• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!

Moving Dalvik-cache to cache partition

Search This thread

turboyo

Jun 23, 2009
Miami
I dont want to use app2sd as I feel it a bit unnecessary and I really don't need too much more space. I saw WES incorporated moving dalvik cache to the cache partition (cache part is 80 megs that will never get fully used on the slide). I asked in his thread twice but it seems it'll never be seen. Any way, I did some searching and found a script that does exactly what I want. This would also be useful for those like me that just want a few more mb's of internal storage and dont want to use apps2sd. I'm not a developer so I just want to put this here for our devs to mod or give the okay on if this will work on the slide.

I got the script attached from this thread. You can also read in more detail on what exactly it is I'm wanting to do here http://forum.samdroid.net/f9/relocate-dalvik-cache-free-up-space-1117/

I just want to know what has to be done if anything to get this working on the Slide. Thanks

Attachments

• dalvik-cache.zip
    1.2 KB · Views: 1,739
I was able to get dalvik-cache to /cache by going into clockworkmod recovery and accessing from adb:

mv /data/dalvik-cache /cache/dc
ln -s /cache/dc /data/dalvik-cache

After the files are moved and the symlink is created, you should have no problems when rebooting.

However, I came across a problem when I flashed the radio, since it wiped the cache partition. If you are missing all your installed apps in android, it might be that the cache partition was wiped. You need to recreate the /cache/dc folder and reboot.

turboyo

Jun 23, 2009
Miami