Search This thread

immortalneo

Senior Member
Jan 25, 2011
4,409
1,985
Malappuram, Kerala
There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
the direction where that user can find an answer
and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
point out where to find the answer.



Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
(coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
and frustration it will save you in the future!



No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
NO TROLLING
NO NAME CALLING
NO RIDICULING
NO FLAMING


ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


*A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


HALL OF FAME

People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
problems/questions. In no particular order.

Bruce Wayne
post-mortem
SilentStrider
Ghostfreak NB
mayank9856
sgs22012
Zatta
ADDICT.ANK



These people also have the right to use the banner below:
Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


Just add this code to your signature:
HTML:
[URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
 
Last edited:
Sep 27, 2022
24
1
Just search for:
- Fastboot drivers for your Sony model.
- Then, how to install fastboot drivers for Sony devices, anyway, the method is slightly similar for any Qualcomm device, you have to update the drivers in the list.
- How to flash a Sony device, through fastboot method, adding your model.
I made alot of progress but they needed the flashboot mode, im gonna check around and search around for those methods you've recommended, ill come back with updates
 
Sep 27, 2022
24
1
Just search for:
- Fastboot drivers for your Sony model.
- Then, how to install fastboot drivers for Sony devices, anyway, the method is slightly similar for any Qualcomm device, you have to update the drivers in the list.
- How to flash a Sony device, through fastboot method, adding your model.
Im also having trouble getting anyting about flashing through fastboot, im looking for something really simple to follow because else I dont think ill understand
 

mrrocketdog

Senior Member
Oct 27, 2013
4,957
2,314
hey peeps , i am currently rooting an htc one m8. the directions i found on the www say to flash a "no-verity-opt-encrypt.zip" .
the last m8 i rooted (6,7,8 yrs. ago) i dont remember flashing this.
is it necessary or for my best interest to flash it or no?
any help appreciated ,
dave
 

Droidriven

Senior Member
Jan 27, 2014
15,784
11
5,460
NC
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S III
HTC Thunderbolt
Hello,

Why is there two steps to unlock the bootloader (in the developer options and in fastboot)?

What are the differences? What is the point of the options in the settings?

Thank you :)
The option in settings does not, itself, unlock the bootloader on some devices, it only puts the device in a state where it "can" be unlocked. On those devices, if the setting is not enabled, the fastboot unlock method will not work.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Znkbh

Droidriven

Senior Member
Jan 27, 2014
15,784
11
5,460
NC
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S III
HTC Thunderbolt
hey peeps , i am currently rooting an htc one m8. the directions i found on the www say to flash a "no-verity-opt-encrypt.zip" .
the last m8 i rooted (6,7,8 yrs. ago) i dont remember flashing this.
is it necessary or for my best interest to flash it or no?
any help appreciated ,
dave
It wasn't neccessary until after lollipop, I think. If you don't flash it, it will corrupt your rooting process or root functionality.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mrrocketdog

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
4,204
4
1,670
Good evening everyone. I am not ashamed to confess that at the moment I find it difficult to navigate the forum. And I don't even know if I'm in the right place to ask my question. I apologize in advance if I am writing in the wrong place.
I come to the point:
I have been desperately searching for the Majestic Tab 311 3G firmware for days without success. I turn here as I have been following you for a long time and I think you are the TOP.
Thanks in advance DocRacir
It seems, the device you own, is a non-popular one.

Depends on what you are trying to achieve, if you want to pull out some partitions to make a back-up, or pull down just the boot image to get root, there is a good tool, that probably works for you https://github.com/bkerler/mtkclient
 
  • Like
Reactions: DocRAcir

Znkbh

New member
Sep 28, 2022
3
0
OnePlus 5T
The option in settings does not, itself, unlock the bootloader on some devices, it only puts the device in a state where it "can" be unlocked. On those devices, if the setting is not enabled, the fastboot unlock method will not work.
Is the goal to prevent the bootloader to be unlock by someone malicious? Like someone who cannot unlock the phone? Thanks!
 

DocRAcir

New member
Sep 28, 2022
3
1
55
Sembra che il dispositivo che possiedi sia non popolare.

