• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!
  • Fill out your device list and let everyone know which phones you have!    Edit Your Device Inventory

Primary Windows Live Messenger Thread (LAST UPDATED: 11-JAN-10)

Search This thread

leepriestenator

Retired Forum Moderator
Oct 25, 2006
754
36
LATEST VERSION - Check the 1st post.

CLICK HERE
Information
Version: 10.7.0061.0500
Date Published: 1/8/2010 (Jan 8th 2010)
Language: English

There are 2 files available at the download site. Please note that WindowsLive_0409.PPC2005_arm.cab is English-only.
 
Last edited:

freaknormel

Senior Member
Aug 30, 2007
191
1
I can miss this multiple sign in future, and also audio, but i cant copy paste text !!! actually i cant select ( highlight the text ) im ysing touch pro2
is someone else experiencing same problem ?> please help me with this !!!
 

kan78

New member
Jul 5, 2009
3
0
hi boys n girls, can anybody help to solve another trouble:
problem is: I like use WWE ROM, but i russian speak (mmm, sorry for my english) so when i try to send new or replay any e-mail from Windows Live (aka IMAP4) all Russian letters look like " ?????? ?? ???? ? "
POP3 (without WinLiv all works well) but i need sync folders.
Pls help.
 

DaNuker

Member
Dec 31, 2007
19
1
The new Messenger doesn't allow you to copy and paste text FROM the conversation or the text box, but you can paste text into it.

Kinda sucks when my friends send me a link to check out in MSN. I recall the old version based on my stock ROM was able to do it.

I can miss this multiple sign in future, and also audio, but i cant copy paste text !!! actually i cant select ( highlight the text ) im ysing touch pro2
is someone else experiencing same problem ?> please help me with this !!!
 

Habib Molaska

Member
Nov 1, 2009
47
0
The question is: How do you get messenger mobile to always stay connected and alive even when the phone is in standby mode? This question has once been asked before in this thread, although never answered and I'm surprised it isn't discussed vividly. Surely I can't be the only one with this problem? A google search of the site xda-developers.com shows that the question is indeed put forth by a lot of people all over the place in different threads, but just never answered. Here's a great quote from the author I said had asked the question earlier in this thread:

"It seems like messenger is trying to connect before the H (HSDPA) icon appears. If the icon is there already (after using Opera) it seems to work."

And here's a little more lengthier description of the problem as I have it:

My device is a HTC Touch Pro2 running Windows Mobile 6.5, the rom it got shipped with.

The case is that I will launch a new business site in just a few weeks whos customers are for the biggest part young intellectuals more often than seldomly really integrated with the modern IT-development. Hence I've always wanted to add the Windows Live messenger plugin to the site so that our customers can have a live chat completly anonymously without having their IP traced and logged which is the case for the markets paid services. Furthermore, the msn live plugin is completly ad free and doesn't cost a penny. The paid services out there that other corporations use for their live chat often comes with an URL to the host even though the customer are paying for their live chat module. The most important part though, is that I can bring with me Windows Live Messenger in the mobile wherever I go which for the most part is a complex and not even that usual solution in the paid service segment. I think you can understand my problem now =) I'm just desperate to have my live messenger in the phone ALWAYS and ALWAYS stay connected, even in standby mode.

For an example of the plugin I'm refering too have a look at my personal website which use this plugin already:

martinandersson.com

A little more specific information describing what really happens with my device:

Windows Live version: 10.7.0061.0500.2000. Language: Swedish (Also the language of my OS).

I am running the client non-exclusivly. It always stays in the taskbar and never quit on me unlike what happens to some programs that stay open running in the background for a longer period of time. In that way, it works great.

The main Windows Live window's (which are displayed and runned as a seperate program) options/settings are set to sync my e-mail although the frequency are set to "manual" and the other options below this drop box are for some reason greyed out. I guess this has to be interpreted as if live doesn't sync my mail at all, which I like being that I do not have an hotmail account or need this feature in any way.

The status of my phone always always show two small 3G icons (one just '3G' and one '3G' above a meter) and if I click in this field I see a ticking clock which shows that it is indeed connected to internet ever since my phone's last reboot. This has never been in any other way. Still, I did download the DiamondTweak and enabled the "internet always on" feature, but again, I do not think that really was the issue and from what I can tell, the DiamondTweak just hasn't made any difference at all.

One detail of great importance is this; Whenever I browse the internet, update my RSS feeds or switch to the messenger contact list window through the taskbar, the 3G symbols changes to display an H. That tells me that this "H" must be displayed for the phone to have a "real" internet connection? Could this be the trick, one has to find a fix to always have the H show? If that would be the case, I just can't understand why the phone says it is indeed connected to the internet when there's just a 3G-symbol in the status. Anyways..

