Search This thread

immortalneo

Senior Member
Jan 25, 2011
4,409
1,959
Malappuram, Kerala
There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
the direction where that user can find an answer
and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
point out where to find the answer.



Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
(coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
and frustration it will save you in the future!



No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
NO TROLLING
NO NAME CALLING
NO RIDICULING
NO FLAMING


ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


*A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


HALL OF FAME

People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
problems/questions. In no particular order.

Bruce Wayne
post-mortem
SilentStrider
Ghostfreak NB
mayank9856
sgs22012
Zatta
ADDICT.ANK



These people also have the right to use the banner below:
Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


Just add this code to your signature:
HTML:
[URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
 
Last edited:
Yeah once again I have seemingly painted myself into a corner where not having the right tools or whatever specific thing I need to do down a path that no one else has taken or at least documented but I think this is possible although that's me kind of just guessing what little bit of information I've been able to find and cobble together
 
Last edited:

Madara_96

Member
Jul 2, 2022
5
0
Hi everyone my Proximity Sensor is Damage so i want to Freeze it value at 5 , i tried an Xposed module it working but it need to be reactivated after each reboot and it not stable , my question is how can i Freeze it by myself manually to stay at the value 5 forever , thanks .
Redmi Note 8 Pro MiUi 12.0.7 / Rooted
 

Attachments

  • IMG-20220702-WA0011.jpg
    IMG-20220702-WA0011.jpg
    62.6 KB · Views: 9
Last edited by a moderator:

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
3,899
4
1,597
Hi everyone my Proximity Sensor is Damage so i want to Freeze it value at 5 , i tried an Xposed module it working but it need to be reactivated after each reboot and it not stable , my question is how can i Freeze it by myself manually to stay at the value 5 forever , thanks .
Redmi Note 8 Pro MiUi 12.0.7 / Rooted
You can disable the option in incoming calls, also you can try to fix it through engineer mode, in case it's not a hardware issue.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Madara_96

plegdroid

Recognized Contributor
Sep 15, 2011
5,164
20,192
Manchester, UK
  • Like
Reactions: mrrocketdog

SultanGris

Member
Mar 8, 2013
20
0
Samsung wallet sucks, I can't get it to work without giving it my biometrics and I'm not going to do that. How can I go back to Samsung pay and get that to work again or get rid of Samsung completely and make Google pay work with the swipe up on my Galaxy Note 20 Ultra? Thanks
 

Madara_96

Member
Jul 2, 2022
5
0
You can disable the option in incoming calls, also you can try to fix it through engineer mode, in case it's not a hardware issue.
Yes thank but i have disable it during calls but in WhatsApp or Telegram this option is not available im still having this problem , i have tried CIT app and it shows the sensor switching between 0 and 5 all the time without any interaction , im sure it a hardware issue , Do you know how can i disable it forever ?
 

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
3,899
4
1,597
Yes thank but i have disable it during calls but in WhatsApp or Telegram this option is not available im still having this problem , i have tried CIT app and it shows the sensor switching between 0 and 5 all the time without any interaction , im sure it a hardware issue , Do you know how can i disable it forever
Then, there's no option to disable it through MTK/CIT engineer mode.
Not all apps use really the proximity sensor, but the front camera.
If you are rooted, there is a module that can disable it, through LSPosed, I'm also pretty sure that some ADB command may work.
 

temp8799

New member
Jul 7, 2022
3
0
I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to customizing my phone via recovery and stuff. I know the basic stuff so as to how to install custom ROMs or gaining root access.

I know that LazyFlasher is needed if you're going to flash MIUI after installing TWRP.

But I'm looking for answers to these questions:
  1. Difference between lazyflasher-no-verity-opt-encrypt.zip, no-verity-opt-encrypt and no-verity-force-encrypt. (If there is any other variant then please include that in your answer)
  2. Can I flash any version on any device when it is needed or is it device specific?
  3. Is there any official website?
  4. When to flash the file?
I own multiple Xiaomi devices so answers to these questions will be helpful.
 

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
3,899
4
1,597
I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to customizing my phone via recovery and stuff. I know the basic stuff so as to how to install custom ROMs or gaining root access.

