[PC/MAC/LINUX] The official, full Andromeda thread for Substratum [Android 8.0.0+]

Search This thread

Venom0642

Recognized Contributor
May 7, 2012
11,021
14,278
56
Laramie, Wyoming
plus.google.com
But if you reboot and want to add more overlayers you will need to plug back to pc , it's required once a reboot to plug in after that you don't need to plug in and keep opening Substratum, only if reboot you plug in once every reboot, plus overlayers stick after reboot.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy S9+ using XDA Labs
 
  • Like
Reactions: Craig_D

Craig_D

Senior Member
Apr 30, 2015
271
61
Glasgow
But if you reboot and want to add more overlayers you will need to plug back to pc , it's required once a reboot to plug in after that you don't need to plug in and keep opening Substratum, only if reboot you plug in once every reboot, plus overlayers stick after reboot.

I think I follow what you're saying. So, only need to reboot if I build & enable any NEW overlays but not if you're just disabling & enabling existing overlays?

---------- Post added at 10:00 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:48 PM ----------

I've searched this thread but can't find the easiest way to achieve a permanently black navbar. Anyone know how to?
 

Pkt_Lnt

Recognized Contributor
Dec 26, 2011
7,895
5,802
SLO
I think I follow what you're saying. So, only need to reboot if I build & enable any NEW overlays but not if you're just disabling & enabling existing overlays?

---------- Post added at 10:00 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:48 PM ----------

I've searched this thread but can't find the easiest way to achieve a permanently black navbar. Anyone know how to?

Navbar Apps
https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=pl.damianpiwowarski.navbarapps
Misses a few with gray, but gets almost all black.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Craig_D

Craig_D

Senior Member
Apr 30, 2015
271
61
Glasgow
There was a systems tweak sub in Nougat that enabled you remove icons from the status bar and centre the clock etc I used to like removing the battery icon and centering the clock. How is possible to that now with Andromeda?
 

ggrant3876

Senior Member
  • Jun 17, 2009
    2,040
    604
    Wichita Falls, Texas
    There was a systems tweak sub in Nougat that enabled you remove icons from the status bar and centre the clock etc I used to like removing the battery icon and centering the clock. How is possible to that now with Andromeda?
    I have center clock with this.
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=substratum.draco.systemmods
    And you can remove battery percent and animation with it too.
    If you want battery icon gone you have to use this, need to do several adb commands to give the app permissions.
    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.zacharee1.systemuituner
     
    • Like
    Reactions: Craig_D

    brackett5

    Senior Member
    Jun 17, 2010
    276
    13
    Need help. I used this on mu Note 8 today and now my Samsung systems keeps crashing. Wondering if someone could tell me how to fix this and what I have done wrong? It actually is crashing my settings and isn't letting me reconnect to Andromeda.
     
    Last edited:

    cleopete

    Senior Member
    Sep 29, 2010
    288
    121
    She's working! WOOT! I've been putting this off for a long time but glad I finally took the dive! :D

    Thanks!

    That's the post I've been searching for! VZ, April 5, locked OEM? Good to hear, gonna have to try this... after I finish forcing Sierra onto my 5,3, Mac.

    Guess I can't leave anything alone.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: imucarmen

    imucarmen

    Senior Member
    May 28, 2012
    1,727
    706
    That's the post I've been searching for! VZ, April 5, locked OEM? Good to hear, gonna have to try this... after I finish forcing Sierra onto my 5,3, Mac.

    Guess I can't leave anything alone.

    Just be patient. It takes a bit of messing with to get everything working. Basically, you have to build and enable, restart, go to the manage tab in substratum and select the things you built before and choose 'change overlay states'. That should apply everything.

    I've got Compound, Swift dark, Flux dark, and Pi dark, to all work with no weird UI color issues. It's just important to do the steps properly or you'll have some issues.
     

    imucarmen

    Senior Member
    May 28, 2012
    1,727
    706
    That's the post I've been searching for! VZ, April 5, locked OEM? Good to hear, gonna have to try this... after I finish forcing Sierra onto my 5,3, Mac.

    Guess I can't leave anything alone.

    Here's some screenshots of my currently setup.

    Oh, and yes, I'm on the locked Verizon Pixel 2 XL. I've yet to have anything that wouldn't theme. Phone, Google photos, play store, messages, maps, keep, Google play music, settings, notifications, etc. It all takes.
     

    Attachments

    • Screenshot_20180415-235305.jpg
      Screenshot_20180415-235305.jpg
      192.4 KB · Views: 283
    • Screenshot_20180415-235316.png
      Screenshot_20180415-235316.png
      231.7 KB · Views: 279
    • Screenshot_20180415-235404.jpg
      Screenshot_20180415-235404.jpg
      170.7 KB · Views: 281
    • Screenshot_20180415-235422.png
      Screenshot_20180415-235422.png
      167.2 KB · Views: 275
    • Screenshot_20180415-235452.jpg
      Screenshot_20180415-235452.jpg
      285.1 KB · Views: 269
    • Screenshot_20180415-235518.jpg
      Screenshot_20180415-235518.jpg
      213.3 KB · Views: 269
    • Screenshot_20180415-235529.png
      Screenshot_20180415-235529.png
      90.6 KB · Views: 257

    rippedwarrior69

    Senior Member
    Nov 2, 2009
    1,353
    215
    Here's some screenshots of my currently setup.

