PX5 MTCD Head Unit Discussion Thread [Rockchip PX5 A53 | Android 6.0 | 2GB RAM]

Search This thread

wding2000

Member
May 24, 2020
5
1
GS MTCE 6.0 to 9.0 or 8.0 upgrade

Xtron PX5 2gb/32gb: MTCE_GS_3.40, Android 6.0.1
I previously upgraded to 9.0 (ISD_PX5_9.0_ota_20190505). Everything seems working fine, but BT not working. I was not sure what to do, then downgraded back to 6.0.1.

After reading more on this forum, I realized maybe the build has an issue with SD-968 (appears so from 6.0 factory settings). I am thinking either upgrade to 8.0, or 9.0 again. Anyone know how following on GS and in particular SD-968 BT?
HCT_PX5_9.0_20191216
 

BeardedGears

Senior Member
Apr 10, 2019
85
2
I read through this, and somewhat confused lol, sorry guys, but could someone point me to one that is stable working I can use for this ?

own for a while now a MTCD Android Head Unit with the following specs:

Model: A-Media AUTO (1024x600 W)

Android: 6.0.1

MCU Version: MTCD_GS_V2.32_1 (4th March 2017)

Kernel-Version: 3.10.0 [email protected] #390 (3rd March 2017)

Build-Number: px5-userdebug 6.0.1 MXC89L user.hct.20170304.091130 test-keys

Sent from my [device_name] using XDA-Developers Legacy app
 

marchnz

Senior Member
Nov 26, 2012
4,561
896
NZ
Nope fine on that, just good stable rom needed

Sent from my [device_name] using XDA-Developers Legacy app

Are you sure, from your cross-post:
"do I d/l the android 8 to sdcard and just install it ? or anything I need to do ? do I have to root ?"
https://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=82697625&postcount=1380

You might find the lack of response due to the number of posts dealing with this question. Perhaps read, and then make pointed questions.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: eNubiX and ikerg

ikerg

Senior Member
Xtron PX5 2gb/32gb: MTCE_GS_3.40, Android 6.0.1

I previously upgraded to 9.0 (ISD_PX5_9.0_ota_20190505). Everything seems working fine, but BT not working. I was not sure what to do, then downgraded back to 6.0.1.



After reading more on this forum, I realized maybe the build has an issue with SD-968 (appears so from 6.0 factory settings). I am thinking either upgrade to 8.0, or 9.0 again. Anyone know how following on GS and in particular SD-968 BT?

HCT_PX5_9.0_20191216
https://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?p=82704387

Enviado desde mi SM-G975F mediante Tapatalk
 

mhotti

New member
Sep 13, 2015
3
0
I have a Problem with my Xtrons. Everything worked fine after I swapped out the original Audi Radio with the RNSE looking one from Xtrons. Yesterday I installed a new Amp and Speakers and now theres a hissing/butzing sound when I turn on the car. When the Unit is turned off there is no buzzing, so I guess its the Xtrons Unit. Any fixes?


Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 02:50 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:42 PM ----------

I have a Problem with my Xtrons. Everything worked fine after I swapped out the original Audi Radio with the RNSE looking one from Xtrons. Yesterday I installed a new Amp and Speakers and now theres a hissing/butzing sound when I turn on the car. When the Unit is turned off there is no buzzing, so I guess its the Xtrons Unit. Any fixes?


Gesendet von iPhone mit Tapatalk
I have a XTRONS unit as well with external amp in a VW Touareg. Audi and VW have a lot of electronics. I've tried everything to combat the alternator whine with new ground location, other RCA interconnects, Power Line filters. The only thing that worked for me is a Ground Loop Isolator on the RCA's of the head unit. I get static noise from the Front L & R RCA pre-outs on the XTRONS Unit. Here is the product that worked for me:

 

Spiff198

Member
Aug 21, 2017
42
4
Anyone need xtrons usb cables
 

Attachments

  • 20210513_181155.jpg
    20210513_181155.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 18
  • 20210513_181209.jpg
    20210513_181209.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 18
  • Like
Reactions: BeardedGears

typos1

Senior Member
Apr 3, 2007
9,492
1,739
UK
They look like GS cables, you have a GS unit ? - Xtrons sell units from several different manufacturers, so there are no "Xtrons" cables.
 
