Search This thread

immortalneo

Senior Member
Jan 25, 2011
4,409
1,954
Malappuram, Kerala
There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
the direction where that user can find an answer
and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
point out where to find the answer.



Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
(coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
and frustration it will save you in the future!



No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
NO TROLLING
NO NAME CALLING
NO RIDICULING
NO FLAMING


ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


*A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


HALL OF FAME

People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
problems/questions. In no particular order.

Bruce Wayne
post-mortem
SilentStrider
Ghostfreak NB
mayank9856
sgs22012
Zatta
ADDICT.ANK



These people also have the right to use the banner below:
Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


Just add this code to your signature:
HTML:
[URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
 
Last edited:

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
3,816
4
1,559
hey subway thanks for writing me. When you say "follow this thread", which thread are you talking about? In the thread i linked, it mentions holding both power buttons down and then connecting the usb cable. I tried that.
thank you for your help!!
Sorry for delay, I forgot the link https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/...india-6s-using-spflash-tool-for-free.4222027/, once you installed the Lib USB dev filter, then, pressing both volume buttons must work.
 

mstrnemo

Senior Member
Feb 1, 2021
154
17
What specific custom ROM do you currently have installed and what specific custom ROM are you wanting to update to? Depending on what you already have compared to what you want to install, you might not need to backup any data or wipe the device when you flash the ROM, you would just need to flash the ROM and Gapps for the ROM's android version without needing to factory reset or wipe the device after flashing. Commonly called a "dirty flash".

As for backing up your various data, there are adb commands for backing up whatever parts of data you want.

You can use "adb backup" commands to backup your user data such as user apps, app data, app settings, photos, videos, music, downloaded files and etc.. A simple Google for:

"ADB backup"

Should find a guide for you detailing exactly which commands to use to backup and restore your data via ADB backup/restore.

To backup/restore contacts, you can use "adb pull" and "adb push" commands. Do a Google search for:

"Backup contacts via ADB"

That should find a lot of links to pages explaing how to backup and restore contacts via adb.

Or, read through this to find a solution that works for you.

Thank you for your quik reply

I have a official havoc os android 11 and want to move to unofficial linage os android 12.

I dont want to dirty flash regardless if it was the same rom type because they always advice against it so why take the risk you know?

I currently don't have adb fastboot installed on my computer my computer scted weird and then i wiped it all and had some trouble setting it up the first 2 times i did this (one of the reasons i did multiple diffrent brand phones so had trouble with drivers....)
and now i want to switch to linux but first wanted to do my phone first.

that link you posted what kind of place was that lookd like gmail but diffrent?
 

Alex_x90

Member
May 14, 2018
11
1
On a kind of similar note to that previous question, I've been trying to do a backup w/ titanium backup today. For some reason when I try to do any action, it successfully executes the action and then crashes (which obviously makes batch actions impossible). Anyone have an idea of what might be going on? I know titanium backup works on my device since I've used it before and done several large batch backups a couple months back (and have generally used titanium on the device for probably 2 years now). I haven't updated the rom, kernel, or magisk since then so I'm at a loss for what could be causing the crashing. I've tried uninstalling/reinstalling the app and clearing cache/davik cache partitions.
 

Droidriven

Senior Member
Jan 27, 2014
15,404
9
5,349
NC
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S III
HTC Thunderbolt
Thank you for your quik reply

I have a official havoc os android 11 and want to move to unofficial linage os android 12.

I dont want to dirty flash regardless if it was the same rom type because they always advice against it so why take the risk you know?

I currently don't have adb fastboot installed on my computer my computer scted weird and then i wiped it all and had some trouble setting it up the first 2 times i did this (one of the reasons i did multiple diffrent brand phones so had trouble with drivers....)
and now i want to switch to linux but first wanted to do my phone first.

that link you posted what kind of place was that lookd like gmail but diffrent?
It was a Google question/answer board.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mstrnemo

mrrocketdog

Senior Member
Oct 27, 2013
4,903
2,269
i searched this thread without getting any applicable results although i'd bet $ this has been asked before :
i have a non-responsive galaxy s-4. well it turns on but with a black screen.
no key-combos seem to do anything.
is there some way , a program or something that will pull data (songs and pics) from it?
 
