Search This thread

mohamedrashad

Senior Member
Nov 15, 2012
1,087
618
23
ismailia
Hi :angel: ,

I want to make a custom Odin backup, i know a few about partitions, :)

I have a list: boot.img, Sbl.bin, param.lfs, userdata.img, system.img

I know where is located the cache, but i don't know how to integrate it into Odin backup,
i have a lot of possibilities possibilities and must choose the right one:
cache.img or cache.rfs or factoryfs.rfs

But cannot be sure as there is no cache in stock ROMs :( Please help

I think "cache.rfs"

Sent from my GT-S5360 using Tapatalk 2
 
  • Like
Reactions: Killnolife

Killnolife

Senior Member
Mar 27, 2014
112
52
I think "cache.rfs"

Sent from my GT-S5360 using Tapatalk 2

Hi,

I thought a lot about why there is no .rfs after system images,

I think (but not sure) that's is the integration list :

  • /dev/block/stl9 /system - system.img
  • /dev/block/stl11 /data - userdata.img
  • /dev/block/stl10 /cache - cache.rfs
 

mohamedrashad

Senior Member
Nov 15, 2012
1,087
618
23
ismailia
Hyperion 9 rev 2 connect to WiFi but no internet, help pls
I'm on hells fusion kernel

Sent from my GT-S5360 using Tapatalk 2

---------- Post added at 06:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:23 PM ----------

Hi,

I thought a lot about why there is no .rfs after system images,

I think (but not sure) that's is the integration list :

  • /dev/block/stl9 /system - system.img
  • /dev/block/stl11 /data - userdata.img
  • /dev/block/stl10 /cache - cache.rfs

So my guess about cache. rfs was right :D:D:D:D

Sent from my GT-S5360 using Tapatalk 2
 

Lycium

New member
May 4, 2014
2
0
6102 touch screen stopped working

First of all I am new to all of this but I've been around these forums for a few days trying to find a solution for my phone and nothing worked. I have a samsung galaxy y duos gt-s6102B and I used XDuosV3 rom and kernel for Galaxy Y Duos GT-S6102. I am wondering if the model numbers being different caused this problem :eek:

It worked after I installed it until I saw an OTA update that popped up on the phone so I installed it and rebooted then my touch screen stopped working. I tried recovery in Odin but the touch screen still doesnt work. I saw a thread on editing the build.prop by flashing a rom that edits it or flashing a modded build prop, both did not work, not sure if I used the wrong files...um and I also did no backups before I did all of thise
 

rhazxor

Member
Oct 27, 2012
18
0
Need help about Hyperion 9
my problem is that whenever I go to CPU Setting I only see 2 cpu governors (bcm21553 & performance) and frequencies (832 & 312)
then CPU states says "no states file found etc..."

I flashed savies kernel rev73 using cwm still the same..
 
Need help about Hyperion 9
my problem is that whenever I go to CPU Setting I only see 2 cpu governors (bcm21553 & performance) and frequencies (832 & 312)
then CPU states says "no states file found etc..."

I flashed savies kernel rev73 using cwm still the same..
Reflash the kernel or try to use another kernel.

Sent from my Xperia E1 dual using Tapatalk
1. Love doesn't need any reason.
2. Wanna speed up 3G (not 4G LTE)?
Here it is:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2586876
3. My blog
4. Press the thanks button if I really helped/assisted you.
 

TheFixItMan

Senior Member
  • Jul 8, 2012
    7,774
    3,978
    London
    Need help about Hyperion 9
    my problem is that whenever I go to CPU Setting I only see 2 cpu governors (bcm21553 & performance) and frequencies (832 & 312)
    then CPU states says "no states file found etc..."

    I flashed savies kernel rev73 using cwm still the same..

    stock kernel only has 2 frequencies and has no stats file so you cant view stats

    did you mount system before flashing a kernel zip?

    check in about phone what kernel you are on - if it says dell.... then you are on stock kernel still
     
    • Like
    Reactions: rohitsonone

    rohitsonone

    Senior Member
    Mar 19, 2014
    284
    60
    mumbai
    I have found number of flashable firmware packages for galaxy y but i was wondering whether could i flash different countries firmware packages as i am facing issues with imei on ddmd1 after flashing kernels such as hells fusion and other firmware based roms and lastly sorry for such dumb question...please reply:beer::):beer::)

    Sent from my GT-S5360 using Tapatalk 2
     
    Last edited:

