from speakers or headphones, however, Bluetooth headphones work....could it be due to different audio drivers?

I have extracted the android 3.2 stock firmware of my tablet and android ics 4 firmware of the other identical model which also boots and works perfectly except for sound. which files do I need to replace from stock to port in order for sound to work? and is there any way to debug the sound problem and find out which files are exactly causing the issue?

these tablets are the exact same and im pretty sure that i could get sound to work by replacing a couple of lib files or something but i have no idea where to go from here
 
Last edited:

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
3,395
3
1,441
I think building a new device tree or custom rom is not necessary because there are already custom roms available for the other identical models. I don't even have to port them to my Chinese model they are plug and play....sweet, right?

Now the only issue i faced is sound. there is no sound output whatsoever whether from speakers or headphones, however, Bluetooth headphones work....could it be due to different audio drivers?

I have extracted the android 3.2 stock firmware of my tablet and android ics 4 firmware of the other identical model which also boots and works perfectly except for sound. which files do I need to replace from stock to port in order for sound to work? and is there any way to debug the sound problem and find out which files are exactly causing the issue?

these tablets are the exact same and im pretty sure that i could get sound to work by replacing a couple of lib files or something but i have no idea where to go from here
This is exactly what I pointed out to that thread, not to port the ROM, completely, from zero but to see which files are related to which event (in this case sound stuff), what you are looking for is a part of porting ROMs guides here and there, also always it is recommendable start by porting the kernel from the boot image, this is, I could say mandatory in 99% of devices.
 

Fytdyh

Senior Member
Aug 17, 2015
439
127
Redmi Note 8 Pro
Are Cricket phones generic Android devices fih devices manufactured by fih how come I can't find any fih devices in forums can any one lead menk. He direction of twrp for Cricket Dream 5 zip file
Threads are started by users. If there are no threads, it means that there are quite a few people using this device. Had to research this device myself, haven't heard of it before.
 

tchl

Senior Member
Nov 15, 2021
65
6
Bought an LG K40 off of eBay and theRE is a sticker on the back with the "IMEI" number. When I try to find the IMEI number inside the device through adb commands, system settings or using the dialpad it always comes back as NULL.

What is wrong with this phone?
 

DiamondJohn

Recognized Contributor
Aug 31, 2013
5,857
5,699
Sydney
I think building a new device tree or custom rom is not necessary because there are already custom roms available for the other identical models. I don't even have to port them to my Chinese model they are plug and play....sweet, right?

Now the only issue i faced is sound. there is no sound output whatsoever whether from speakers or headphones, however, Bluetooth headphones work....could it be due to different audio drivers?

I have extracted the android 3.2 stock firmware of my tablet and android ics 4 firmware of the other identical model which also boots and works perfectly except for sound. which files do I need to replace from stock to port in order for sound to work? and is there any way to debug the sound problem and find out which files are exactly causing the issue?

these tablets are the exact same and im pretty sure that i could get sound to work by replacing a couple of lib files or something but i have no idea where to go from here
You are contradicting yourself and thus setting yourself up for failure when you say "other identical models" It is not uncommon for manufacturers to use slightly different internals (for example sound chips) for different markets (ie nations). If that is the case, then the blobs (ie hardware drivers) for those chips will be different. And the fact you are having sdound problems kinda tells you there is incompatibility.
 

Droidriven

Senior Member
Jan 27, 2014
15,103
3
5,235
NC
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S III
HTC Thunderbolt
Bought an LG K40 off of eBay and theRE is a sticker on the back with the "IMEI" number. When I try to find the IMEI number inside the device through adb commands, system settings or using the dialpad it always comes back as NULL.

What is wrong with this phone?
It is possible that the previous owner did not pay their phone bill and the carrier blacklisted the IMEI of the device to prevent it from being activated then the seller sold the device to you knowing that the IMEI was blacklisted instead of paying their bill or accepting a loss.

Or, maybe the previous owner tried flashing or modifying the device and corrupted the IMEI then sold the device instead of accepting a loss.