May 19, 2022
10
0

Droidriven

Senior Member
Jan 27, 2014
15,404
9
5,349
NC
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S III
HTC Thunderbolt
i searched this thread without getting any applicable results although i'd bet $ this has been asked before :
i have a non-responsive galaxy s-4. well it turns on but with a black screen.
no key-combos seem to do anything.
is there some way , a program or something that will pull data (songs and pics) from it?
Did you have USB debugging enabled? I assume the device is rooted? If both are yes, try this.


Or this


 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: mrrocketdog

Henki98

Senior Member
Nov 13, 2016
105
19
Realme GT 2 Pro
Hope it's not a stupid question. But I would like to understand why adopting a processor made by TSMC should lead to less thermal throttling respect a processor manufactured by Samsung. I would like to delve into the question and really understand what the problem is. Because as a noob I think that Samsung simply uses a very poor quality silicon. But it can't just be that, and as an noob I think it's the very structure of different processor. But as a stupid it seems impossible to me because an engineer at Samsung and an engineer at TSMC should have the same design skills, so realistically those who create processors or any other component for smartphones or PCs must use the same machines if not industries to produce the components. And among other things, I think that the structure of the processor cannot vary enormously, also because the design of the processor is studied by Qualcomm and the snap 8gen1 cannot differ enormously in structure by snap 8gen1 plus. Because it's just a plus ".

I hope I haven't asked too stupid a question but I would really like to understand why Qualcomm's latest processors suffer from thermal throttling. And it seems absurd to me that they simply pass by Samsung at TSMC solves this question.So I would like a satisfactory answer and I don't care if you get into complicated speeches that I wouldn't understand. Because I want to understand them thanks.
All of this angers me, because I wish the problem was simply software optimization.Because at least that can be bridged by smart amateur developers. But if the problem is technical and structural and Switching from Samsung to TSMC will upset things, honestly I it would make a lot of anger. Why is it wrong to play with customers' money.
 

mstrnemo

Senior Member
Feb 1, 2021
154
17
On a kind of similar note to that previous question, I've been trying to do a backup w/ titanium backup today. For some reason when I try to do any action, it successfully executes the action and then crashes (which obviously makes batch actions impossible). Anyone have an idea of what might be going on? I know titanium backup works on my device since I've used it before and done several large batch backups a couple months back (and have generally used titanium on the device for probably 2 years now). I haven't updated the rom, kernel, or magisk since then so I'm at a loss for what could be causing the crashing. I've tried uninstalling/reinstalling the app and clearing cache/davik cache partitions.
It seems you have jinxed me tried to download it today and when i open it keeps crashing ... looking at what we have in common it has to be magisk i think whas causing this?

edit: i just uninstalled magisk and reinstalled it didnt work titanium back up wont start up?
 
Last edited:

Droidriven

Senior Member
Jan 27, 2014
15,404
9
5,349
NC
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S III
HTC Thunderbolt
Hope it's not a stupid question. But I would like to understand why adopting a processor made by TSMC should lead to less thermal throttling respect a processor manufactured by Samsung. I would like to delve into the question and really understand what the problem is. Because as a noob I think that Samsung simply uses a very poor quality silicon. But it can't just be that, and as an noob I think it's the very structure of different processor. But as a stupid it seems impossible to me because an engineer at Samsung and an engineer at TSMC should have the same design skills, so realistically those who create processors or any other component for smartphones or PCs must use the same machines if not industries to produce the components. And among other things, I think that the structure of the processor cannot vary enormously, also because the design of the processor is studied by Qualcomm and the snap 8gen1 cannot differ enormously in structure by snap 8gen1 plus. Because it's just a plus ".

I hope I haven't asked too stupid a question but I would really like to understand why Qualcomm's latest processors suffer from thermal throttling. And it seems absurd to me that they simply pass by Samsung at TSMC solves this question.So I would like a satisfactory answer and I don't care if you get into complicated speeches that I wouldn't understand. Because I want to understand them thanks.
All of this angers me, because I wish the problem was simply software optimization.Because at least that can be bridged by smart amateur developers. But if the problem is technical and structural and Switching from Samsung to TSMC will upset things, honestly I it would make a lot of anger. Why is it wrong to play with customers' money.
It is a matter of differences in architecture and optimization along with differences in material and manufacturing process. Also, it may not even be a matter of hardware that is the cause of throttling, it could be built-in code throttling the CPU to keep temps down and increase the longevity of the device. It could also be a matter of built-in code being used for controlled, planned obscelecense over time to encourage the user to buy a new device.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mrrocketdog

