[ROM][SM-T500] Samsung Galaxy Tab A7 10.4 (2020) - LineageOS 19.1 (and TWRP 3.6.1)

Search This thread

Kudalufi

Member
Jun 16, 2012
32
9
Thanks!!
It finally works as intended
But there is no Gapps installed
Sounds like you installed a vanilla GSI, rather than one with gapps. Reports are that flame gapps does not work with Andy Yan's builds. I haven't tried myself as I use microG. You have two options:
  1. Just use the right GSI. There are ones with gapps. I recommend https://sourceforge.net/projects/an...UNOFFICIAL-arm64_bgS-vndklite.img.xz/download
  2. You can continue to use a vanilla build and install microG to have a replacement to some gapps services. You can use the Aurora store app for access to the Google stor apps and can install and use most any individual google app, though there are good non-google alternatives to most everything. But there are drawbacks. I'll post complete instructions if anyone is interested.
If you pick #1 then you should be able to just use twrp to dd in the new GSI (as per the OP's GSI instructions) then wipe dalvik and cache only, and then reboot. Don't think you need to wipe data. Do know that this will undo the brightness fix and any modules you've installed with magisk.

If you're going to use your tablet for real, then (if you haven't) I recommend getting the zram swap running as per instructions earlier in this thread.
 

Hausemaster

Senior Member
Dec 2, 2020
438
110
Steps
1) After installing V4A module, first open the app and press ok when it prompts you to install driver
2) It'll install the driver and will then reboot automatically
3) after reboot, open v4a app click on gear icon and enable 'legacy mode', after that go back and enable "Master limiter"
4) Download the file attached here and extract it using RAR app as anything other than that breaks the file, and also install a root browser from Play Store
5) Open your root browser and then copy the extracted file to "Android>data>com.pittvandewitt.viperfx>files>Kernel"
6) After doing so, open the V4A app, then enable "Convolver", then tap on it,
7) it'll expand the option, there you'll see "Impulse response" and it'll be blank,
8) tap on it and it'll show you the name of the file you copied earlier, tap on it to select it
9) after this, a new option named "Cross channel" will appear under "impulse response"
10) set the cross channel percentage to "25%" (it should look something like this after you followed these steps)

View attachment 5612343

After this, try playing audio in landscape it should work fine...
PS: Please post the end result I'm interested to know if it works for everyone...
Guys, I got all 4 speakers working by setting cross channel to 100% after following steps 1 to 9 please try it and report back, please!
 

Hausemaster

Senior Member
Dec 2, 2020
438
110
Follow these in phh settings for Maximum chance for above fix to work!
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20220520-095948_PhhTrebleApp.png
    Screenshot_20220520-095948_PhhTrebleApp.png
    169.2 KB · Views: 78

GyuminLeo

Member
Feb 1, 2020
37
6
LG G4
LG V20
Is there any roms other than LOS?
Or is there non gsi rom? Like installing it with the zip file?

And is there a way to change the phone model? Some of my apps depend on models
 

Hausemaster

Senior Member
Dec 2, 2020
438
110
Yes, though I advise not flashing magisk. The ROM is rooted and installing magisk will cause it to reboot a few minutes after boot. I'm still working on a fix for that.
Just out of curiosity, why does it do that though, did samsung add any service that watches for suspicious traces like magisk in our case?
 
  • Like
Reactions: UC666

Kudalufi

Member
Jun 16, 2012
32
9
Just out of curiosity, why does it do that though, did samsung add any service that watches for suspicious traces like magisk in our case?
The ROM isn't properly rooted. It has a back door to root for the PHH settings to use. It doesn't a appear to allow apps root access.

Magisk doesn't seem to cause a reboot by itself. At least not v23 that I use. There is a problem when you have Magisk Hide enabled. If you enable Magisk Hide AND then reboot with it enabled, then the device will continue to spontaneously reboot about 90 seconds after each boot. It will do this until you disable Magisk Hide again

If you want to use Magisk Hide, you have to turn it on, activate it for the app you want to use, use the app, then turn off Magisk Hide before you reboot the device.

Other than Magisk Hide, everything else about Magisk appears to work.
 

Hausemaster

Senior Member
Dec 2, 2020
438
110
The ROM isn't properly rooted. It has a back door to root for the PHH settings to use. It doesn't a appear to allow apps root access.

