Recovery Software for root content - /data/data after factory reset?

Search This thread

TehEvil

Jul 13, 2016
Hey guys, I've got a problem. I want to restore my com.whatsapp dir in /data/data/, is that possible somehow? Someone had a similar problem back in 2015 and it is said that he could not restore any, but I have software which backed up all videos and photos, but it didn't recover the files I wanted (because you only could choose things like: doc's, pics, movies etc).

Do you guys have an idea, please?
Or do you guys know how to verify whatsapp? I've been using my old number for 5 years now, 2-3 years ago I got a new sim card. Since then, I've always made a backup with titanium or took the backup from whatsapp itself and if you enter ur number and whatsapp recognized a backup, it didn't have to verify anymore. But it's been changed now somehow, they want to verify one's number and then it'll first try backing up (but I do not have that sim anymore). And unfortunately, titanium backup made a corrupt file exactly with the whatsapp file <_<

Thanks in Advance!

prahladyeri

Jun 2, 2013
India
prahladyeri.github.io
WhatsApp doesn't store your media (received images, videos, chat messages, etc.) in the com.whatsapp folder in /data/data, but it stores it in your internal sdcard itself in a folder named WhatsApp. Take that folder with you and put it in the new phone/tablet where you want to continue your WhatsApp usage.

Verification is straight-forward. All you have to do is do a fresh install of WhatsApp on this new phone/tab of yours and start it. If you had placed this backed-up WhatsApp folder on the internal sdcard of the new device, WhatsApp will ask you and automatically import this media on your new device.

Hope that helps.

TehEvil

Jul 13, 2016
Hello, thank you for your help.