I know that LazyFlasher is needed if you're going to flash MIUI after installing TWRP.
Actually, this is not true, I can't sure the exact version when this solution was not needed anymore but since 2 years that I don't use it, some TWRP are capable to do what the most of the users need, and specially others custom recoveries based on TWRP like SHR or OFR, although DM-verity is a set (or was) of various solutions in one zip, just interchanging the names, also the Magisk releases since years, do the same for what they were intended to perform.
But I'm looking for answers to these questions:
  1. Difference between lazyflasher-no-verity-opt-encrypt.zip, no-verity-opt-encrypt and no-verity-force-encrypt. (If there is any other variant then please include that in your answer)
Lazy flasher is slightly different, it's basic, and there were many variants depending on the device, DM-verity was a most universal solution though.
  1. Can I flash any version on any device when it is needed or is it device specific?
  2. Is there any official website?
  3. When to flash the file?
I own multiple Xiaomi devices so answers to these questions will be helpful.
When needed, DM-verity worked on almost any device, I used Lazy Flasher just for MM and Nougat. I used to accept modification onto the device, avoiding enter to bootloop (at the final round of flashing), Here you have the XDA site for DM-verity https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/...ncrypt-disk-quota-disabler-11-2-2020.3817389/ and here something about Lazy Flasher https://github.com/jcadduono/lazyflasher
 

fonzacus

Senior Member
Jun 23, 2016
273
44
31
30 Seconds From Mars
Xiaomi Redmi 8
what happens if this continues?
so i was playing around by adding these to my host list and this was the 1st time ive seen it.

127.0.0.1 cache1.googlezip.net
127.0.0.1 ota.googlezip.net
127.0.0.1 ota-cache.googlezip.net
127.0.0.1 ota-cache1.googlezip.net

im not a noob when it comes to droids (~10ys) nor pcs (~20ys), but im curious whatre the aftereffects of just ignoring it? the on screen notification came from gplayservice IIRC

what im curious about are skynet related since im on nusantara a11 mi439 (redmi 8 olive) ofi.
will it fail (revoke certification)?
will other apps notice?

it was a PITA to get the certified status. its been a few days since that happened again, and id rather still havem blocked. yep ive been hit with overcharges in the past mainly due to android updater deciding to update GBs over data outside and not on wifi at home
(╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻
its been a month after this message started popping up weekly, so far so good. nothing major happened like skynet being not a ok etc

hopefully someone else can chime in

note, i dont need security. im old, the user is the 1st and best antimalware there is
 
Hi guys, I have a SM-G780G (s20 fe snapdragon) with Android 12. I'd like to know if just by modifying the apexd binary in /system/bin, it could be possible for the apex files to be installed at boot regardless their signature.

I have understood the APEX file format was introduced in Android 10, and that the apexd binary is responsible for verifying, installing and uninstalling .apex files at boot.

I was told that, because of those .apex, it's not possible to completely disable signature verification. Before android 10, you could fully disable this by just editing services.jar.

But now, that deactivation is only partial and apparently, the rest of the signature verification is in a core-oj.jar inside com.android.art.apex, which will give you an instant brick in any attempt of modifying it (the signature changes and that .apex must be loaded).

So... If we could modify that binary to later edit com.android.art.apex and completely disable signature verification, we could use any signature and modify any apk we want (secsettings, framework-res, smartmanager, etc) without any rejects from system that causes errors when using a modified version, am I right?

By the way, I've looked for info about apexd and found this that seems to be its source code, written in C++, is it?: https://android.googlesource.com/platform/system/apex/+/refs/heads/master/apexd

Though I don't know if it'd work for a custom UI like OneUI, maybe they didn't bother on putting their code, maybe they did, well...
 