  • Like
Reactions: marchnz

sadaghiani

Senior Member
Jun 25, 2011
95
29
I have a XTRONS unit as well with external amp in a VW Touareg. Audi and VW have a lot of electronics. I've tried everything to combat the alternator whine with new ground location, other RCA interconnects, Power Line filters. The only thing that worked for me is a Ground Loop Isolator on the RCA's of the head unit. I get static noise from the Front L & R RCA pre-outs on the XTRONS Unit. Here is the product that worked for me:

the best and cheapest method
use inductor to isolate ac wave mounted on dc
Three inductors in the way of acc wire and battery and negative
 

parislanuit

Member
Aug 2, 2016
20
4
HI, I own an MTCD/E PX5 32GoROM/2GORam unit that i want to upgrade.

The decription is:
Model: A-MEDIA AUTO (1024X600 o)
8 core 64-bit CPU Coretex-A53 @ 1.5G
mcu: mtcd_gs_v2.51_3 may 22 2017 // updated 25juin2021 to mtce_gs_v3.62_3 sept 7 2020
kernel version: 3.10.0
Memory: 2000
Fri Jun 9 2017
build nbr: px5-userdebug 6.0.1 mxc89l user.hct.20170614.164632 test-keys
BT: sd-968

Model: A-MEDIA AUTO (1024X600 o)
8 core 64-bit CPU Coretex-A53 @ 1.5G
mcu: mtcd_gs_v2.51_3 may 22 2017 // updated le 25juin2021 to mtce_gs_v3.62_3 sept 7 2020
kernel version: 3.10.0
Memory: 2000
[email protected] #1019
Fri Jun 9 2017
build nbr: px5-userdebug 6.0.1 mxc89l user.hct.20170614.164632 test-keys

- I have just updated mcu to the latest available firmware v3.62_3 (and became an MTCE unit.
- What Rom should I use ? An android 8, 9 or 10 to upgrade this android 6.01 unit ?...
- Whats the best option to have both a stable and reliable unit with this 2gb system?

Thanks ...
 

Spiff198

Member
Aug 21, 2017
42
4
HI, I own an MTCD/E PX5 32GoROM/2GORam unit that i want to upgrade.

The decription is:
Model: A-MEDIA AUTO (1024X600 o)
8 core 64-bit CPU Coretex-A53 @ 1.5G
mcu: mtcd_gs_v2.51_3 may 22 2017 // updated 25juin2021 to mtce_gs_v3.62_3 sept 7 2020
kernel version: 3.10.0
Memory: 2000
Fri Jun 9 2017
build nbr: px5-userdebug 6.0.1 mxc89l user.hct.20170614.164632 test-keys
BT: sd-968

Model: A-MEDIA AUTO (1024X600 o)
8 core 64-bit CPU Coretex-A53 @ 1.5G
mcu: mtcd_gs_v2.51_3 may 22 2017 // updated le 25juin2021 to mtce_gs_v3.62_3 sept 7 2020
kernel version: 3.10.0
Memory: 2000
[email protected] #1019
Fri Jun 9 2017
build nbr: px5-userdebug 6.0.1 mxc89l user.hct.20170614.164632 test-keys

- I have just updated mcu to the latest available firmware v3.62_3 (and became an MTCE unit.
- What Rom should I use ? An android 8, 9 or 10 to upgrade this android 6.01 unit ?...
- Whats the best option to have both a stable and reliable unit with this 2gb system?

Thanks ...

