Q/A: How to Unlock Zenfone 2 ZE550ML/ZE551ML's Bootloader by Unofficial Method?

Search This thread

Flynhx

Jun 16, 2015
/system/lost+found
Hello guys, i'm planning to unlock my phone's bootloader, since its my first time on my Zenfone(I only use tethered recovery to flash root and xposed, i also have experience of unlocking the bootloader before on my previous device Xperia ZR but done it in a official way) i was wondering if the unofficial method i'm reading on some sites won't void my Asus warranty?

If any of this links is the right tutorial for unlocking bootloader in a unofficial way, kindly tell me if its still working for the latest 2.20.40.184 LP Firmware:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/zenf...-root-t3155884
http://forum.xda-developers.com/zenf...ocked-t3138547

Reactions: amedian

Flynhx

Jun 16, 2015
/system/lost+found
Last edited:

yakub234go

Sep 9, 2011
Mumbai
I see, after using the unofficial unlocker asus won't recognize my device from using it right? so i still got my warranty even if i flash MM Beta to relock my bootloader?

Sent from my ASUS_Z00AD using XDA-Developers mobile app

Yes if they don't find it via other means then u r ok with warranty
I don't recommend flashing the MM Beta Firmware cause it can potentially brick ur device

Reactions: Flynhx

Flynhx

Jun 16, 2015
/system/lost+found
Yes if they don't find it via other means then u r ok with warranty
I don't recommend flashing the MM Beta Firmware cause it can potentially brick ur device

Actually, i already tried MM Beta before but i got annoyed by the bugs and lack of root functionality before so i reverted back to LP Stock.
Gonna wait for the MM Final release instead, atleast now i know how to unlock bootloader when MM Final is release incase there's no Tethered Recovery yet. thanks again for the response and tip. :)

yakub234go

Sep 9, 2011
Mumbai