    Oh, and yes, I'm on the locked Verizon Pixel 2 XL. I've yet to have anything that wouldn't theme. Phone, Google photos, play store, messages, maps, keep, Google play music, settings, notifications, etc. It all takes.
    Does it stick after reboot. I wanna try on my at&t note 8.
     

    mehdi.scs9

    Member
    Aug 14, 2015
    14
    1
    not work

    hi

    i have a Nokia 5 with stock android 8.1 (no root)

    i install Substratum.
    then install Andromeda.
    open the Substratum.
    connect USB in file transfer mood (usb Debug is on).
    open desktop client folder and run"start_andromeda.bat"
    after processing, bat file is close and Substratum app is restart.
    but not work!
    and application always say : The Andromeda Desktop Client needs to connect to your device to be able to function with Substratum.
    (and check status not show anything)

    i try java client but devise box is empty
     

    Attachments

    • photo_2018-04-16_10-15-42.jpg
      photo_2018-04-16_10-15-42.jpg
      39.4 KB · Views: 216

    Hfko Matic

    New member
    Apr 16, 2018
    1
    0
    Hi
    I want to ask, i've download the java script file but im cant find the exe like on the video form andormeda. And after i double click the windows script the substratum isn't work.
    Can someone give me the tutor?

    Thanks
     

    Nastrahl

    Senior Member
    Dec 9, 2017
    676
    134
    hi

    i have a Nokia 5 with stock android 8.1 (no root)

    i install Substratum.
    then install Andromeda.
    open the Substratum.
    connect USB in file transfer mood (usb Debug is on).
    open desktop client folder and run"start_andromeda.bat"
    after processing, bat file is close and Substratum app is restart.
    but not work!
    and application always say : The Andromeda Desktop Client needs to connect to your device to be able to function with Substratum.
    (and check status not show anything)

    i try java client but devise box is empty

    Try in MTP mode maybe?
     

    Top Liked Posts

    • There are no posts matching your filters.
    • 186
      Instructions for Windows

      Step 1 - Download your file for your current operating system!

      Andromeda App 6.0.0 (Windows): https://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=1395089523397937511

      Step 2 - Install the mobile clients from the Play Store

      Play Store (Substratum v839+): If you have not yet, please install the main app! https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=projekt.substratum

      Play Store (Andromeda): You can install the latest Substratum on Android Oreo, unrooted, and it will prompt you directly (can't link due to paid addon)

      Step 3 - Load up the Andromeda Desktop Client or Script!

      1. Enable "USB debugging" on your device
      2. Install systemwide ADB drivers on your PC
      3. Connect your device to your PC
      4. Download the desktop client ZIP archive from the link below
      5. Extract the downloaded archive file and open the extracted app
      6. Press any button to start/stop server
      7. Wait for the process to finish, then you can disconnect your device from your PC
        You will need to do the instructions above every time you reboot your device.
      13
      Andromeda v20 has been rolled out, and we have a key few things that need to be noted!

      I would like to clarify that the sneak peek of Andromeda and root a few days ago was not designed to be a way to replace rooted substratum builds, or to convince that root + Andromeda is the way to go.

      As a small number of users seem to be using Andromeda on a rooted device, it is simply just one rooted call that executes the same environment as if you plugged your device into the computer. Just like the current rooted Magisk plugins/scripts that require you to execute "su andromeda" by the community in XDA.

      To those who used to run masquerade and substratum back in the day, the calling package usually suffered the most because it caused a heavy configuration change due to "assetSeq" code from CMTE. As we are now using direct shell calls, the configuration change is lighter than the previous implementation but still exists, thus, a more reliable way for us was to "offload" the configuration change from the main substratum app.

      You do NOT need to (re)purchase Andromeda, and I would personally just stick with rooted mode on substratum for free if you are on Oreo, despite the configuration change explanation above, as Android O's Dynamic Overlays are faster than "assetSeq" and more reliable.

      However if you're unrooted, the recommended method is to definitely give Andromeda a try!

      One more thing, running the script no longer automatically runs substratum. As we have new plans of the app very soon and it shouldn't just be reserved for substratum!
      12
      As promised, this is the major Substratum update that will prompt you guys to download Andromeda.

      11AM EST is the rollout time for the articles and the Andromeda addon APK!

      https://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=73748157&postcount=15


      For those impatient: https://time.is/EST
      9
      I'm glad that a lot of people are interested. Unfortunately I'll apologize in advance if I couldn't get to your PM. My inbox just flooded like no tomorrow! Haha

      Mac, Windows and Linux clients are all done, including the universal UI (alpha). So if the universal UI doesn't work, there will be a fallback.

      The Andromeda app is also done and privately tested ATM. Substratum is getting patches up and ready and will be done today or tomorrow, then the full announcement for the huge update will be pushed AFTER our scheduled XDA portal post is done :)
      9
      Hi all, this is a simple series of clean up commands for when you migrate to the new version of Substratum 990+, AND are on a Samsung device.

      Newly compiled overlays will be readily visible on 990+ on Samsung + Andromeda users.

      These commands are to be run INSIDE adb shell!

      Uninstall all INACTIVE overlays:

      Code:
      for item in $(cmd overlay list | grep '\[ \]' | sed 's/\[ \]//');do echo ${item} && pm uninstall ${item};done

      Uninstall all ACTIVE overlays:

      Code:
      for item in $(cmd overlay list | grep '\[x\]' | sed 's/\[x\]//');do echo ${item} && pm uninstall ${item};done

      Uninstall all INVALID overlays:

      Code:
      for item in $(cmd overlay list | grep '\-\-\-' | sed 's/---//');do echo ${item} && pm uninstall ${item};done
    Our Apps
    Get our official app!
    The best way to access XDA on your phone
    Nav Gestures
    Add swipe gestures to any Android
    One Handed Mode
    Eases uses one hand with your phone