[MOD] 720p recording ported from Hancocks ROM

Search This thread

makakam

Mar 6, 2011
Anyone who didn't experience huge battery drain after using this mod? I tried different sbfs but it (the battery drain) was there.

Top Liked Posts

• There are no posts matching your filters.
    BEFORE YOU READ ANY FURTHER, THIS MOD/PORT (WHATEVER) WILL PROPABLY ONLY WORK ON RED LENSED DEFYS! SORRY BUT IT SEEMS TO BE A HARDWARE THING! AND THERE ALSO MIGHT BE THE SLIGHT POSSIBILITY THAT IT IS LIMITED TO 3.4.2_145-003 VERSION ONLY! (AT LEAST THIS IS THE VERSION HANCOCKS ROM IS BASED ON AND THE SAME I TESTED IT WITH)

to make it short, i (kind of) ported the 720p recording capability of hankocks rom 1.11 to pays rom 3.3 (based on 3.4.2_145-003).
    first of all, I AM NO DEVELOPER! so all props go to hankock! what i did was the following:

i took all the libs from hancocks rom which had something to do with camera & encoding (as you can see, not a very devlike procedure) and put them into my system/libs. then i took media_profiles.xml from hancocks rom and put it to my system/etc (of course i changed back permissions afterwards). first i used hancocks patched stock camera app and merged my and his build.prop so that the whole thing would run on my rom. and it worked perfectly. but this solution has 2 drawbacks:
    1. hancock used 3gpp container, which is imho inferior to mp4
    2. the audio encoding is very bad (amr_nb, 8kbps)
    then i found out, that if i used lgcamera instead i would't need to change build.prop anymore and it still worked fine. besides of that, lgcamera is much more customizable settingwise. and by not modifying build.prop, i hope to enhance compatibility of this mod to other froyo versions.

and that is what my package contains:

-all libs with "enc", "cam", "camera" in therr names from hancocks rom (i know, i'm an amateur :))
    -media_profiles.xml from hancocks rom
    -lgcamera 5.25 (free) btw. it works with the latest pro version from the market too