• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!

[SOLVED] Help recovering stock galaxy s2 stuck at bootlogo

Search This thread

Tutti-frutti

Nov 12, 2008
I'm new to the Samsung platform wrt flashing/rooting etc and hope to revive my sister's galaxy s2 which suddenly stopped working. I did read some of the stickies and guides for unbricking etc, but I have some questions.

Some information that might be relevant:
It is a GT-I9100 phone which has previously (about 3 weeks ago) been successfully updated to the latest 4.1.2 rom using Kies (the end consumer way). The phone has never been rooted or flashed with other firmwares/kernels (it is completely stock).
While using the phone, it suddenly stopped responding (screen froze), had to pull out the battery to power it off.
After removing the battery the phone is stuck at the static Samsung Galaxy S2 bootlogo,
It does enter downloading mode, but it does not enter recovery mode (it should load a samsung recovery environment?)

Q:
With the above described symptoms, what is the first thing I should try, preferably without loosing warranty*?
I guess the answer will be by trying to flash 'a' stock rom using Odin.
If so, which version of the stock rom do I need when the HIDSWVER is unknown? Can I check the HIDSWVER somehow when the phone is in this state? The phone was purchased at Vodafone in the Netherlands.

I currently have downloaded I9100XWLSN_I9100XXMS2_I9100OXXLS8_NEE.zip, Not sure if I should use this one, and if this flashing a rom using Odin is the best way to start recovering this dead s2. I would really appreciate some suggestions :)

I've read something about the eMMC bug. Could this be related?

*the device is still in warranty but at the Vodafone store they say we would risk paying 36 euro for an unrepaired device because of some visual damage. For this reason I would first try to unbrick the device myself.

Last edited:

immortalneo

Jan 25, 2011