HI, I own an MTCD/E PX5 32GoROM/2GORam unit that i want to upgrade.

The decription is:
Model: A-MEDIA AUTO (1024X600 o)
8 core 64-bit CPU Coretex-A53 @ 1.5G
mcu: mtcd_gs_v2.51_3 may 22 2017 // updated 25juin2021 to mtce_gs_v3.62_3 sept 7 2020
kernel version: 3.10.0
Memory: 2000
Fri Jun 9 2017
build nbr: px5-userdebug 6.0.1 mxc89l user.hct.20170614.164632 test-keys
BT: sd-968

Model: A-MEDIA AUTO (1024X600 o)
8 core 64-bit CPU Coretex-A53 @ 1.5G
mcu: mtcd_gs_v2.51_3 may 22 2017 // updated le 25juin2021 to mtce_gs_v3.62_3 sept 7 2020
kernel version: 3.10.0
Memory: 2000
[email protected] #1019
Fri Jun 9 2017
build nbr: px5-userdebug 6.0.1 mxc89l user.hct.20170614.164632 test-keys

- I have just updated mcu to the latest available firmware v3.62_3 (and became an MTCE unit.
- What Rom should I use ? An android 8, 9 or 10 to upgrade this android 6.01 unit ?...
- Whats the best option to have both a stable and reliable unit with this 2gb system?

Thanks ...
Look up hal9k rom
 

parislanuit

Member
Aug 2, 2016
20
4
Thanks.
Anyone knows or has tested Android 10 on a PX5 with 2GB of ram? does it works Fine?
Got a reply from "alex s android radio" on youtube due to possible issue wit BT sd-968 its better for me to stick to A9 as an easy workaround exists in case my BT driver faces compatibility problems as mentionned here and there.
Seems 2gb ram is not too much of a problem but i may post here in case it is.
 

Cellencer

Member
Mar 16, 2021
5
0
I installed 2 additional monitors in the headrests that I wanted to connect to the radio.
From what I've read, the VIDEO OUT output is only activated when playing DVD from the drive.
You know much better about the software on the radio, maybe there is some way to permanently turn on the VIDEO OUT output? Maybe there is what app that can do this?
No Signal is displayed on the monitors
 

ikerg

Senior Member
I installed 2 additional monitors in the headrests that I wanted to connect to the radio.
From what I've read, the VIDEO OUT output is only activated when playing DVD from the drive.
You know much better about the software on the radio, maybe there is some way to permanently turn on the VIDEO OUT output? Maybe there is what app that can do this?
No Signal is displayed on the monitors
Video out (hdmi) was part of the px5 and px6 models (now is being removed) .... on units with no DVD drive.... did you check the factory settings if there is specific option for video out?
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 14
    I thought it would be better if we consolidated all the discussion on the PX5 head units into a single thread and I will try my best to group all the useful information in the first few posts when more information becomes available. I think this will help with discussion on these head units and help improve everyone's experience

    Post 2: Firmware
    Post 3: Tips, Tricks and Fixes - Rooting instruction here
    Post 4: Bugs/Issues
    Post 5: Useful apps
    Post 6: Useful links

    For those not familiar with the PX5 Head unit, the specs are below:
    OS: Android 6.0 Marshmallow
    CPU: Rockchip PX5 A53 Octa-Core
    RAM: 2GB DDR3
    ROM: 32GB
    Audio output: 4*45W
    Features:
    1. Built-in Radio Tuner (RDS Enabled) (18 FM and 12 AM stations Preset)
    2. Built-in USB & SD Slot
    3. Region Free DVD Player
    4. Screen Mirroring
    5. Steering wheel controls (SWC) and Canbus interface
    Optional compatible accessories:
    • DAB+ USB Tuner
    • TPMS
    • 4G/3G Dongle
    • OBD02 Module
    • Camera
    • DVR
    • External Mic

    The head unit comprises of two parts:
    • a MicroController Unit(MCU) board, which controls physical buttons and A/V inputs/outputs to/from the headunit. This board interacts with Android OS.
    • ANDROID part. The main Operating System.
    Both MCU and Android ROM interact together to achieve the functionality of the head unit.

