Rooted palm pre vs Rooted Hero

Search This thread

kevphan08

Aug 12, 2010
Had a question for those who used to own Palm pres and rooted them.

As of now how would you compare the Palm Pre (rooted of course) to that of a rooted Hero (say mine, AOSP 2.3.3)

Does the palm offer anything better than the hero does. Just wondering because a guy on C-list is selling his palm for cheap and was wondering if it would be worth the time to maybe switch up phones.

If i'm in the wrong thread sorry, if this offends people because its not directly a Android HeroC question, sorry again. Just wanted to ask

dpeeps74

Oct 28, 2009
Austin
i have no first hand knowledge..but better? perhaps the cpu and the ability to use a touchstone..and a slide out portrait keyboard, which i do know a lot of people that liked that design.

what's not better? probably development for webOS as compared to Android...i'd imagine you can still find more WinMo 6.5 apps than you can webOS, as I never see anyone with Pres or Pixis. Everyone owns Android phones and iphones.

just my $.02

systemshock869

Aug 30, 2010
Chattanooga, TN
The palm is way smoother and faster, once you overclock it. I'm running screenstate 500/800 and its great. Battery life is pretty good too. Beyond that, I prefer android. There are way more and better apps. Also, tethering on the pre is harder to achieve and is a much slower connection, fwiw. Could be because I haven't figured out how to update radio/profile/prl on the pre.

Sent from my HTC Hero CDMA using XDA Premium App

kevphan08

Aug 12, 2010
Good to know

Thanks for the response. Reason i'm asking is i'd just like a change of phone for now and i'd rather not do a true upgrade, but instead maybe move to a phone that was what i was trying to decide on when i first got my upgrade last year.

Again thanks for the responses.

Nsandhu23

Dec 11, 2010