Suggestions on GPS software & map pack for the fuze

Search This thread

mputtr

Nov 12, 2008
California, USA
Samsung Galaxy S21 Ultra
As stated above, I'm looking for suggestions on which gps software to use and which map pack to get. Currently I'm interested in acquiring the US map pack and thailand's. Since I'm also a newbie in winmo, I do not know of a gps software that is trusted by the majority of consumers.
If you have a particular software you prefer and are willing to share its name, do reply, otherwise thanks for reading :)

emesbe

Jan 12, 2008
Chicago area
I've used TomTom on several devices with no problems. You'll have to check their site for cost of maps. As for acquiring GPS signal, just do a search for the numerous threads here on that. Primary solutions are disabling aGPS, disabling GPS logging, and using GPSTest to acquire first.

cdaws306

Nov 30, 2008
I second iGo 8... I love it and its regarded as one of the best GPS softwares (that Ive seen)

JFlitt

Feb 18, 2008
I would most definatelly say Garmin Mobile XT is by far the bets IMHO, because it is now integrated with google search you get live information from google anyime you might need it! among other things like gas prices etc, all included at no extra cost, and I don't believe these are included with tom tom I can't say for iGO

:)

Kewlj1313

mindfrost82

Retired Senior Moderator
This has been discussed a number of times already, so I wouldn't be surprised if this one gets closed soon.

Garmin is great IMO. It is just as accurate has their standalone GPS units (I've used it side-by-side with a Nuvi for a 600+ mile trip). As mentioned before, you can get gas prices, weather, etc all included. The only downside for me is that it doesn't do TTS to read the street names.

TomTom is nice and highly recommended on this site as well. For me, the most recent maps I could find weren't updated enough for my area and didn't have a few subdivisions around me, where the latest Navteq maps did.