[REF] The truth about flash [RFS][EXT4][Bad Blocks][Real Numbers][noatime]

Search This thread

plapczyn

Retired Recognized Developer
Background:
Ok, so I write flash drivers for a living, so I would consider myself somewhat knowledgeable regarding flash technology.

The flash is erased in 128k blocks and written in smaller pages. Data, once written, cannot be changed until you erase, so the FS will write to another page and invalidate the current page. The 100k program/erase cycle count is on a per block basis. It is not being erased every time you write a file, so calm down, your phone isn't going to die. The 10 year data retention time that people are quoting has nothing to do with this. It is how long once programmed...and not changed...data is guaranteed to be valid for.

The only thing that you need to remotely consider...and needs to actually be verified, is whether RFS actually writes to the file system more or less than EXT4, and how much more. The data wear leveling is done on a lower layer than the file system and Dameon87 already confirmed both RFS and EXT4 are using the same sector translation layer.

Sources:
XDA Post linking RFS documentation: http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=801223
Reliability: http://www.samsung.com/global/busin...s/fusionmemory/Products_FAQs_Reliability.html
Datasheet: http://www.datasheetcatalog.org/datasheets2/12/1248447_1.pdf
Attached are app notes on RFS.

Regarding RFS:
RFS Programming Guide said:
STL Block Device Driver: This block device driver is used to provide driver functions for the device files /dev/stl0/*, /dev/stl1/* and so on. Since there is FTL between this block device driver and BML, it is allowed to perform random write requests and write requests are handled atomically. Thus any read-write file system (e.g. RFS) can run on this block device driver.