• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!

"Other" storage problem

Search This thread

cheeseteak17

Aug 20, 2020
Redmi 9
POCO M3
Screenshot_2021-03-02-21-39-06-634_com.miui.securitycenter.jpg

I already do a factory data for like five times for each week since i bought this phone, the other on storage keeps filing up and i cant find the reasons why, i disabled auto update for system apps and software update as well as on playstore. But still keeps increasing day by day. Any solutions?

mitchell4you

Aug 3, 2016
Utrecht
Question firmware version used...and phone model

Under developer mode..enable "CPU usage"
See..what app is busy doing stuff
or
install Catlog from f-droid see what's running and see error log
or
Run the antivirus app? or update firmware to latest ?

just..some thoughts
interesting issue.. :)

cheeseteak17

Aug 20, 2020
Redmi 9
POCO M3
Im sorry.im new to this but i cant find cpu usage on developers option. I also installed catlog but i dont know how to use it.and which anti virus are you refering to?also I already installed the latest firmware

mctangalin

Mar 31, 2021
I have the same problem, i tried factory reset how many times, hard reset 2x, the problem still exist. Waiting for firmware update but it takes time and the storage is full again while waiting. Any suggestions friends?

Korradin

Apr 11, 2021
Spain
Hi all,

my two cents here. It seems that somehow when info is deleted ends in a kind of partition that the cell can't reach or show. I've tried all the storage cleaning apps I could find to no avail.

When plugging to a PC it doesn't show the big files either. In fact, when you look at it as a drive connected to PC it seems to be full; however if you select the contents there's little occupation.

redmi9_1.JPGredmi9_2.JPG