[TUT] How to root your Fire HD 2014 (any FireOS version):

Search This thread

bibikalka

May 14, 2015
I see a lot of new people showing up on the forum, therefore would like to provide heads up for the 2017 Xmas season. First of all, do not rush this!!! Take a few days/weeks to get comfortable with the Android, if you are a total newbie.

Yes, root is still easily accessible to ANY FireOS version, if you have Fire HD 6/7 2014!

Your options to root are as follows:
1) if you still have FireOS 4.x - use Kingroot directly to get root, install TWRP
2) if you have FireOS 5.x - try Kingroot first, if works - install TWRP (link). If Kingroot does not work, go to the next line
3) if you have any unrootable FireOS 5.x - sideload FireOS 4.5.3 (link), use Kingroot to get root, install TWRP (link).
4) if you have FireOS 5 and want to keep your user data intact (i.e., no factory reset which will have to happen if you go to 4.5.3 and then back to FireOS 5) - try this restore approach (link), it will write TWRP directly into memory. The only issue is that it may not work with the more recent FireOS versions.

Now, once you have TWRP working, proceed to install the latest rooted FireOS 5, as per this link.

Last edited:

smasher007

Jun 24, 2012
My fire hd 6 is on 4.5.4, what's the best way to get root and Gapps? Can I sideload 4.5.3 directly on it, or do I need to get the 5.2.2 development version first?

Reactions: bibikalka

smasher007

Jun 24, 2012
I always used the 2015 version - just for historical reasons. But the 2016 one looks perfectly fine as well!

I have successfully rooted with Kingroot. Could you please share the download link for TWRP 2016 version that works with 4.5.4? I cannot find it on the TWRP website.

Sorry for being a noob, the whole guide with so many strikes seems soo confusing!

Last edited:

bibikalka

May 14, 2015