Last edited:

ManoharMaddineni

Senior Member
Aug 3, 2013
58
12
Vijayawada

Anybody know the exact app used to get telemetry of device in screenshots?​

Before somebody tells me, yes I did check the developer options, I could only find an fps counter, nothing else. (no gpuwatch) PS.I'm using an LG wing, so, no root. The pictures were taken from videos published right after they were launched, so, the phones is the screenshot are not rooted afaik
Device : Z Fold, Redmi Note 11s
From : InfoFull youtube channel
[Look at top left corner]
 

Attachments

  • xiaomi-redmi-note-11s (1).png
    xiaomi-redmi-note-11s (1).png
    1.3 MB · Views: 13
  • 0JNSFII - Imgur.jpg
    0JNSFII - Imgur.jpg
    125.6 KB · Views: 12

Biggfoott

New member
Jul 7, 2022
1
0
Just bought a used Xiaomi Poco M3 phone. Trying to unlock the boot loader and got to the step of Mi Unlock Status. It is telling me to insert SIM card and try again. My question is, Does it matter which type of SIM card I purchase? I was planning to purchase a cheap $10 1 month plan and SIM card. For example, could I purchase a Tello 1Gb prepaid SIM card powered by T Mobile and proceed with no issues after? Or are there other certain requirements when it comes to unlocking the sim card? Thank you in advance. I’m in the US if that matters.
 

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
3,899
4
1,597
Just bought a used Xiaomi Poco M3 phone. Trying to unlock the boot loader and got to the step of Mi Unlock Status. It is telling me to insert SIM card and try again. My question is, Does it matter which type of SIM card I purchase? I was planning to purchase a cheap $10 1 month plan and SIM card. For example, could I purchase a Tello 1Gb prepaid SIM card powered by T Mobile and proceed with no issues after? Or are there other certain requirements when it comes to unlocking the sim card? Thank you in advance. I’m in the US if that matters.
To unlock bootloader, you need to enable mobile data, and switch off, the WiFi, it doesn't matter which kind of SIM card you use to do so or you think to use once the bootloader gets unlocked.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Biggfoott

fonzacus

Senior Member
Jun 23, 2016
273
44
31
30 Seconds From Mars
Xiaomi Redmi 8
Just bought a used Xiaomi Poco M3 phone. Trying to unlock the boot loader and got to the step of Mi Unlock Status. It is telling me to insert SIM card and try again. My question is, Does it matter which type of SIM card I purchase? I was planning to purchase a cheap $10 1 month plan and SIM card. For example, could I purchase a Tello 1Gb prepaid SIM card powered by T Mobile and proceed with no issues after? Or are there other certain requirements when it comes to unlocking the sim card? Thank you in advance. I’m in the US if that matters.
for xiaomi phones id rec your main (#1 sim) to not be a fake, as it might cause headaches later on
if you take a look at your manual, the main sim should be
inserted in slot 1
linked to your mi account
have an active data plan

login with your account in both the unlock tool and i.mi.com
locate your device
proceed to unlocking guide
 

lfad

Member
Jul 12, 2022
8
0
1. Settings -> system -> about phone (tap 7x) => now a developer -> attach phone with usb cable to desktop
2.Downloaded platform-tools_r33.0.2-linux.zip on desktop
3.Unpacked and opened command line in platform-tools directory
4.adb start-server
5.adb devices
List of devices attached is empty

Am i following the wrong guides ? What is the correct way to attach devices ?
 

fonzacus

Senior Member
Jun 23, 2016
273
44
31
30 Seconds From Mars
Xiaomi Redmi 8
1. Settings -> system -> about phone (tap 7x) => now a developer -> attach phone with usb cable to desktop
2.Downloaded platform-tools_r33.0.2-linux.zip on desktop
3.Unpacked and opened command line in platform-tools directory
4.adb start-server
5.adb devices
List of devices attached is empty

Am i following the wrong guides ? What is the correct way to attach devices ?
most mainstream linux distros ive tried had builtin android drivers in adb and fastb mode, if not then theres usual an error message that tells us to install something else
if youre using it from within the directory, prepend the command with dot+slash to ensure this dir gets 1st priority

FTR, dot+slash in most OSs = this directory, so try
./adb devices
BTW using devices autostarts the server so no need to type it

UPD
also needs usb debugging within dev opts
 

Droidriven

Senior Member
Jan 27, 2014
15,532
11
5,390
NC
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S III
HTC Thunderbolt
1. Settings -> system -> about phone (tap 7x) => now a developer -> attach phone with usb cable to desktop
2.Downloaded platform-tools_r33.0.2-linux.zip on desktop
3.Unpacked and opened command line in platform-tools directory
4.adb start-server
5.adb devices
List of devices attached is empty

Am i following the wrong guides ? What is the correct way to attach devices ?
What mode do you have the device booted into when you connect the device to adb and type the "adb devices" command? System? Recovery? You can't connect to adb while in fastboot mode.