    Manufacturers/reseller:
    • GS - XTRONS
    • HA - HotAudio/Dasaita
    • KGL - Erisins
    • MX - Witson
    • LM - Erisins/Pumpkin

    A comparison between PX3 and PX5 can be found posted here by @FauxDreams with some previous discussion on PX5 in that thread as well:
    PX3 Vs. PX5 initial impressions, some issues/findings after a day of ownership etc

    Some information I found on the CPU:
    Rockchip PX5 Press Release
    12
    I got the device on RX5.
    I started work on the firmware.
    11
    *Warning: Do not install 1024x600 fw on 800x480 HU*
    It has been reported that it will not display properly once installed.

    An update usually consist of two files:
    The Android ROM (update.zip) and it is usually compatible with any head unit of the same model (MTCD) and CPU (PX5).
    The MCU (dmcu.img) is specific for each manufacturer and it should never be updated on other manufacturer's MCU update file (unpredicted response from physical buttons - or CAN bus responses, or bricking the unit).
    However, it has been tested and confirmed that JY, KD, GD and now HA MCU are cross-compatible Verified cross compatible MCU thread (thanks for info @marchnz(
    Update at your own risk!

    Installation instruction:
    Unzip update.img to the root of the GPS SD Card.
    Make sure you Don't include the dmcu.img if your MCU does not match the MCU of the firmware.

    Latest Stock Firmware/Custom Firmware/MCU:
    Please refer to this thread post by @ikerg for latest up to date firmware/mcu info:
    https://forum.xda-developers.com/an...x5-headunits-repository-t3619906/post72622240
    9
    Update 2017-11-07: The new versions of my modded DAB App can be found here:
    https://forum.xda-developers.com/an...b-app-realzoulous-modded-version-com-t3609608

    ---------------------------------
    I took above DAB+ App "YHX_DAB+20170328.apk" and created my own one.
    With less bugs and even more features.

    YHX_DAB+20170328-zoulou-2017-04-09.apk

    Download: https://www.dropbox.com/s/7j1jokityvyv8vb/YHX_DAB+20170328-zoulou-2017-04-09.zip?dl=0

    o5sHY6.jpg

    728oum.jpg


    Change Log (compared to YHX_DAB+20170328.apk)
    - Enormously reduced CPU consumption
    - No audio stuttering when app running in background
    - black background image
    - bigger display of station logo
    - changed "radio" logo => "DAB+"
    - station name is bigger and has same color as signal bars
    - moved PTY info more to the left
    - First entry in station list is padded
    - NEW: station frequency is shown below the signal bars
    - NEW: Record audio of currently playing station. On/Off with the red button right hand-side of the signal bars
    - NEW: Another way to filter station list for only specific PTY

    ATTENTION: You *must* first uninstall the "old" DAB+ app. No update is possible! Then install this one.

    FYI: This app will cease to start after March 2018.
    8
    Done !!!
    I want to express special thanks to the good guys with the XDA forum !!

    trap63 :good:
    AIautobot :good:
    maxego :good:
    Henk_TB706APL :good:
    ChromeSkull :good:
    sirleeofroy :good:
    eter711 :good:
    aeonfluxcapacitor :good:
    mojo4321 :good:
    Dragos :good:
    th1000 :good:
    McIber :good:
    Bernd :good:
    Ebay :good:
    Mattsch :good:
    kmr3209 :good:
    Adam :good:
    Dan :good:
    aarick :good:
    In 2-3 weeks I will be with you! I'll order the device today!
    Wait for the new theme "[ROM][PX5 A53][HD] Malaysk ROMs for any yet known MTCD-Device" :):):)