So, with the bugs you have, would you get this phone today?

Search This thread

braveally

Apr 12, 2010
Oakland, CA
Currently using the Xperia XZ2C and looking to upgrade either to the Xperia 5 II or divest from Sony and try the One Plus 9. I'm not thrilled about what people are saying about its quirks as well, and my experience with the Motorola Edge left a bad taste for me when it comes to curved screens.
I love the form factor of this phone and features, but I'm concerned about the bugs I'm seeing mentioned. I was all Sony until this year when I decided to get a new Xbox over the PS5. Unfortunately before I made that decision I had already gotten a new Sony TV (X900h) & Soundbar (ST-HT5000). The TV has a lot of software problems in the updates and it's concerning to see here that Sony's buggy Android software continues across multiple devices.
I've been using Xperia phones for the last several years, with a few attempts to try other devices. My experience was so lackluster with them that I ended up repairing my XZ2C to continue to use over the last year.
So, those with regular bugs, would you get this device today? The 5 iii is nowhere to be found for me and not worth it IMHO. What would have been your alternative?

MrN1484

Currently using the Xperia XZ2C and looking to upgrade either to the Xperia 5 II or divest from Sony and try the One Plus 9. I'm not thrilled about what people are saying about its quirks as well, and my experience with the Motorola Edge left a bad taste for me when it comes to curved screens.
I love the form factor of this phone and features, but I'm concerned about the bugs I'm seeing mentioned. I was all Sony until this year when I decided to get a new Xbox over the PS5. Unfortunately before I made that decision I had already gotten a new Sony TV (X900h) & Soundbar (ST-HT5000). The TV has a lot of software problems in the updates and it's concerning to see here that Sony's buggy Android software continues across multiple devices.