You enabled developer options but did you open developer options and enable the USB debugging setting?

Have you installed the USB drivers for your device?

Are you using Linux or Windows?

Are you cetain that your USB cable is not damaged?

Are you certain that your device's USB port is not damaged?
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: mrrocketdog

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 2
    Any way to restore Messages after wiping with TWRP?

    Pixel 3 rooted with Magisk. Was playing around and messed it up royally. Would only boot to a blank white screen that stayed on for a second.
    So, I used TWRP to Wipe/Factory Reset. Now setting up phone again. Photos did not get wiped, so that's good.
    I have backups of EVERYTHING from a couple of months ago (including Messages), but is there any way to get all of them back from the phone storage? Not a huge loss if I cannot, but I would prefer it.
    Thanks!
    If you mean standard text messages, probably no but maybe yes. If you mean WhatsApp or other social media messages, probably yes but maybe no.

    If the device is rooted, there are many data recovery tools to achieve this with root. Or you can try DiskDigger or Easus data recovery.
    1
    Here are the device details :
    Asus ZenFone 3 ZE552KL
    ROM : Stock Oreo Version WW-15.0410.1807.75
    Recovery : Stock Recovery
    Bootloader is Locked
    USB debugging : Disabled
    Android device encryption is ON


    Yes, we can restore partitions using QFIL or EDL but how to start the device in the first place ? It's still stuck in bootloop.Unlocking the bootloader will wipe out all the data which I want to retrieve.
    You have to search in this tool, if it has an option to back up your data, if it can do it, after that, probably you need to format data, in order to can boot, I don't know what your issue was prior to this bootloop happened, it may depend on what caused it, also, flashing again the stock ROM, may fix it, and once you can boot normally, then you can restore that data that you backed up.
    1
    newbie question.

    Can the stock kernel with stock rom be overclocked?

    Thanks.
    Not likely. To overclock a kernel you need to make modification to the source. I dont think any manufacturer would have those changes. It puts the device at risk, which would risk them having to replace under warranty.
    1
    Many thanks, There is no later update from Archos which I assume would therefore mean finding a customised ROM such as LineageOS to get a later OS?
    If one exists for your model number. If it doesn't, the best you could hope for is building it for yourself for your specific model number if the source code for your model number is available to the public or port an existing LineageOS ROM from a device that has the same hardware specs as your device, if there even is a Lineage ROM for a similar device.

    Either way, neither building your own from source or porting an existing ROM will be easy for the uninitiated.
    1
    1. Yes. Apparently nobody ever had this problem
    2. Device reboots instantly, cant access any of the data
    3. Both a/b partitions are wiped before every install
    4. Tried reformatting to 3.5gb sys/1gb vendor and 4.5gb sys/1gb vendor
    5. Ex4 is the expected fs, other throw an error at the start of the flashing
    6. Today I;ve managed to flash and boot HAvocOS
    7. This is something I do not know how to do ;(
    ...snip...
    2. On a failed boot, go into TWRP, and the file will be accessible there. And it will have the previous failed boot, so the ROM attempt and not the boot to TWRP. Its whole purpose is based on that feature. If your ROM supports it, its THE thing to debug boot issues. I have seen its support/implementation fade in newer android versions.

    Another thing I have stumbled on recently which pumps out a HEAP of info during/about the boot is a "boot chart". I just recently found it, and it has a LOT of info, but to be honest, it wasnt the clear boot log/process of last_kmsg. In TWRP create a folder at /data/bootchart and place a file at /data/bootchart/enabled (0 length) Then boot, go back to TWRP, and there should be about 6MB of text logs at /data/bootchart
    Code:
    mkdir -p /data/bootchart;
    touch /data/bootchart/enabled;

    3. I dont think A/B partitions have ALL the partitions duped. I dont have much experience with A/B, my current devices is one :confused:. However, I have read posts of people who have had issues when they do not flash the exact same firmware to both partitions.

