[ROOT] CF-autoroot - Galaxy Tab S2 - SM-T710/T810/T715/T815 [19/9/15]

ashyx

Recognized Contributor
Oct 14, 2012
15,110
9,831
0
INFO:

This is a port of CF-autoroot for the Tab S2

You use this at your own discretion, rooting or modifying carries risks, albeit low.
It's is advisable to make sure you have the stock firmware to hand just in case.

This will trip the knox flag thereby potentially voiding your warranty.
I hold no responsibility in any case if you decide to flash this product.

NOTE: PLEASE DO NOT DIRECT LINK TO THESE FILES, PLEASE LINK TO THIS POST.


LOLLIPOP 5.0.2 ONLY:

smt810_cf_autoroot

sm-t815_cf_autoroot

smt710_cf-autoroot

smt715_cf-autoroot

LOLLIPOP 5.1.1:
NOTE: YOU WILL NEED TO FLASH MY CUSTOM KERNEL FIRST TO ROOT ON LOLLIPOP 5.1.1.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=3205831

t810_cf-autoroot_5.1.1

t710_cf-autoroot_5.1.1

FOR T817 models see this link:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=3222773

GUIDE:
http://www.theandroidsoul.com/samsung-galaxy-tab-s2-root-sm-t810-sm-t710-sm-t715-84217/


Please give feedback and hit that THANKS :good: button if I have helped you.
Hit and run is not nice.


DONATE ME HERE IF YOU LIKE MY WORK

Credits to Chainfire for his excellent work. Suzook and anyone that helped test.


.
 
Last edited:

Gray44

Senior Member
Dec 13, 2010
156
38
48
Nice to have root before holding my tablet :D

and yes, they should make a new section for the S2.
Problem is that more and more topics of the S2 will show up and they will pollute the S1 forums.
 

ashyx

Recognized Contributor
Oct 14, 2012
15,110
9,831
0
Nice to have root before holding my tablet :D

and yes, they should make a new section for the S2.
Problem is that more and more topics of the S2 will show up and they will pollute the S1 forums.
I don't see a problem combining the tab s2 and tab s forums as long as people make it clear which model they have.
They are still basically the same tablet.
Its the same at other forums on xda.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Crown_Industries®

dubbactrumpetmsu

Senior Member
Oct 5, 2010
308
64
0
I don't see a problem combining the tab s2 and tab s forums as long as people make it clear which model they have.
They are still basically the same tablet.
Its the same at other forums on xda.
You could say that for almost every device, but I'd personally much rather have a separate forum for it. But that's just me. I'm sure it'll be a while before we get roms anyway.
 
  • Like
Reactions: winnaingoo714

ashyx

Recognized Contributor
Oct 14, 2012
15,110
9,831
0
You could say that for almost every device, but I'd personally much rather have a separate forum for it. But that's just me. I'm sure it'll be a while before we get roms anyway.
Well if you feel that strongly about it let your feelings be known to the site admins. :eek:
 

lonelime

Senior Member
May 12, 2011
306
76
0
Rooted for Android 5.1.1?

Hi Ashyx,

Can you check if I can use the CF-auto root for 5.02 and use it on 5.1.1?

just in case i have recovery.img for 5.1.1 below, thanks a bunch !!!

https://mega.nz/#!dRhkEIgL!H0Y4HOuNSnazgp97-ZTTfQ6NgaLDrJta4V5EfD2zSIE

Model SM-T710
Model name Galaxy Tab S2 8.0 Wi-Fi
Country Canada
Version Android 5.1.1
Changelist 5659114
Build date Fri, 21 Aug 2015 09:59:53 +0000
Product code XAC
PDA T710XXU1BOH6
CSC T710XAC1BOH6
 

ashyx

Recognized Contributor
Oct 14, 2012
15,110
9,831
0
Hi Ashyx,

Can you check if I can use the CF-auto root for 5.02 and use it on 5.1.1?

just in case i have recovery.img for 5.1.1 below, thanks a bunch !!!

https://mega.nz/#!dRhkEIgL!H0Y4HOuNSnazgp97-ZTTfQ6NgaLDrJta4V5EfD2zSIE

Model SM-T710
Model name Galaxy Tab S2 8.0 Wi-Fi
Country Canada
Version Android 5.1.1
Changelist 5659114
Build date Fri, 21 Aug 2015 09:59:53 +0000
Product code XAC
PDA T710XXU1BOH6
CSC T710XAC1BOH6
Shouldn't be an issue. But post back with results.
 

bert269

Senior Member
Jul 17, 2007
780
50
0
Albuquerque, NM, USA
I tried the cf_autoroot T710 on the latest 5.1.1, but it goes into a boot loop right after the Odin flash and restart:
"RECOVERY IS NOT SEANDROID ENFORCING" - and I can just get into Download mode.

Any ideas?
 

lonelime

Senior Member
May 12, 2011
306
76
0
I tried the cf_autoroot T710 on the latest 5.1.1, but it goes into a boot loop right after the Odin flash and restart:
"RECOVERY IS NOT SEANDROID ENFORCING" - and I can just get into Download mode.

Any ideas?
see post above?

we have to wait for xAshy to confirm if we could use CF-auto root 5.02 to use on 5.1.1.

looked like you already tested and it gone into boot-loop....
 

bert269

Senior Member
Jul 17, 2007
780
50
0
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Thx.
Yes, I DID see the post above, that's why I tested it on 5.1.1.
..I know cf_autoroot it's supposed to run a script at boot time, but that never happens, just gets the bootloop with the mentioned message.

I then reflashed 5.1.1 and let the t710 boot. Went into download mode again, flashed the cf_autoroot once more, went into download mode and flashed just the stock (5.1.1) recovery, but it made no differnce. At least I have the stock recovery back, but no su...

Sent from my SM-T710 using XDA Free mobile app
 

lonelime

Senior Member
May 12, 2011
306
76
0
Thx.
Yes, I DID see the post above, that's why I tested it on 5.1.1.
..I know cf_autoroot it's supposed to run a script at boot time, but that never happens, just gets the bootloop with the mentioned message.

I then reflashed 5.1.1 and let the t710 boot. Went into download mode again, flashed the cf_autoroot once more, went into download mode and flashed just the stock (5.1.1) recovery, but it made no differnce. At least I have the stock recovery back, but no su...

Sent from my SM-T710 using XDA Free mobile app
hopefully we will get the root for 5.1.1 anytime soon...
 

ashyx

Recognized Contributor
Oct 14, 2012
15,110
9,831
0
I tried the cf_autoroot T710 on the latest 5.1.1, but it goes into a boot loop right after the Odin flash and restart:
"RECOVERY IS NOT SEANDROID ENFORCING" - and I can just get into Download mode.

Any ideas?
LP 5.1.1 has much stronger security policies and this is probably the issue.
Can you send me the recovery.img from the firmware you are using?

The workaround is to downgrade to LP 5.0.2 with odin.
Root, then flash the LP update with FLASHFIRE.