Or, maybe the seller didn't know. I'm willing to bet they did know the IMEI was missing when they sold it, otherwise, they probably would have sold the device on a more reputable site. Ebay is not a good place to buy used devices, people get screwed all the time because there is no oversight, regulation or safeguards to prevent sellers from selling faulty merchandise under false pretenses. I suggest you use a reputable site such as Swappa.com to buy used devices.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mrrocketdog

Fytdyh

Senior Member
Aug 17, 2015
439
127
Redmi Note 8 Pro
Got a MediaTek device running Android 4.1. Just to be sure, there is no way I can flash a stock rom using twrp? The USB port is broken, connects and disconnects quite often, so sp flash cant get a stable connection. And yes, I did try with other new cables. The phone port is at fault.

The phone is in a non booting situation, the problem resides with a missing build.prop. I ve got a backup build.prop stored on the microSD, seems I cannot move that to system. Any suggestions?
 

NebulaXD

Member
Dec 4, 2021
8
0
How can I flash my Nokia Lumia 630?

I tried on WPInternals, but it says:
Flash failed! Error 0x1106: Security header validation failed

I also tried THOR2, which also failed. It says:
Initiating FFU flash operation WinUSB in use. isDeviceInNcsdMode isDeviceInNcsdMode is false Device mode 6 Uefi mode [THOR2_flash_state] Pre-programming operations Disable timeouts Detecting UEFI responder Lumia UEFI Application did not respond to version info query Device is not in Lumia UEFI mode Device mode get failed, mode is 6 Connection lost, trying to re-connect Rebooting to the normal mode... Rebooting from the WP/MMOS failed. Operation took about 16.00 seconds. THOR2_ERROR_TO_COMMUNICATE_WITH_DEVICE THOR2 1.8.2.18 exited with error code 84102 (0x14886)

Can someone help me?
Anyone?
 

Sahib Abbas

Member
Dec 2, 2021
8
0
(disclaimer: direct me to the exact place to question if this isnt the right place).I have xperia xa2 (h3133). I have XperiFirm 5.6.2 (by Igor Eisberg). No matter how many times i try to download my firmware file,it says unpacked successful or something (cant remember at the moment) but there is no file in the result directory
 

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
3,395
3
1,441
(disclaimer: direct me to the exact place to question if this isnt the right place).I have xperia xa2 (h3133). I have XperiFirm 5.6.2 (by Igor Eisberg). No matter how many times i try to download my firmware file,it says unpacked successful or something (cant remember at the moment) but there is no file in the result directory
 
  • Like
Reactions: Sahib Abbas

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
3,395
3
1,441
Got a MediaTek device running Android 4.1. Just to be sure, there is no way I can flash a stock rom using twrp? The USB port is broken, connects and disconnects quite often, so sp flash cant get a stable connection. And yes, I did try with other new cables. The phone port is at fault.

The phone is in a non booting situation, the problem resides with a missing build.prop. I ve got a backup build.prop stored on the microSD, seems I cannot move that to system. Any suggestions?
You always can flash many images at partitions support your TWRP version, move/copy the images to your internal or SD Card and flash them from there. If the build.prop is the issue, and you can't reach system to replace the file probably due to the dynamical partitions' implementation you can try this https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/script-android-10-universal-mount-system-r-w-read-write.4247311/ or flash simply the system image.
 

Droidriven

Senior Member
Jan 27, 2014
15,103
3
5,235
NC
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S III
HTC Thunderbolt
Got a MediaTek device running Android 4.1. Just to be sure, there is no way I can flash a stock rom using twrp? The USB port is broken, connects and disconnects quite often, so sp flash cant get a stable connection. And yes, I did try with other new cables. The phone port is at fault.

The phone is in a non booting situation, the problem resides with a missing build.prop. I ve got a backup build.prop stored on the microSD, seems I cannot move that to system. Any suggestions?
There is more than one way to do this with what you have.

1) try using the terminal emulator that is built into TWRP and then use terminal commands to move the file from your sdcard to system. Terminal emulator uses the exact same commands as adb shell does, you just need to remove "adb shell" from the commands.

2) you can use your copy of build.prop to create a TWRP flashable .zip then flash it via TWRP, or, if you have an existing TWRP flashable .zip, you can remove everything from the .zip except for the META-inf folder then place your copy of build.prop in the zip then flash it via TWRP.

There are other ways as well but one of these should work for you.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: mrrocketdog

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 2
    Just the boot slot seems to be messed up from what I did, I am just unable to get into fastboot or BROM, the video posted seemed to match up I guess it is cycling through preloader but not properly?
    I saw in your video that you kept the device connected to the PC, and then you are trying to perform the combination buttons, but you have to disconnect it from the PC.

    It might be that your device is using the DA/SLA authentication, if this is the case you have to bypass the preloader stage allowing the device to boot properly to BROM mode, this is done by the mtk-bypass utility or the same by the tools provided in the Galaxy A Forum I linked previously. Or you can use this zip, unzip it in a convenient place.

    Device might be cycling as it is very unstable, just imagine and direct yourself the timing:
    - Connect one end of the USB cable to the PC.
    - Run the bypass.bat command and have the CMD opened.
    - Press the three buttons for about 10 seconds, this will power off the device.
    - Immediately, release the three buttons, and now, rapidly, press the two volume buttons and connect to the PC the other end of the USB cable. This is how it looks with my device connecting it...
    b1.pngb2.png
    This tool also added support for your processor https://androidfilehost.com/?fid=7161016148664809258
    2
    Hello guys,I was uninstalling some apps and accidently Asus launcher,Google Play and Play services etc got selected as well.While apps were getting uninstalled and downgraded,phone restarted somehow and everything is screwed up now.I am stuck on a screen telling “Can’t load Android System.Your data may be corrupt.If you continue to get this message, you may need to perform a factory data reset and erase all user data stored on this device” with 2 options underneath, 1.Try again and 2.Factory data reset

    When I select “Try again” it shows “ Dead android robot on his back and red triangle” for a split second and then goes to Asus logo screen for 5 seconds and then ask for encryption key, when I enter the key it goes to ASUS logo screen again for 30-40 seconds and again back to Error screen.

    Asus ZenFone 3 ZE552KL
    ROM : Stock Oreo Version WW-15.0410.1807.75
    Bootloader is Locked
    Recovery : Stock Recovery
    USB debugging : Disabled
    Android device encryption is ON


    I don’t wanna to lose my data coz there are some very important documents,projects reports, pictures and backups in it.

    Device is booting in Fastboot Mode and Recovery Mode.

    It even boots to the Sideload Mode via recovery and running "adb devices" command shows it attached with it's serial number and sideload but other commands don't work ( probably coz USB debugging is disabled ? )

    Device is being shown /listed in Fastboot Mode.

    I am unable to use adb as USB debugging is disabled.Running "adb devices " command shows device’s serial number and "recovery" written next to it ,in the command prompt.

    Will flashing Version WW-15.0410.1807.75 again do the job without wiping user data ? Just like “userdata” partition is not normally touched by the OTA update process ?

    How about flashing only boot.img / system.img ?Can we resolve the issue by just flashing just system.img or boot.img instead of flashing complete stock ROM ?

    I don't care about performance of the system or unpredicted issues later on,my entire focus is on preserving my data.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    If you can flash the same firmware version probably won't wipe data, usually it doesn't but no way to tell you for sure.
    Flashing by parts is not an option, your device is locked.
    1
    Hi,
    I am noob in android, but is not it possible to run twrp command like you would do regular app from adb?
    Code:
    adb.exe shell pm uninstall -k com.whatsapp

    so
    Code:
    adb root
    adb shell twrp format data
    ?
    something in that direction?
    Shell commands in TWRP are different to what can be run in the Android OS. TWRP is not running the full OS and so install and uninstall are some of the commands that will not run. The install/uninstall steps are within the OS. There are other commands that can only be run in recovery.
    1
    Hello. Not sure if I'm posting this in the correct area, but I have a few questions. I have not been involved with android for about 5 years but used to regularly root and rom my older android phones. I have been on Apple since then but am looking to switch back to android. My questions are which newer phone would you guys recommend with the most support for this? I also require one basic thing, I need to be able to bypass the hotspot check on the phone due to the area I live having zero internet options until Starlink is released in my area mid-2022. I currently run a jailbreak with tetherme and it works flawlessly but it is an iPhone 8 Plus. I know this was easily done in the past but don't see much on it here. Is there a way to enable this feature after rooting and rom like it used to be? (Hopefully it is ok to ask this question and doesn't break any rules, but if not I apologize and ask mods to remove this portion of my question). If anyone could point me in the right direction, that would be appreciated. Thank you!
    In this thread users use to answer this kind of questions https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/...martphone-what-should-i-buy.1620179/page-1016 personally I always choose a device that have at least 6 months (more or less) to have some spent time for development, then search for the model adding XDA to the searching key, and if there's something interesting then go for it, also if it is not a problematic device for example Realme devices that tend to brick easily. Pixel, Xiaomi, OnePlus and (only) some Samsung devices may be the candidates.
    1
    Hi, can anyone help with Gapps please?