    7 To get yours is pretty easy, on a running ROM. And these values should be the same for any ROM running on that device, as flashing ROMs do not normally change them. I am also assuming you are rooted.
    Code:
    getprop | grep -e '\.model' -e '\.version.sdk' -e '\.manufacturer' -e '\.hardware]' -e '\.platform' -e '\.revision' -e '\.serialno' -e '\.product.name' -e '\.brand' -e '\.bootloader' -e '\.version\.baseband' -e 'ril\.sw_ver' -e 'ro.build.version.security_patch' -e 'ro.build.fingerprint' -e "ro.build.ab_update" -e "ro.treble.enabled";
    Or you can use the app GUI I have created, TeMeFI , and can find the method in the menu under: Current State>Get Selected Properties
    After getting those results, you should check what someone else with a working ROM install has, or ask the dev on the thread what is the expected values for BOOT & MODEM
  • 393
    There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
    which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

    The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
    ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
    leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

    Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
    the direction where that user can find an answer
    and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
    point out where to find the answer.



    Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

    Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

    Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
    (coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
    and frustration it will save you in the future!



    No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
    NO TROLLING
    NO NAME CALLING
    NO RIDICULING
    NO FLAMING


    ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


    *A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


    HALL OF FAME

    People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
    problems/questions. In no particular order.

    Bruce Wayne
    post-mortem
    SilentStrider
    Ghostfreak NB
    mayank9856
    sgs22012
    Zatta
    ADDICT.ANK



    These people also have the right to use the banner below:
    Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


    Just add this code to your signature:
    HTML:
    [URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
    114
    Reserved

    Just a few words of advice on keeping this thread clean of unnecessary clutter:

    1. Before posting a question, it is highly recommended to read this thread.

    2. Click the Thanks button on the posts that helped you, instead of posting "Thanks". This helps other members in finding out the best replies that get buried in the thread.

    3. Do not use this thread to increase your post count! The Off-Topic forum is the place for that.

    4. Do a simple search of this thread before asking to see if your question has been asked previously.

    5. If your question has not received an answer after a few hours, please be patient. Someone will answer you shortly. If you do not get an answer in 24 hours, you may BUMP your post. If you still have no answer after a week, do mention me in your post.

    Thank you for your cooperation!
    27
    Good job mate, hopefully lots of members will find this thread very helpful :cool::good:
    12
    ZTE V970 Brick?

    Hi,

    I've been trying to install Bruno's ROM for this phone (cam with all chinese apps). http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1856578

    but have a big problem. I tried my best to follow the instructions but, really couldn't work out if I was doing things in the right order.. is there an actual step- by step for this procedure? I know I'm a noob and read this read that I am an idiot etc. etc. but I thought if I used to ROM on that page and the software recommended it would be easy.

    Here's what I did:

    Downloaded all the files as told.

    Tried to 'flash a custom recovery' as here http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    but it did not mention how to use the ZTE custom recovery file http://d-h.st/Vgt

    I'm also not sure at all that the 'MediaTek drivers' were installed properly. The phone never appeared in the Device manager.

    I opened SP flash tool and followed this: http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    and selected the 'scatter file' from the unzipped Bruno ROM (took a while to realise had to unzip it to get the file!!!)

    I noticed most of the boxes on the scatter file were unchecked but carried on and ignored a warning message about the phone may not be able to boot (the tutorial said to ignore it).

    I had to click 'download' then plug the phone in and eventually I got the red loading bar. This finished... then nothing else.. no purple bar.. nothing.

    So after waiting a few minutes I unplugged the phone.

    It now appears to be a total brick. What did I do wrong? Why no purple bar? Were the scatter items supposed to be unchecked? What was the 'custom recovery' file for? Because the SP flash prog never asked for it.

    Is there any point in trying it again or is the phone dead?

    Thanks for any help..

    Theo