Magisk doesn't seem to cause a reboot by itself. At least not v23 that I use. There is a problem when you have Magisk Hide enabled. If you enable Magisk Hide AND then reboot with it enabled, then the device will continue to spontaneously reboot about 90 seconds after each boot. It will do this until you disable Magisk Hide again

If you want to use Magisk Hide, you have to turn it on, activate it for the app you want to use, use the app, then turn off Magisk Hide before you reboot the device.

Other than Magisk Hide, everything else about Magisk appears to work.
For me though, it rebooted constantly even at the setup wizard itself and I'm pretty sure that magisk hide doesn't enable itself automatically on first run of the system so maybe it's because I used the Canary zygisk for root...
 

Jim in CA

Member
Sep 21, 2021
11
3
I installed Lineage 19.1 following the procedure in the OP. I loaded the stock ROM version specified via Odin before I started. The installation went well. But there were a few issues with the ROM. There is the issue with the brightness, which I can work around. Having TWRP boot back into TWRP unless you use the exit_twrp command is a PITA. These are well documented on here.

I also found issue with not being able to access files from my PC via USB. I also had a problem with accessing my OTG flash drive in TWRP. These were fixed by installing the SM-T500-GSI-kernel.zip file I found in another thread on here.

But my unresolved issue is with charging the tablet when the tablet is off. When charging, the tablet does not display the level of charge. The circle is empty. In addition, when I unplug the charging cable, the screen stays on this charging display, and will not shut off. I have to press the Power key for 10 seconds to get it to turn off the screen. Anybody else see this issue? It seems to charge normally when the tablet is turned on. I had the same issue with the previous Lineage 18.1 ROM by the same developer.

As a side note, I did try using the Updater in the syster instead of following the update procedure in the OP. It downloaded and installed, and worked! But the update did not include Gapps, and my MTP fix no longer worked. I installed the MindTheGapps and the kernal zip file again in TWRP, and that fixed both, updated to the 5-10-22 version of Andy Yan's GSI.
 
  • Like
Reactions: wizzdome

Hausemaster

Senior Member
Dec 2, 2020
438
110
I installed Lineage 19.1 following the procedure in the OP. I loaded the stock ROM version specified via Odin before I started. The installation went well. But there were a few issues with the ROM. There is the issue with the brightness, which I can work around. Having TWRP boot back into TWRP unless you use the exit_twrp command is a PITA. These are well documented on here.

I also found issue with not being able to access files from my PC via USB. I also had a problem with accessing my OTG flash drive in TWRP. These were fixed by installing the SM-T500-GSI-kernel.zip file I found in another thread on here.

But my unresolved issue is with charging the tablet when the tablet is off. When charging, the tablet does not display the level of charge. The circle is empty. In addition, when I unplug the charging cable, the screen stays on this charging display, and will not shut off. I have to press the Power key for 10 seconds to get it to turn off the screen. Anybody else see this issue? It seems to charge normally when the tablet is turned on. I had the same issue with the previous Lineage 18.1 ROM by the same developer.

As a side note, I did try using the Updater in the syster instead of following the update procedure in the OP. It downloaded and installed, and worked! But the update did not include Gapps, and my MTP fix no longer worked. I installed the MindTheGapps and the kernal zip file again in TWRP, and that fixed both, updated to the 5-10-22 version of Andy Yan's GSI.
The charging when tab is powered off is common for almost all of us, as, I have the same issue here..
 

runswithascript

Senior Member
Sep 23, 2012
160
6
Dublin
  1. You can continue to use a vanilla build and install microG to have a replacement to some gapps services. You can use the Aurora store app for access to the Google stor apps and can install and use most any individual google app, though there are good non-google alternatives to most everything. But there are drawbacks. I'll post complete instructions if anyone is interested.

I am interested in complete instructions for the most degoogled way to setup this ROM with as much working functionality as possible. Please share.

I see references to setting up MicroG without GApps during install and with, and I have been wondering if the latter means removing GApps post install or how it works exactly. Ideally I would use GrapheneOS but as not an option I would like to get as close to it as possible.
 

Kudalufi

Member
Jun 16, 2012
32
9
I am interested in complete instructions for the most degoogled way to setup this ROM with as much working functionality as possible. Please share.