DiamondJohn

Recognized Contributor
Aug 31, 2013
6,181
6,063
Sydney
Hope it's not a stupid question. But I would like to understand why adopting a processor made by TSMC should lead to less thermal throttling respect a processor manufactured by Samsung. I would like to delve into the question and really understand what the problem is. Because as a noob I think that Samsung simply uses a very poor quality silicon. But it can't just be that, and as an noob I think it's the very structure of different processor. But as a stupid it seems impossible to me because an engineer at Samsung and an engineer at TSMC should have the same design skills, so realistically those who create processors or any other component for smartphones or PCs must use the same machines if not industries to produce the components. And among other things, I think that the structure of the processor cannot vary enormously, also because the design of the processor is studied by Qualcomm and the snap 8gen1 cannot differ enormously in structure by snap 8gen1 plus. Because it's just a plus ".

I hope I haven't asked too stupid a question but I would really like to understand why Qualcomm's latest processors suffer from thermal throttling. And it seems absurd to me that they simply pass by Samsung at TSMC solves this question.So I would like a satisfactory answer and I don't care if you get into complicated speeches that I wouldn't understand. Because I want to understand them thanks.
All of this angers me, because I wish the problem was simply software optimization.Because at least that can be bridged by smart amateur developers. But if the problem is technical and structural and Switching from Samsung to TSMC will upset things, honestly I it would make a lot of anger. Why is it wrong to play with customers' money.
I think a big issue in the design of these small devices is dissipating the heat that is generated ins such a compact unit. If like a computer, fins and fans were able to be placed in/on the device, then thermal throttling would not be an issue. There have been many break-out ideas by one manufacturer or another that have managed to solve this issue. Some better than others.

On my desktop PC I have an overclocked CPU, and as such have a top of the line (near silent) cooling fan to compensate.

A few years back I had a phone that would get very hot during certain long processes, so I would place the phone on a stone surface or glass FACE DOWN, that made a huge difference, because the heat could be dissipated through the screen and soaked into the table. A shiny smooth surface is a poor dissipator of heat to the air, so its trapped and builds. In short, all devices generate heat, some devices dissipate it better.
 

emk2203

Member
Sep 2, 2011
19
4
My S10+ broke recently. It was a German phone with DBT firmware.

I was able to get a replacement, but the new one is a phone originally from Austria. I tried to reflash and reset it completely by downloading the newest DBT firmware and flashing it with ODIN. I used the CSC file (not HOME_CSC) for complete reset, but it still starts with the setup for Austria.

Is there anything I can do to have it behave like a genuine German-bought phone? Usually, it wouldn't matter much, but Samsung Pay isn't installable on the new phone because it is not from Germany.
 

Qbsoon

Member
Jul 20, 2016
10
0
Hi!
On my local market I see many used phones that were locked by carrier, because someone didn't paid all installments. They are cheap (like even 300$ for galaxy s21 ultra), so it'd be interesting to buy one and break this lock, but I don't know where to start and if it is even possible. I'm familiar with flashing and all of that, but with this meesage on-screen I propably can't do anything. I attached an example.
 

Attachments

  • 2905b6a14348b008803bbdd5691c.jpg
    2905b6a14348b008803bbdd5691c.jpg
    74.7 KB · Views: 7

mstrnemo

Senior Member
Feb 1, 2021
154
17
Hey guys

After downloading titanium back up whenever i try to open it it just crashes each time? i tried uninstalling magisk and reinstalling but this did not work ?
currently running magisk v23 and android 11 havoc.

any idea what could cause something like this ?
 

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
3,816
4
1,559
Hey guys

After downloading titanium back up whenever i try to open it it just crashes each time? i tried uninstalling magisk and reinstalling but this did not work ?
currently running magisk v23 and android 11 havoc.

any idea what could cause something like this ?
Try first uninstalling it, wiping all caches and dalvik, through recovery, then erase all the TB related files/folders from your internal and external directory.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mstrnemo

