[Q] Lollipop or custom rom for Sony E4g?

Search This thread

Drudoo

Apr 22, 2015
(was directed to this forum from the XDA Assist)

I'm very new to Android (been using iPhone since its release) but i got a Sony Xperia E4g as a gift from my carrier and I would like to update it to Lollipop or root it and get something like MIUI on it. This that possible?
I would like to get rid of all the Xperia software and just get a clean Android install like Nexus phones have.

Reactions: ShadowElite

Vynikal

Sep 29, 2012
(was directed to this forum from the XDA Assist)

I'm very new to Android (been using iPhone since its release) but i got a Sony Xperia E4g as a gift from my carrier and I would like to update it to Lollipop or root it and get something like MIUI on it. This that possible?
I would like to get rid of all the Xperia software and just get a clean Android install like Nexus phones have.
Mediatek chipset --> no custom ROMs for you, deal with it

vinay

Oct 19, 2013
Alright, think of me as completely android noob. What are these two links about ? How do they help me with getting lollipop on my phone? I am not expecting a one click install, but please point me to a guide.

you can think of source code as a raw materiel of android kernel.
which you/someone has to compile to get a kernel which you can flash on your device.

and you can modify raw meterial to do anything you want to do with your kernel.
for example disabling system write protection (sony_ric) adding custom recovery(cwm) overclocking ,undervolting etc.

and if you get enough experience you can port lollypop or cynogenmod12 to your device.

-----------------------
developers uses source codes to develop rom,s/kernel,s

Drudoo

Apr 22, 2015
you can think of source code as a raw materiel of android kernel.
which you/someone has to compile to get a kernel which you can flash on your device.

and you can modify raw meterial to do anything you want to do with your kernel.