    I have a Zebra TC51 and not having the login details of the google account originally registered with the device i could not get past the FRP so had to flash a stock non GMA AOSP rom from Zebra which brought the device to life but i obviously dont have access to the play store so i set about trying to get it on the device.

    First i tried manually installing Play services, account manager, play store ect using APK files but any files i tried resulted in the 'xxxxx' has stopped messages over and over so i am now trying to get a Gapps Zip on the device but that fails too :(

    I dont have root and i dont have a custom recovery, i have searched and i dont think TWRP or CWM exist for this device but the stock recovery does allow updates Via ADB which is what i have been trying.

    When i attempt to flash Gapps Via ADB, i get the error 'Failed to verify whole-file signature', i have tried 3 different Gapps Zips, all result in the same error.

    Am i doing something wrong or am i stuck without Gapps on this device?

    Thanks, Steve.View attachment 5490241
    The option to apply updates via adb only applies to stock updates. Gapps is not a stock update zip so it will not work via stock recovery, you will need TWRP and/or root. You say that there is not a CWM or TWRP for your device so you will have to try using a method that involves using adb with root permissions to install the apps in your Gapps zip file.
  • 384
    There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
    which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

    The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
    ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
    leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

    Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
    the direction where that user can find an answer
    and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
    point out where to find the answer.



    Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

    Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

    Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
    (coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
    and frustration it will save you in the future!



    No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
    NO TROLLING
    NO NAME CALLING
    NO RIDICULING
    NO FLAMING


    ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


    *A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


    HALL OF FAME

    People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
    problems/questions. In no particular order.

    Bruce Wayne
    post-mortem
    SilentStrider
    Ghostfreak NB
    mayank9856
    sgs22012
    Zatta
    ADDICT.ANK



    These people also have the right to use the banner below:
    Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


    Just add this code to your signature:
    HTML:
    [URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
    111
    Reserved

    Just a few words of advice on keeping this thread clean of unnecessary clutter:

    1. Before posting a question, it is highly recommended to read this thread.

    2. Click the Thanks button on the posts that helped you, instead of posting "Thanks". This helps other members in finding out the best replies that get buried in the thread.

    3. Do not use this thread to increase your post count! The Off-Topic forum is the place for that.

    4. Do a simple search of this thread before asking to see if your question has been asked previously.

    5. If your question has not received an answer after a few hours, please be patient. Someone will answer you shortly. If you do not get an answer in 24 hours, you may BUMP your post. If you still have no answer after a week, do mention me in your post.

    Thank you for your cooperation!
    26
    Good job mate, hopefully lots of members will find this thread very helpful :cool::good:
    12
    ZTE V970 Brick?

    Hi,

    I've been trying to install Bruno's ROM for this phone (cam with all chinese apps). http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1856578

    but have a big problem. I tried my best to follow the instructions but, really couldn't work out if I was doing things in the right order.. is there an actual step- by step for this procedure? I know I'm a noob and read this read that I am an idiot etc. etc. but I thought if I used to ROM on that page and the software recommended it would be easy.

    Here's what I did:

    Downloaded all the files as told.

    Tried to 'flash a custom recovery' as here http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    but it did not mention how to use the ZTE custom recovery file http://d-h.st/Vgt

    I'm also not sure at all that the 'MediaTek drivers' were installed properly. The phone never appeared in the Device manager.

    I opened SP flash tool and followed this: http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    and selected the 'scatter file' from the unzipped Bruno ROM (took a while to realise had to unzip it to get the file!!!)

    I noticed most of the boxes on the scatter file were unchecked but carried on and ignored a warning message about the phone may not be able to boot (the tutorial said to ignore it).

    I had to click 'download' then plug the phone in and eventually I got the red loading bar. This finished... then nothing else.. no purple bar.. nothing.

    So after waiting a few minutes I unplugged the phone.

    It now appears to be a total brick. What did I do wrong? Why no purple bar? Were the scatter items supposed to be unchecked? What was the 'custom recovery' file for? Because the SP flash prog never asked for it.

    Is there any point in trying it again or is the phone dead?

    Thanks for any help..

    Theo