I see references to setting up MicroG without GApps during install and with, and I have been wondering if the latter means removing GApps post install or how it works exactly. Ideally I would use GrapheneOS but as not an option I would like to get as close to it as possible.
It's actually not all that hard to get microG on. The pain is that the LineageOS devs are allergic to including signature spoofing, so this has to get sorted first. That's 99% of the pain. Fortunately it's mostly doable with magisk modules:
  1. Install Magisk if you haven't. I recommend version 23. Just copy the magisk apk to the ext sdcard and flash it like a zip with TWRP.
  2. Enable signature spoofing. Do this by installing the magisk modules "riru" and "riru - LSPosed". When the latter is installed and yourv system restarted, you should have a LSPosed app. If you run it it will give you the option of hiding the app and in the settings you can create a shortcut. Once this is done, then install the LSPosed plugin "fakegapps" (version 2). You should now have signature spoofing.
  3. Install the magisk module for microgG (microG Installer Revived)
Once this is all done, run microG and run its self check.

Remember, by default microG still talks to Google. It tries to limit the damage, but I suggest familiarising yourself with it. Also some of the location modules that are available for it are somewhat privacy invasive (OSM, for example, logs your IP and location with every address query if you use the Nominatim back end). I like that I can set it up to disable push notifications (which of course go through Google servers) and/or make it ask for permission every time an app tries to register.

You can use the Aurora store and get access to paid apps too. You can pick your level of engagement with Google.

Some other suggestions if you don't already:
  • Use app manager from f-droid to block any trackers it finds on G-store apps you use. Do this every time you install an app. Some very few apps don't work with all their trackers blocked, but most do.
  • Bromite is a good degoogled browser
  • Magc Earth is a good real-time replacement for Googke Maps, though it's admittedly not as comprehensive.
  • For a great offline map/navigation app (uses pre-downloaded maps) I highly recommend osmand (f-droid). You never have to worry about lifting cell signal again, you'll always keep navigating.
 

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 13
    Hello world, I have successfully built LineageOS 19.1 with Gapps for the SM-T500 (Tab A7 10.4 2020) using Andy Yan's LOS GSIs. Lineage is current as of 3/24/2022. I have also compiled TWRP version 3.6.1, based on Android 11 (previous release was Android 10-based). I have attempted to make this install as painless as possible. Please read the notes below carefully. WARNING: you are responsible for your own actions, so please be careful. If you brick something, that's on you.
    1. Update to latest stock ROM as of 3/24/2022 (T500XXU3BVB3).
    2. Unlock bootloader using steps described in this thread. Make sure that after your device wipes and reboots after the bootloader is unlocked that you go through the setup wizard again and back into Developer Settings and enable OEM Unlocking. I think you need to connect to wifi for this option to appear, so if you don't see it try that.
    3. Boot to download mode, then install VBMeta Disabler via Odin.
    4. Reboot to download mode, then install TWRP via Odin.
    5. Reboot to download mode again, then install LineageOS via Odin.
    6. Boot to TWRP, push "fix_brightness.sh" to the device and run it, then format data.
    That should be all that is necessary. If you get stuck in a loop with TWRP where you can't boot to system (seems to happen regularly to me) I included a script in TWRP that should get you out. From the TWRP cli run the command "exit_twrp". It will say "out of space" when finished (instantly). Then reboot to system. If for some reason that still doesn't work and you boot back to TWRP, repeat.

    Known Issues:
    • OS-encrypted storage (Internal Data) not able to be decrypted in TWRP.
    • TWRP touchscreen seems to be unresponsive for several seconds upon first booting into TWRP. Just patiently wait a few seconds and try again.
    • You'll see errors in TWRP about /keyrefuge, etc. Ignore that. I believe it's related to the inability to decrypt internal storage using FBE.
    • Installing Gapps (Nik and Flame) doesn't work, but no worry because the ROM includes Gapps :)
    • Security: by default this ROM has root access and USB debugging (adb) is enabled unsecured. Anyone can plug into it and have full root access. So disable USB debugging if you don't want that! TWRP is the same way, though data is encrypted. Someone could install malware into your system partition though. In short, this is for hobbyists, not someone with security concerns.
    Sources:
    Files:
    Updates:
    • You can update this ROM yourself by installing a new GSI to the system partition.
      • Download new GSI from here onto Micro SD card: https://sourceforge.net/projects/andyyan-gsi/files/lineage-19.x/
      • Boot into TWRP
      • Run command: blockdev --setrw /dev/block/mapper/system
      • Run command: dd if=/external_sd/<your_downloaded_gsi.img> of=/dev/block/mapper/system bs=1M
      • Wait for dd command to finish, then reboot into system. Don't forget to use "exit_twrp" command if you keep booting into TWRP.
    3
    First time flashing Samsung, first time using heimdall instead of Odin in Archlinux. These are the steps I switched from Odin following the instructions from https://forum.xda-developers.com/m/agreenbhm.2655703/ on the first post in this thread https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/...eos-19-1-and-twrp-3-6-1.4421365/post-86632267 :