Dipende da cosa stai cercando di ottenere, se vuoi estrarre alcune partizioni per fare un backup, o tirare giù solo l'immagine di avvio per ottenere root, c'è un buon strumento, che probabilmente funziona per te https://github.com/bkerler/mtkclient
MOD EDIT:
None of this. The main problem with this tablet is that it has been rooted with king root and I want to restore it with the original stock firmware. Which I can't find anywhere.

Niente di tutto questo. Il problema principale con questo tablet è che è stato rootato con king root e voglio ripristinarlo con il firmware originale di serie. Che non riesco a trovare da nessuna parte.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

DiamondJohn

Recognized Contributor
Aug 31, 2013
6,503
6,476
Sydney
I have found the thread to request a known & specific APK, that you may be blocked from on the playstore. But, is there a thread where someone can ask for an app that Does A, B & C? eg a "a FOSS multi-tabbed root text editor with code formatting"
 

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
4,204
4
1,670
MOD EDIT:
None of this. The main problem with this tablet is that it has been rooted with king root and I want to restore it with the original stock firmware. Which I can't find anywhere.

Niente di tutto questo. Il problema principale con questo tablet è che è stato rootato con king root e voglio ripristinarlo con il firmware originale di serie. Che non riesco a trovare da nessuna parte.
Well, then you have to try other method/s, knowing the fact that the firmware is unavailable.

As usually, the MTK firmware, and specially the older ones, are very generic, not so specific to every device, at least in some aspects, you can search for a firmware based on the build number code, like this one https://forum.gsmhosting.com/vbb/f781/majestic-tab-311-3g-firmware-required-2894855/ above of File Info.

First, as the only partitions you need to replace, after the malicious KingRoot installation, are the system and boot images, you should need to back up them with the tool I provided, then extract these two images from the firmware you find, and, prior to unlock bootloader, flash them to your device, try and see.

The second thing you can do is, pull out your boot image, patch it with Magisk, then flash to your device, once, you gain root, you can replace what you find suspicious within the system.
 

Droidriven

Senior Member
Jan 27, 2014
15,784
11
5,460
NC
Verizon Samsung Galaxy S III
HTC Thunderbolt
MOD EDIT:
None of this. The main problem with this tablet is that it has been rooted with king root and I want to restore it with the original stock firmware. Which I can't find anywhere.

Niente di tutto questo. Il problema principale con questo tablet è che è stato rootato con king root e voglio ripristinarlo con il firmware originale di serie. Che non riesco a trovare da nessuna parte.
Try reading this thread thoroughly:


Get your device converted from Kingroot to SuperSU with Kingroot removed/replaced. Then, when you have only SuperSU and having it working properly with root permissions, if you want to also unroot and remove SuperSU, look in the SuperSU app's settings and you'll see an option that says "cleanup and remove root", tap that and it will remove root binaries, then reboot the device, then uninstall the SuperSU app the same as you would any other app. For good measure, after doing all that, boot into recovery and wipe the cache partition, as well.
 
Last edited:

thatusbguy

Member
Oct 1, 2022
11
0
help i cant find my boot animation in /system/media/
android 4.2.2
model number TAD-0022
firmware version v1.3
(ROOTED) (no custom recovery mode) (adb)
 

Attachments

  • 4210889-413c616349a3460f38f473d814439ce3 (1).png
    4210889-413c616349a3460f38f473d814439ce3 (1).png
    13.7 KB · Views: 11
Sep 27, 2022
24
1

shamsaboubkr

Member
Dec 23, 2019
41
2
How do I Replace my google go apps to with the standard version
I've tried disabling the Go version but I still can't install the standard version

Help
My chrome is not syncing
It doesn't show my account When I try to sync
I keep getting directed to the sign in page meanwhile my account is already on the device
 

Kelly basil

Member
Oct 8, 2022
7
2
HELP ROOT TECNO kd7 Android 10

Hello someone, I've been trying to root my TECNO kd7 device but no method is working for me.
I first tried installing magisk zip through recovery but I got an error message that says:
Footer is wrong
E: signature verification failed
Installation aborted.

I used the second method which I followed a tutorial from https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/...r-unlocking-root-twrp-stock-firmware.4345557/ but it never worked instead I got my device bricked where it got stucked in bootloop with the following message:
"orange state
your device has been unlocked and cant be trusted
your device will boot in 5 seconds"

then it turns off and repeats
It won't power off, Pressing power button and volume up to access boot menu doesn't work nor does connecting it to pc and trying to use adb shell.
Though I fixed it after following this tutorial on how to flash bootloop

I tried the method again using the boot img from the firmware I used in flashing my device but I got stucked on Tecno logo after the process which I had to flash my device again.