Fytdyh

Senior Member
Hi!
On my local market I see many used phones that were locked by carrier, because someone didn't paid all installments. They are cheap (like even 300$ for galaxy s21 ultra), so it'd be interesting to buy one and break this lock, but I don't know where to start and if it is even possible. I'm familiar with flashing and all of that, but with this meesage on-screen I propably can't do anything. I attached an example.
Don't buy something like this, because for sure you won't be able to unlock it. You need a working and resposive phone in order to unlock it and flash stuff. So unless you have an official Samsung terminal and account, don't buy those devices.
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 2
    A stupid question...why every support to roms, etc is on TELEGRAM? There are indeed FOSS alternatives like xmpp, wjhy stixcko to something cklosed and non free?
    1
    Hello, I'm more intrigued than desperate with my question. I come with a presupposition that Samsung devices are rather straightforward to put custom ROM into, it well avoids hardbricking and the support from the community is very wide, although much is complicated by Knox, which has to be tripped. I might be wrong, I'd appreciate correcting if that's the case. Is there any other brand which comes close to this, maybe even better?
    Thank you.
    Google phones. Its in their interest. My old Nexus 5 had unbelievable dev support. My current P4A is not as supported as the old Nexus 5, but there iis still plenty of stuff around. When I had a Samsung, I alwys looked to the Pixel phones to see what could be done on mine. For example, I used my Nexus 5 to test ROMs before I transferred and recompiled them fo my Samsung S5 GT-I9506. Yes it was old, but I only upgraded about 18m ago. when my S4 got flakey. Samsung had more hoops to jump through compared to the Google device. eg Google devices use Fastboot to flash ROMs while sammsung inbvolves using ODIN; and I found some inconsistencies inn useage between versions. Fastboot are just text commands which are easily to document, what button to press on which version of ODIN can be troublesome.
    1
    Oh yea, I switched from S4 last july (unfortunately, I let myself be talked into A series phone, for which the support isn't that great). Apart from the power button breaking repeatedly, it was a decent phone!
    Thank you for the answer with Google phones, I thought those would be very modular! How about some of the lower price margin brands?
    Also, when it comes to ODIN, isn't it the reason why are the phones so hard to brick? I might be really wrong but this was a belief I've held for some time now. I know that when a phone started bootlooping after a unsuccessful flash, it would default itself into download mode after a while, which I found quite satisfying
    I cant say I have actually heard of a Nexus 5 or a Pixel 4A being hard bricked; im sure it happens, but its not in your face everywhere. Normally a flash back of the original firmware gets you up and running after a soft brick on pixel device. However, to be clear, the Nexus 5 was built sooooo poorly. The N5 is basically an S4 in cheaper clothing (compare the specs), and you can see just how badly they were built/designed. I had both mine apart. When you go on eBay and look for a 2nd hand one, most have a cracked screen or a dodgy power button (just search for the 000s of YT clips how to "fix"). There is NO physical/mechanical support on large areas of the thin screen (bottom chin); unlike the S4, that has the electronics board supporting the whole screen area. Anyway, enough on that rant.

    So I started with the N5 as it was so cheap second hand, and then got an S4 when I realised I needed an SD Card; and the prices also had came down; 2nd hand.

    Ironically, a few years ago when the Samsung S10e came out I lusted after that phone, but it was over AUD $1K! I could not justify that cost, when I paid <100 for the S4. When the Pixel 4A came out, it was around/under the AUD $400 AAAAND it was basically a poor-mans S10e; plastic back, no SDCard (but it had 128GB internally) etc etc etc So I stopped lusting aftre the S10e and got a Pixel 4A; also because I knew the dev would be more extensive than on a Samsung. So my P4A is the cheap S10e 😜 My last few phones have been cheap versions of Samsungs.

    Also, all the cheaper phones I saw were considerably physically bigger, so I do not know of many other phones. The form factor of the P4A was a big driver; and its price 2 specs pricing. So I cant help you suggesting another phone. There is a thread on XDA specifically for suggesting/getting suggestions of your next device. My Mother has (I think) a Nokia 7.2 and my father has a sammy a50 (or something). Both are oversized, and I noticed last time I visited them (and fixed/sorted their phones, the sammy software was behind the features of the Nokia, which were more inline with my Pixel.

    1
    Just installed AOSP PixelPlus UI, (android 11) on my Nokia x6.

    I love that ROM's speed and flexibility. Yet, it comes loaded wiht google apps, including stuff I would never use such as "Google photos", "Google File browser" and "Google assistant" bar of annoyance.

