How to root HTC Glacier (My Touch 4G) step by step ?

Search This thread

chitopr

Jan 21, 2011
Can somebody tell me how to root a my touch 4g ? I'm kinda new at this and want to learn.

Bupahs

Apr 20, 2008
East Petersburg
Can somebody tell me how to root a my touch 4g ? I'm kinda new at this and want to learn.

Google VISIONary (r14) place it on your device, install it then run it. Temproot is for temporary rooting your device, its gone after a reboot, permaroot is for good, unless you use the unroot option.

Its safe, fast and easy. I use temproot option so I can use some root only apps. This is the first device I have felt no need to add a custom rom to or anything so VISIONary was the choice for me. If you want the long harder way directions can be provided. I do recommand you learn the long hard way at some point, its good to know your way around just in case.

neidlinger

Aug 30, 2010
Cincinnati

first of all rooting is not for everyone. I can name a few people in a few forums that do not run a rooted phone for one reason or another. Rooting your phone gives you possibilities that are not even considered when you are in a stock form. But on the other hand you can seriously damage your phone, with the possibility of it ending up a 500.00 paper weight.

The safest and easiest thing to do is download VISIONary.apk and just use temp root. That will give you the ability to do everything you need to do in a root status w/o risking FUBARing anything. You can wi-fi tether, run Titanium Backup and stuff like that.

If you are wanting to go full blown and root it w/ s=off and do the

you can do it the real way and follow Cyanogen's method

Or you can do via the TheUnlockr for a simpler way.

Last edited:

neurofuzz

Jan 17, 2011
If I temp-root it, would I have to temp-root it every time I want to run the wifi-tether program? Or just on installation?

Nickoro

Feb 13, 2011