Please someone help with any alternative method that's gonna work for real.

My phone build is: KD7-H6211FQRSTU-Q-GL-210127V375
 

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
4,204
4
1,670
How do I Replace my google go apps to with the standard version
I've tried disabling the Go version but I still can't install the standard version
Normally, you can't install other applications that aren't Go apps. In some cases, it can work doing these apps as system apps, but, just work with some. Never buy an Android Go device unless you know what you're doing.
Help
My chrome is not syncing
It doesn't show my account When I try to sync
I keep getting directed to the sign in page meanwhile my account is already on the device
Be sure you are giving all the permissions to the app, if not enough, erase all the caches, if needed, erase all the data from the app and all the data from the internal storage relevant to this app, if still needed more, uninstall the app, and reinstall it from the Play Store, or be sure that your source is trusty.
 

SubwayChamp

Senior Member
Aug 6, 2016
4,204
4
1,670
HELP ROOT TECNO kd7 Android 10

Hello someone, I've been trying to root my TECNO kd7 device but no method is working for me.
I first tried installing magisk zip through recovery but I got an error message that says:
Footer is wrong
E: signature verification failed
Installation aborted.

I used the second method which I followed a tutorial from https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/...r-unlocking-root-twrp-stock-firmware.4345557/ but it never worked instead I got my device bricked where it got stucked in bootloop with the following message:
"orange state
your device has been unlocked and cant be trusted
your device will boot in 5 seconds"

then it turns off and repeats
It won't power off, Pressing power button and volume up to access boot menu doesn't work nor does connecting it to pc and trying to use adb shell.
Though I fixed it after following this tutorial on how to flash bootloop

I tried the method again using the boot img from the firmware I used in flashing my device but I got stucked on Tecno logo after the process which I had to flash my device again.

Please someone help with any alternative method that's gonna work for real.

My phone build is: KD7-H6211FQRSTU-Q-GL-210127V375
You can root it without any issue, using your TWRP recovery, just check that the Magisk version suits for your device, and TWRP is capable to mount the /data partition, if you can't flash it through your internal storage, use ADB sideload, to get it, after that, take in account, that sometimes is needed to make a format data, to can boot to OS (only if it needs).
I'm assuming that you know that your bootloader has to remain unlocked.
 
  • Like
Reactions: mrrocketdog

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 1
    Is there an ETA on a Samsung Galaxy A13 board? Or is there one for it under a different name? (as sometimes phones have different names)
    Not all devices get their own forum. The ones that do must be popular devices with a large active community of active original development.
    1
    hey folks , hope all are well.
    this maybe a longshot or not even exist but does anybody know of or have a nougat RUU.zip for the att htc one m8?
    highest i've found so far with lots and lots of searching is MM.
    any help greatly appreciated.
    dave
    This page has nougat for US carriers and an unlocked/developer version but I didn't check to see if the unlocked version is nougat.


    1
    ... can't be uninstalled but only disabled...
    Some apps are in /system/app or /system/priv-app. They are preinstalled. Since /system is read-only you can't delete them.
    When those apps get an update the update appears in /data/app, which is read/write.
    If you don't like them you can "downgrade" (that is, delete the part in /data/app).
    You're stuck with the preinstalled stuff in /system but you can disable them.
    What the two YouTube things are, I don't know.
    1
    Yes, I have. No button combos work on the download mode screen.
    But otherwise, I can get the "factory reset?" screen by holding power and volume down, lifting finger off power when the LG logo appears then holding both again.
    Let's say it IS a hardware problem as you say- how could I find this out for sure? And what could I do about it?
    If you have the bootable "factory reset" mode, then,in my experienc, that means you probably don't have a stock recovery mode or a download/fastboot mode because it has been blocked/removed by the carrier that sold the device. This has been the case for the LG devices that I've owned that had the factory reset mode that you described.
    1
    Oh, I must have written that confusingly, sorry.. I only told Renate that I had another LG with a broken screen, because they asked if I had another working LG device.

