• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!

[ROM][8.1] LAVA IRIS 88s CLEAN and Stock ROM's 2018 / 2019 - MODIFIED 2019

Search This thread

Ryuuske01

Aug 25, 2020
Hello there,

so this is my first time I am actually posting a guide ( sort of…this is more like a story of my journey)
*Hope that i followed all the rules regards posting here

I got to this point because of a virus that affects the MTK chipsets.

I am using the Lava IRIS 88s (for work purposes) and that thing got a nice little virus, which is exploiting MTK-SU - the user diplomatic stumbled upon this ( thread is here: LINK ).

Read more about the Virus:

XDA Post about the rootkit which the Virus uses: https://www.xda-developers.com/mediatek-su-rootkit-exploit/

The virus could not be gotten rid of even with a normal Factory reset. It just returned as if nothing ever happened, under different names.
Antiviruses didn’t pick it up always, believe me I tried basically all of them. The most information from the antiviruses gave me actually Dr.Web Antivirus – which lead me to suspect the Typany Keyboard and Lava Touchpal.

So since I had flashed custom ROM’s before, I wanted to do that to this phone.
As a lazy guy, I started searching for already made custom ROM’s which surprisingly was hard for IRIS 88s.
After a while of digging I found some Stock and custom firmware, but they required to get passwords to extract them. After asking for the passwords and since I am an impatient guy also – I started digging around how to make my own custom rom. Adb, Kitchen, Fastboot, MTKtools, SP Flashtool, WWR and much more that I tried and researched.

So here is thanks to the people whose shared knowledge led me to this point.

diplomatic– MTK-SU, Temporary root
demkantor– Fastboot
Jrummy – root browser
topjohnwu – Magisk, Magisk Manager app
Team Vanced - awsome work!

And a very very large thanks to: