Root & TWRP!

Search This thread

CalebQ42

Jan 4, 2014
Note: I am no expert at this. I used this to get TWRP and root, but it there is no guarentee it won't brick your phone. Only do this if you know what your doing. Before you start you must have an unlocked bootloader, which will delete all your data. Here's the instructions (If you need help, feel free to post a comment):

1. Download Magisk's installer zip on your phone from https://forum.xda-developers.com/apps/magisk/official-magisk-v7-universal-systemless-t3473445 (Google Pay only works with Magisk v19.0+)
  2. Download arter97's kernel .img to your PC. This kernel currently is the only reliable way to get TWRP. https://forum.xda-developers.com/razer-phone-2/development/arter97-kernel-razer-phone-2-t3914996
  3. Reboot your phone into bootloader mode (Turn off then back on while holding vol down).
    • Make sure your phone is recognized by Windows before proceeding. Follow this guide to setup the proper drivers and fastboot.
  4. Flash arter97's kernel by running
    Code:
    fastboot flash boot arter97-kernel-*.img
    1. If you run into any issues, then you will probably need to specify the slot to flash. Reboot back into your system.
    2. Turn on Android Debugging and run
      Code:
      adb shell getprop ro.boot.slot_suffix
      and make note if the output is _a or _b
    3. Reboot back into bootloader
      • If _a use
        Code:
        fastboot flash boot_a arter97-kernel-*.img
      • if _b use
        Code:
        fastboot flash boot_b arter97-kernel-*.img
  5. Reboot to recovery (either through bootloader mode or hold vol up while rebooting).
  6. Install the Magisk .zip from TWRP.
  7. Be amazed by the possibilities.

Old instructions (Should always work to get root):

1. Download the factory image from here: https://developer.razer.com/razer-phone-dev-tools/
  2. Extract and copy the boot.img file to your device