    #Installed Heimdall from AUR
    Install with AUR package manager of choice https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/heimdall-git
    ###Flash Untarred vbmeta_disabled_R.tar
    heimdall flash --VBMETA vbmeta.img --no-reboot
    ###Flash untarred TWRP
    heimdall flash --RECOVERY recovery.img
    ###Flash untarred and unlz4ed LineageOS
    heimdall flash --SUPER super.img
    ###Rebooted into TWRP
    adb push fix_brightness.sh /
    adb shell
    chmod +x fix_brightness.sh
    ./fix_brightness.sh
    ###Format Data in TWRP
    ###Reboot System in TWRP
    Kept rebooting into TWRP
    adb shell
    exit_twrp


    Worked well except the reported WiFI problem. XSA (Australia) variant.

    Tried following agreenbhm's instructions from https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/...eos-19-1-and-twrp-3-6-1.4421365/post-86693825

    #check for last version of stock firmware
    samloader -m SM-T500 -r XSA checkupdate
    #Download last version of stock firmware
    samloader -m SM-T500 -r XSA download -v T500XXU3BVB4/T500OLM3BVB4/T500XXU3BVB4/T500XXU3BVB4 -O .
    #Unencrypt it
    samloader -m SM-T500 -r XSA decrypt -v T500XXU3BVB4/T500OLM3BVB4/T500XXU3BVB4/T500XXU3BVB4 -V 4 -i SM-T500_1_20220304080951_2k076a7d3v_fac.zip.enc4 -o SM-T500_1_20220304080951_2k076a7d3v_fac.zip
    #Unzip
    unzip SM-T500_1_20220304080951_2k076a7d3v_fac.zip
    #Used Odin3 to flash
    BL -> BL_T500XXU3BVB4_CL23447145_QB49681114_REV00_user_low_ship_MULTI_CERT.tar.md5
    AP -> AP_T500XXU3BVB4_CL23447145_QB49681114_REV00_user_low_ship_MULTI_CERT_meta_RKEY_OS11.tar.md5
    CSC -> CSC_OMC_OLM_T500OLM3BVB4_CL23447145_QB49681114_REV00_user_low_ship_MULTI_CERT.tar.md5

    *Checks WiFi, it works.

    #Download Mode
    heimdall flash --VBMETA vbmeta_disabled_R.img
    #Reboot Download Mode
    heimdall flash --RECOVERY recovery.img
    #Boot into TWRP
    adb shell
    blockdev --setrw /dev/block/mapper/system
    dd if=/external_sd/lineage-19.1-20220320-UNOFFICIAL-arm64_bgS-vndklite.img of=/dev/block/mapper/system bs=1M
    #Reboot system
    Stuck rebooting in TWRP
    There is no exit_twrp anymore
    adb shell
    dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/by-name/misc
    #Reboot system

    *Still reboot loops into TWRP
    When I wipe dalvik, data and cache. I get errors:
    Failed to mount /keydata (invalid argument)
    Failed to mount /keyrefuge (invalid argument)

    #Enter TWRP
    Format Data
    adb shell
    dd if=/dev/zero of=/dev/block/by-name/misc
    #Reboot System
    #Fix Brightness
    adb reboot recovery
    adb push fix_brightness.sh /
    adb shell
    chmod +x fix_brightness.sh
    ./fix_brightness.sh
    #Reboot System


    Boots into Lineage and WiFi works!
    Thanks agreenbhm!
    2
    Then yes vbmeta flahed on userdata odin ..here once was successful.then another attempt red notice appear only official files can be flashed (vbmeta)....this way.

    I remember in my attempt on Skyhawk recovery. Flashed both vbmeta and recovery one sitting in ap for recovery userdata for vbmeta..then press conbination buttons power off volume up volume down all together 😁😁😁. And. Da da .wowo i am in eecovery working fine .
    So my reading on flashing are different methods i get lost . What is the proper one .
    🤔🤔🤔
    Firsh of all, what worked on one install, won't work on another. I depends on what the DEV included in their tar. Some include vbmeta and recovery in their ROM. This one doesn't. You have to start from stock, FACTORY RESET, flash vbmeta, FACTORY RESET, and then flash TWRP.
    And each time connect wifi and enable DEV mode.
    2
    I'm having problems with the wifi, i can't turn it on, it's normal?
    2
    Should we flash VBmeta and recovery to the AP using Odin?
    Yes.