    TheFixItMan

    Senior Member
  • Jul 8, 2012
    7,774
    3,978
    London
    I have found number of flashable firmware packages for galaxy y but i was wondering whether could i flash different countries firmware packages as i am facing issues with imei on ddmd1 after flashing kernels such as hells fusion and other firmware based roms and lastly sorry for such dumb question...please reply:beer::):beer::)

    Sent from my GT-S5360 using Tapatalk 2

    yes you can but your problem can solved simply by changing the ril

    you cant use old kernels on new firmwire as you will loose imei so use the ril of the old firmware

    the hyp8 ril from my following post should work on ddmd1 using hells fusion kernel - flash in cwm with system mounted
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=52449987&postcount=232

    if you later use a newer kernel just flash the ddmd1 ril back in cwm with system mounted
     
    • Like
    Reactions: rohitsonone

    Lycium

    New member
    May 4, 2014
    2
    0
    6102 touch screen stopped working

    Still cant get my touch screen working, can anyone help me with this? I tried flashing different roms and still no fix
     

    TheFixItMan

    Senior Member
  • Jul 8, 2012
    7,774
    3,978
    London
    Still cant get my touch screen working, can anyone help me with this? I tried flashing different roms and still no fix

    if you have tried to update your touch screen firmware

    see
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=22709246&postcount=1


    else you will have to take to repair shop for jtag flashing if you tried to update your touchscreen firmware which you should never do


    if you didnt try to update your touch screen firmware then just try flashing stock rom via odin
    5360
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2568853


    6102
    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2700169
     
    • Like
    Reactions: Lycium

    Top Liked Posts

    • There are no posts matching your filters.
    • 62
      undercover said:
      There are a lot of people joining xda on daily basis, and there are a lot of repetitive questions being asked which fill up Development threads & clutter Q & A section. Point them here. Feel free to ask or answer questions. Idea of this thread is to get users to help other users with their problems/questions. Please do not spoon feed, but rather point in the direction where that user can find an answer and educate himself

      So, I am inspired by undercover's idea as above.. and here is a joint effort to make this thread success by our SGY users community :thumbup:

      First thing first. Please read THIS thread before posting ANYTHING on XDA.


      Even if you do get your question(s) answered, please, do come back and follow this thread to educate yourself. You'll be surprised how much time and frustration it will save you in the future.

      ASK ANY QUESTION HERE, drivers, Odin, rom, kernel, battery, stuck at boot logo etc...... You will either get an answer or will get pointed in the right direction.


      No abuse towards noobs/newbies tolerated here! No question is stupid in this thread. No flaming please

      All XDA members are welcome to ask questions or help users!

      HALL OF FAME


      deathnotice01
      percy_g2
      menewtoroot



      Ex/Inactive members:
      Magnum007
      Funnypharmacist
      Lavadepa
      Nikufellow
      Tingtingin​


      Above names are of those who have contributed most to this thread by answering questions. These people have the right to use the banner in post 3 (credits to deathnotice01) :) Those who help with relevant information to users will be added here (monthly).. So, lets help each other and stop cluttering with same repeated questions threads!

      Credits to undercover for his good natured help to all xda members...:thumbup:
      _________________________________
      Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers.
      14
      TO ALL SGY MEMBERS!,

      Get a chance to have a customized sig and be recognized as an official SGY information specialist!




      Here's how:
      help a lot of newbies/senior members in the SGY forums and if we find that you are qualified you will be added to our team instantaneously and be notified through PM!

      get a higher chanse of promotion through good behavior and you just might be a Recognized Contributor on your 9th month of stay (subject through the XDA board)

      and be known to the community through dedicated support and move towards the exponent of development for our device, reduce redundant questions and learn throughout the way!



      here is a sample of the customized sig
      15dx3pj.jpg
      10
      EDIT: Sanny.. Please edit your signature.. use only size 1 or less.. read OT thread to understand.. many of us explained reasons to tingtingin when he had big sig..

      Edit 2: niku.. well put.. thank you..

      I thank you for helping but be more clear and in detail in one post ,dont make disscussn
      I'am not pointing you its for all the members be clear in your ans or if you dnt know the answers just wait for someone to answer , if you think that he helped you thank him by pressng button not by quote his post and post thanks welcome etc
      This will help in many ways
      Thread will be clean
      Newbies will come more
      It will be easy to search for an answer if this thread is clean

      There is off topic thread come there and have fun

      Search button will help you more ,use it
      Quality of answered post are getting low ,its not good
      Post only when you have correct answers
      Please improve your quality of posts and tell your friends about this group ,instead of making new q threads ! Useless threads are gone down but not stopped

      If you have some views in improving this thread feel free to share

      I'am not pointing to anyone just an advice

      Post your views in off-topic thread
      Thanks
      Thanks percy, I agree to the above edited part of the post.. not all part of original though.. anyway.. i will answer the issues.. and my own opinions now.. hope people take it as a suggestion/advice/request.. not as order/blaming/flaming..

      and for the record.. tingtingin and sanny.. no offence,.. but you guys could have taken this to OT thread.. and it could have been sorted out.. but anyway.. now that it went this far.. we will solve it here itself..

      Thread name is ask any question (on topic)
      These questions are worth seeing for all
      And where is spam???
      http://www.webopedia.com/TERM/S/spam.html
      Questions like these make this thread special otherwise it would be so down u would never find it
      Also wat Menewtoroot asked was neither ot to go in ot thread nor stupid to or personal to go in pm
      No offence but think about it again :)

      thoughtfully posted by S A N N Y 5...:cool:
      ∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞∞
      want to make ur phone faster and more battery efficient? GO HERE
      partition and link apps to sd?!?!? GO HERE
      cool 3d games for galaxy y (no root no lag) GO HERE
      Sanny... Yes, Thread name is ask any questions... What we are talking about is not about questions here.. There is nothing wrong with asking questions at all..
      And to answer the bolded part of your post.. it wont go down.. we don't have to post questions to keep this thread alive... that's also can be viewed as spam.. users will always have questions.. it will keep the thread afloat.. don't worry.. Seems i'm going to make this thread sticky..

      Spam here means.. Well, let me put it this way.. Its something totally irrelevant to the post you are answering.. or total lack of info in a post which is an answer to a question.. I'm not saying i'm better than all or i'm very good at answering.. but, what i try to do is.. i answer the question with best answer i can think of when the question is good enough that it is answerable.. Its like, if you ask.. when is a new rom coming out.. thats not easy to answer with valuable data unless you are on the dev team or they informed you which is usually not the case.. So, how to answer such questions.. thats left you.. But, when you have proper questions asked here.. what i wish is.. it gets solved within 4-5 posts.. its not possible always.. i agree.. i'm just saying as an example..

      What i wanted to ask all of you is.. Remember.. I'm not pointing at anyone.. This is just in general.. If you are doing this.. Then please do changes so that its not repeated..

      1. Quote the post you are answering or put a "@username" in your post to say its to them.. its hard to understand whom you are answering.. this thread is not about one single question topic.. so, there might be more than 1 question answered.. and if you quote the post.. its easier to understand what he asked and what you replied as people might have posted in between question and answer..

      2. Please refrain from posting one sentence posts.. unless it answers the question perfectly in one sentence.. be more informative about what you are saying.. or why they need to do it..

      3. Try to give more than one option if its possible for the answer.. Its hard to tell how to do these things..if the answer is exact same then we will just point to there ( in this thread).. or if the answer is already written in some place then point to that post of other threads.. if not answer here... almost any questions.. but related to sgy series or xda forums like that..

      4. I see many posts which has no value ... not just this thread.. but in Q & A section i mean.. I'm not above others.. and i'm not saying i'm perfect.. Please tell me when i do mistakes.. i will correct myself..
      But, Please don't answer questions for " Thanks" .. That thanks meter has no value as new users think it has.. Its just to show gratitude to users.. and to avoid unnecessary posts saying " THANKS" .. So, dont answer already answered questions unless you have some better info to add or alternatives to give.. Not just this thread.. in Q & A section and in XDA i mean..

      5. I cant tell you all whats the best way to help.. as you all know "Best" is subjective to a person.. Well, all i can request is.. Please, don't answer with short form English language.. use "auto correct" if you are lazy.. do anything.. but use proper English language.. the "smthng" looks better when written "something".. same way.. the posts which has such short formed English looks childish.. Please avoid it..

      6. Also, all are welcome to help here in the thread.. But, please.. dont spoon feed the users.. what i mean is.. direct them to right place where they can get info.. direct them properly so that they can solve things.. but giving whole instructions in a single post by copy pasting from some other thread.. please don't do this.. It has been done.. and you guys know.. i wont say names.. but please avoid it..

      7. Well, I can go on thinking and saying one thing or the another.. but i wonder how many of you read this post.. as i have seen many people complain of long posts that they cant read it.. but, for me .. longer posts has higher value than smaller ones.. well, that's just me anyway..