Even though the messenger dies completly and just as what this threads owner wrote, shows a "wireless connection lost" message when I swich to its contact list window, it sometimes linger in its life span for quite a while. The thing is that it just doesn't get the message instantly. The phone can be in standby mode (really haven't figured that thing out, everybody keeps saying "standby" mode but for what I can tell all that happens is that the display goes of) for sure, and then I write myself a message through the live chat plugin on my site but it takes about 6 to 10 minutes for the phone to give a sound and notice me of this message. Now if this had been a business site you can just imagine how many customers I would have lost during that time. And again, for the most part the live messenger doesn't stay alive for that long, the sites plugin goes offline and then if I turn the phone's display on and access the live messenger it says that the wireless connection has been lost and reconnects.

Moreover, it never gets my plugin to go back online either. For that part to happen, I have to first get online with a desktop client and then again login with my phone. For if I stay online with the desktop client, the phone's client is indeed alive, but won't receive any messages. I have to reconnect with my phone so that my desktop client gets thrown out. But of course, is just a matter of time before my live chat module and my phone's client gets offline and I have to do everything over again. The really annoying part is that the phone's client dies a long time before the site's plugin catch up and goes offline. Hence I might loose a lot of customers who think they are chatting with me but never get a reply.

Given the description above, I think the problem really is that live messenger doesn't ping or talk with its server that often, IF the phone is in standby mode. If it isn't, if the display is turned on, I recieve my messages instantly and everything works just fine (really haven't tested this opinion either, as for now I haven't experienced any problems if I leave the display on). Sure there must be an easy fix for this problem, a small edit to be done in a config file somewhere?

All help and all problem experience is much appreciated.
 

freaknormel

Senior Member
Aug 30, 2007
191
1
The new Messenger doesn't allow you to copy and paste text FROM the conversation or the text box, but you can paste text into it.

Kinda sucks when my friends send me a link to check out in MSN. I recall the old version based on my stock ROM was able to do it.


AM i the only one with this problem ?
I will donate 20 USD for the one who solves this problem
 

CommanderThor

Senior Member
Jan 22, 2009
115
13
Ljubljana
@Habib Molaska

I have 24/7 Live Messenger connection and i never experiance your problems on my xperia X1... As far as i know screen turning off is all that happens in standby, nothing else, so it shouldn't change anything at all. I don'tAs for that H icon it just means HSHPS- faster transfer more power hungry. It turns off and on all the time. But i have GPRS instead of 3G, couse of battery life. 2 days with 2G and 1 day with 3G, when i have 24/7 MSN connection


I do have something else against MS client, no clicking on Links, it would be rly useful. maybe WM7 brings some better stuff :)
 

yunchikan

Senior Member
Apr 1, 2009
72
0
i cant sign in on my first sync with windows live.
but i am thinking it is a problem with the custom rom im using.
it seems that it only works if i do the first sync with wifi
and since i already had my hotmail acc linked to my phone before i installed this new windows live verison.
i am wondering if anyone know how to completely unlink my windows live acc with my phone so i can redo the initial sync?
 

Habib Molaska

Member
Nov 1, 2009
47
0
@CommanderThor

I'll be damn. Did you order your windows live messenger from your operator or anything like that? It never dies on you? You get your messages instantly even if the display has been of for like several hours?

I have a conspiracy theory, that it might be my operator who closes the messenger port or something like that being that instant messaging will make them miss out on sms-profits. I've actually mailed my operator about it and are waiting for a reply.
 

CommanderThor

Senior Member
Jan 22, 2009
115
13
Ljubljana
@Habib Molaska Hm maybe operator is guilty yes. I nver installed Live Messenger myself just used what's there and tried like 30 roms, never a problem. But even if your operator closed connection after some time, Live Messenger would just reestablish a new one.

Aparently your operator closes/delays connection in some strange way, and makes your mobile device think it still has the connection. Try it in WIFI, i think it will work there, if so, not a MSN problem.
 

Habib Molaska

Member
Nov 1, 2009
47
0
@CommanderThor

Nice thought, to try running msn on a wifi connection. I'll try that a little bit later today and report back. Anyway, I think I have kinda solved half the problem. The thing is I launched the windows live application too, so that I had 2 programs running in the taskbar. One being the client with my contact list and just one page of options, the other on being live's main window with its sync options and all that. Anyway, so I had this latter app running in the background too and set it sync options to "always on, download as e-mails arrive". Now what happens is that after a while.. I get logged out due to INACTIVITY! It's true, now when I turn my diisplay back on to see what's up live messenger doesn't say it has lost its wireless connection but says instead that I have been logout due to inactivity from my part! lol, what's up with that?
 

Habib Molaska

Member
Nov 1, 2009
47
0
Updates.

I've tried everything in my power, nothing really works. I've made progress though. If I leave live messenger's both application windows open and running in the background, and I set live to sync my e-mails as items arrive, althought I do not have an e-mail setup in live, the client manage to stay alive. For a certain amount of time. Because then I get a new message.. something about I've been "idle for too long" and have thus been "loged out"? It's like live messenger doesn't want me to be happy. What now? For once I managed to solve that "no wireless network available" problem but now messenger doesn't wanna stay alive even though it's possible when live tries to sync all the time!?