    I have full adb/fastboot stack on the PC and unlocked bootloader on the phone. Any way to nuke the google apps that came with the ROM and flash the nano openGApps? Or at least disable the ever-annoying autoupdates of everything (built-in google is shameless enough to pull app updates over 4g). Hopefully without breaking the offline speech-to-text recognition, that feature is lit.
    Search for other vanilla build ROM, PixelPlus UI it's, as the name suggests, all about Google...

    Or, if you are rooted, then go for them, browse the root directories, and delete, carefully, the apps you don't like.
    1
    A stupid question...why every support to roms, etc is on TELEGRAM? There are indeed FOSS alternatives like xmpp, wjhy stixcko to something cklosed and non free?
    Because the idiots of the world prefer to use social media style platforms instead of forum style platforms. They like being distracted by clickbait, nonsense posts, other people's drama and scammers instead of being logical and using a platform that focuses on a specific purpose with purpose focused rules and purpose focused content expectations.

    You know how people are, they never want information straight from the horse's mouth, they want to know what she said, he said about what the horse said. That and most aren't technically minded enough to understand a lot of what is in technical places like XDA so they go to places like Telegram because they need information from places like XDA to be dumbed down for them by people that they hope/think understands the technical information from places like XDA. That is convenient, which is what society wants, but, the problem with that is alot of the people that come to places like XDA then go to places like Telegram usually lose something in translation, especially after getting passed around from person to person on those platforms. We are all familiar with the game where you line a lot of people up then whisper a message in the ear of the person in the front then pass the message from person to person, when it gets to the end the message has morphed into something that is not even remotely accurate to the original message.
  • 390
    There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
    which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

    The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
    ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
    leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

    Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
    the direction where that user can find an answer
    and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
    point out where to find the answer.



    Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

    Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

    Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
    (coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
    and frustration it will save you in the future!



    No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
    NO TROLLING
    NO NAME CALLING
    NO RIDICULING
    NO FLAMING


    ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


    *A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


    HALL OF FAME

    People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
    problems/questions. In no particular order.

    Bruce Wayne
    post-mortem
    SilentStrider
    Ghostfreak NB
    mayank9856
    sgs22012
    Zatta
    ADDICT.ANK



    These people also have the right to use the banner below:
    Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


    Just add this code to your signature:
    HTML:
    [URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
    113
    Reserved

    Just a few words of advice on keeping this thread clean of unnecessary clutter:

    1. Before posting a question, it is highly recommended to read this thread.

    2. Click the Thanks button on the posts that helped you, instead of posting "Thanks". This helps other members in finding out the best replies that get buried in the thread.

    3. Do not use this thread to increase your post count! The Off-Topic forum is the place for that.

    4. Do a simple search of this thread before asking to see if your question has been asked previously.

    5. If your question has not received an answer after a few hours, please be patient. Someone will answer you shortly. If you do not get an answer in 24 hours, you may BUMP your post. If you still have no answer after a week, do mention me in your post.

    Thank you for your cooperation!
    27
    Good job mate, hopefully lots of members will find this thread very helpful :cool::good:
    12
    ZTE V970 Brick?

    Hi,

    I've been trying to install Bruno's ROM for this phone (cam with all chinese apps). http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1856578

    but have a big problem. I tried my best to follow the instructions but, really couldn't work out if I was doing things in the right order.. is there an actual step- by step for this procedure? I know I'm a noob and read this read that I am an idiot etc. etc. but I thought if I used to ROM on that page and the software recommended it would be easy.

    Here's what I did:

    Downloaded all the files as told.

    Tried to 'flash a custom recovery' as here http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    but it did not mention how to use the ZTE custom recovery file http://d-h.st/Vgt

    I'm also not sure at all that the 'MediaTek drivers' were installed properly. The phone never appeared in the Device manager.

    I opened SP flash tool and followed this: http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    and selected the 'scatter file' from the unzipped Bruno ROM (took a while to realise had to unzip it to get the file!!!)

    I noticed most of the boxes on the scatter file were unchecked but carried on and ignored a warning message about the phone may not be able to boot (the tutorial said to ignore it).

    I had to click 'download' then plug the phone in and eventually I got the red loading bar. This finished... then nothing else.. no purple bar.. nothing.

    So after waiting a few minutes I unplugged the phone.

    It now appears to be a total brick. What did I do wrong? Why no purple bar? Were the scatter items supposed to be unchecked? What was the 'custom recovery' file for? Because the SP flash prog never asked for it.

    Is there any point in trying it again or is the phone dead?

    Thanks for any help..

    Theo