      8. Please avoid discussion.. things went too off sometimes.. no one yet quoted a post from here and posted in OT thread yet.. So lets see who does that when it goes OT here.. They are the smartest..

      Also, sanny above post is not directed at you... its for all people.. and i'm no better.. i'm still learning too.. i too make mistakes.. i learnt from seeing others who answer better and more informatively.. and also there are age gap and thinking differs.. and the language differs.. i know the problems.. but please try to implement the requests.. and my first language is not English.

      And something to read about "thanks"
      Giving thanks is important. It lets people know that their work or answer is appreciated. It is a faster method of feedback than posting a reply like "Thanks for your answer!"
      Its just to show gratitude or appreciation at many times... And thats why it has no importance of who you are.. and dont worry about it for the same reason.. it has nothing to do with respect you get here from others​

      What are u talking about? Newtoroot's question? If so then here would have been the perfect place to ask also we didn't "chat" I gave two responses one asking what the question was and another answering it that's hardly a conversation

      I'm inclined to believe that your talking about in general that would make more sense but even then I don't get y u would when there hasn't been any "chatting" in a long time :confused:
      I hope your doubts has been answered above.. if not.. here i go.. It was not about any particular person..

      If it was not someone who did yesterday.. it would have been someone who did it tomorrow.. what is the main thing this is about then?

      its about.. this.. lets make the posts more informative.. and avoid double answering with same info and avoid small posts and avoid thanks lol ok posts... well, hope you guys read the above post which i spent my time..

      And to tell whats this thread about.. here is my earlier post in the same thread..

      As Alan said..
      Also, this thread is for only one purpose.. ask any questions.. get your answers here or you will be given link to answer (or possible answer)..

      For ex. If you don't know where you can get stock kernel to flash from Odin.. point them to post 2 with link no. As I'm gonna add it there..

      Else if someone asks a question.. then we will answer.. but this will be thread to help others.. but no need to write redundant guides/posts again..

      _________________________________
      Judge a man by his questions rather than his answers.
      6
      I am going through this weird situation! Whenever I flash any custom kernel IMEI goes lost..... I flash back to Stock via Odin then IMEI is their... This only happens when I flash a custom kernel :(

      In settings>About Phone>Status it shows the carrier as Airtel and signal strength but when I try to call someone it says not registered on network!
      I have already answered this once thoroughly.. let me search and give link

      Its in cm7 thread I believe.. psychogame's thread

      Here is the link to answer.. http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=38096223

      I did not format the whole SD card to EXT3. I only splitted the SD card then created an EXT3 partition. When it did not work. I reformatted it again and created a FAT32 partition, this time Link2SD worked. My question now is why it did not work for EXT3 when my kernel supports ALL EXT filesystem?

      Sent from my GT-S5360 using xda app-developers app
      First of all.. tell us which kernel you are using? And link2sd might give problems with some sdcard sometimes and with some partition tools..

      Which partition tool you used?
      did you follow any guide?
      I have written one too.. if you want to change to ext3 still.. try this http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=33706706

      And I think its because you might have formatted it as a logical drive or setting it not active might have caused it too.. so try doing it by guide and if it doesn't work post there or here.. as there are many factors which might lead to fail..


      Does anybody know the source code of lidroidparts.apk? I cant find it. Thanks. :D
      And also, another questions masters, can I edit apk using eclipse? I mean, I decompile an apk and add new eclipse android existing source.

      TIA. :D
      AFAIK.. not possible.. but then again.. some might have used it.. just decompile and add it as a project and see if you can use it.. but I think not possible..


      Please :eek: give me full imformation (tech. Spec.) about the phone samsumg galaxy star (cheapest:cool: android from samsung ) and compare it with galaxy y:D features also tell is this phone have any gpu:p or a chip videocore :pfrom boadcom is attached on its cpu like galaxy y :confused:
      Reply quickly

      NO ONE IS PERFECT
      sorry.. this is not possible to answer here..
      Because we don't spoon feed.. we try to direct them in right direction. You can try gsmarena site and see.. there is a comparison tool too.. and if you can't decide about it.. then you need to research and read about it more..

      As you will be the one using it and not us.. you shouldn't take our advice about it ;)

      I am waiting in reply XDA :eek:

      NO ONE IS PERFECT
      Please, have patience.. we all have life outside xda.. asking twice doesn't get you answers any faster than asking once. :)