[Kernel Test] 1113MHz overclocked, undervolted zImages for Desire. update.zips up!

Search This thread

coolbho3000

Retired Senior Recognized Developer
Dec 26, 2008
edit: I recommend you get richardtrip's kernels instead (http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=682419). I am probably not the best person to be releasing kernels for the desire, seeing as I have no way to properly test them. :)

Because HTC kindly released the Desire source, here are some kernels based on the OC-UV kernels that are so popular with the Nexus One. The OC'd and UV'd ones are based on pershoot's current Nexus One kernel.

WARNING: THESE TWEAKS ARE STABLE ON THE NEXUS ONE, BUT ARE NOT TESTED ON REAL HARDWARE. I HAVE LOTS OF EXPERIENCE TWEAKING THE NEXUS KERNEL, BUT I DO NOT HAVE A DESIRE. I don't know exactly how the Desire hardware will act with these tweaks, but in theory it should be the same. There is always the possibility that the Desire uses worse performing batches of the 8x50, the current kernel does not like this tweak, other hardware issues may factor in, etc. I am not responsible for any damage to your hardware, but this should not under any circumstances do permanent damage.

Do a nandroid backup first.This is imperative if you want to restore your old kernel, or else you may have to reinstall your ROM. Flash the update.zips below. I don't think you can use this kernel "temporarily," as you do not have fastboot. Perflock has been disabled in these kernels (as it is in AOSP ;)). Set the speed using SetCPU (in my sig or on the Market) or echo the values to cpufreq.

If this kernel does not boot, boot into recovery and restore your nandroid backup or reinstall your ROM. Rest easy - there should be no lasting damage to your data or hardware.

There are 3 zImages in the package, plus a folder with the relatively minor source changes.

OC-UV: frequencies added up to 1113MHz. More frequencies enabled. 950mV-1275mV. Perflock disabled.