    However, the device I'm trying to fix is the one with no recovery mode, at least not one with any other option besides factory reset.
    Can you boot into safe mode via button combination?

    A factory reset should not have caused a problem with the system partition. Could it be that the device was rooted before you did the reset?

    What was your reason for doing the reset? Did you attempt to flash something then encounter some kind of issue then did the reset in an attempt to fix the issue caused by what you flashed?
  • 398
    There are a lot of people joining XDA on a daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked
    which clutter up the Development and 'Q & A' threads. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions.

    The idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. People are usually
    ridiculed for asking questions that other people deem stupid even though it may be a legitimate question. This
    leads to new users being afraid to ask questions!

    Only provide well mannered help towards users in this thread. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in
    the direction where that user can find an answer
    and educate himself. If you don't want to answer, at least
    point out where to find the answer.



    Before posting anything, I strongly advise you to read THIS thread.

    Then, have a quick look at the names of threads in Post No. 2, you might find what you need right away.

    Third. Even if you do get your question answered, please do come back and read threads in Post No. 2
    (coming later as soon as we start getting the guides) to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time
    and frustration it will save you in the future!



    No abuse towards noobs tolerated here! That means:
    NO TROLLING
    NO NAME CALLING
    NO RIDICULING
    NO FLAMING


    ASK ANY QUESTION HERE! No question is stupid or irrelevant in this thread. You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


    *A Special Thanks to mark manning for his help in creating this thread*


    HALL OF FAME

    People who contributed most to this thread and helped countless number of people with their
    problems/questions. In no particular order.

    Bruce Wayne
    post-mortem
    SilentStrider
    Ghostfreak NB
    mayank9856
    sgs22012
    Zatta
    ADDICT.ANK



    These people also have the right to use the banner below:
    Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif


    Just add this code to your signature:
    HTML:
    [URL="http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2257421"][IMG]https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/41066660/Newbie%20Thread%20Sign.gif[/IMG][/URL]
    116
    Reserved

    Just a few words of advice on keeping this thread clean of unnecessary clutter:

    1. Before posting a question, it is highly recommended to read this thread.

    2. Click the Thanks button on the posts that helped you, instead of posting "Thanks". This helps other members in finding out the best replies that get buried in the thread.

    3. Do not use this thread to increase your post count! The Off-Topic forum is the place for that.

    4. Do a simple search of this thread before asking to see if your question has been asked previously.

    5. If your question has not received an answer after a few hours, please be patient. Someone will answer you shortly. If you do not get an answer in 24 hours, you may BUMP your post. If you still have no answer after a week, do mention me in your post.

    Thank you for your cooperation!
    29
    Good job mate, hopefully lots of members will find this thread very helpful :cool::good:
    13
    ZTE V970 Brick?

    Hi,

    I've been trying to install Bruno's ROM for this phone (cam with all chinese apps). http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1856578

    but have a big problem. I tried my best to follow the instructions but, really couldn't work out if I was doing things in the right order.. is there an actual step- by step for this procedure? I know I'm a noob and read this read that I am an idiot etc. etc. but I thought if I used to ROM on that page and the software recommended it would be easy.

    Here's what I did:

    Downloaded all the files as told.

    Tried to 'flash a custom recovery' as here http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    but it did not mention how to use the ZTE custom recovery file http://d-h.st/Vgt

    I'm also not sure at all that the 'MediaTek drivers' were installed properly. The phone never appeared in the Device manager.

    I opened SP flash tool and followed this: http://bm-smartphone-reviews.blogspot.co.uk/2012/05/mt6575-flashing-tutorial.html

    and selected the 'scatter file' from the unzipped Bruno ROM (took a while to realise had to unzip it to get the file!!!)

    I noticed most of the boxes on the scatter file were unchecked but carried on and ignored a warning message about the phone may not be able to boot (the tutorial said to ignore it).

    I had to click 'download' then plug the phone in and eventually I got the red loading bar. This finished... then nothing else.. no purple bar.. nothing.

    So after waiting a few minutes I unplugged the phone.

    It now appears to be a total brick. What did I do wrong? Why no purple bar? Were the scatter items supposed to be unchecked? What was the 'custom recovery' file for? Because the SP flash prog never asked for it.

    Is there any point in trying it again or is the phone dead?

    Thanks for any help..

    Theo