[TWRP 3.2.1-1] [ROOT] Tab A SM-T380/T385 - 10/02/2018

Status
Not open for further replies.
Search This thread

Talich52

Senior Member
  • Dec 24, 2010
    296
    117
    What slot is T380_BOOT_PP installed in? And how often has the rmm bypass have to installed. only when TWRP is installed? When any file is flashed? Once? Something else?
    I understand your problem :)
    Need to use the kernel T380DXU3CSI5_patched_boot_111119 link : https://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=80863641&postcount=567
    Do not use the RMM-State_Bypass_Mesa_v2.zip file, as it does NOT work on the model T380 / T385
    I think that the patch is for models with an Exynos processor, and we have Snapdragon ...
     
    Last edited:

    Eclipserazer

    Senior Member
    Sep 17, 2012
    65
    11
    Newcastle
    Set Warranty Bit indicates if your going to the System (Kernel), or you are going to TWRP (Recovery). That's normal when the bootloader is unlocked. But to fix the bootloop, download One UI 1.0 for (T380/T385, Only do the one with your model number) from Sammobile. When I downloaded mine, it said Galaxy Tab A 2018 (T380) even though the T380 is the 2017. Then import the Rom into Odin. It will be in mupilte files. I had to import the files on my USB hard drive bescuse it wouldn't on my computer's internal hard drive. Then when your done. It will reboot the tablet and it go in the setup screen. Do know if your model number is not T380 or T385, you have clicked on the wrong therad. Also, you may have used the wrong filed (Example T380 files on T385.)

    Still havent had any luck with getting this working, I definitely have a SM-T380.
    Using This Stock ROM from Sammobile, which installs without any issues.

    Flash TWRP > Wipe Data > Install Magisk > Flash Kernel = Instant bootloops at the first boot screen.
    Flash TWRP > Wipe Data > Flash Kernel > Flash Magisk = Bootloops at the "samsung" screen after about a minute.

    What am i missing here i mean really.. /Data is always mountable up until after the first bootloop, after which /data becomes unmountable and i have to reflash the stock ROM. Im guessing thats the issue.. But what am i doing wrong thats causing that?
     

    CaptainChris2018

    Senior Member
    Aug 29, 2018
    58
    6
    Puyallup, WA
    • Like
    Reactions: Eclipserazer

    Eclipserazer

    Senior Member
    Sep 17, 2012
    65
    11
    Newcastle
    Still havent had any luck with getting this working, I definitely have a SM-T380.
    Using This Stock ROM from Sammobile, which installs without any issues.

    Flash TWRP > Wipe Data > Install Magisk > Flash Kernel = Instant bootloops at the first boot screen.
    Flash TWRP > Wipe Data > Flash Kernel > Flash Magisk = Bootloops at the "samsung" screen after about a minute.

    What am i missing here i mean really.. /Data is always mountable up until after the first bootloop, after which /data becomes unmountable and i have to reflash the stock ROM. Im guessing thats the issue.. But what am i doing wrong thats causing that?

    I think i worked it out, the only thing i did differently was wipe cache after installing magisk :/ idk why that worked, but now im running into another issue, the tablet boots, but /data isnt mountable at all.. is there a solution to this?
     

    CaptainChris2018

    Senior Member
    Aug 29, 2018
    58
    6
    Puyallup, WA
    Still havent had any luck with getting this working, I definitely have a SM-T380.
    Using This Stock ROM from Sammobile, which installs without any issues.

    Flash TWRP > Wipe Data > Install Magisk > Flash Kernel = Instant bootloops at the first boot screen.
    Flash TWRP > Wipe Data > Flash Kernel > Flash Magisk = Bootloops at the "samsung" screen after about a minute.

    What am i missing here i mean really.. /Data is always mountable up until after the first bootloop, after which /data becomes unmountable and i have to reflash the stock ROM. Im guessing thats the issue.. But what am i doing wrong thats causing that?

    The Samsung screen does not boot loop and you are going to wait for a few minutes. The boot animation which on a Samsung device is the Samsung Logo being on the screen for a few minutes is normal when you do stuff such as Installing Rom or in this case, erasing data from twrp.

    ---------- Post added at 01:05 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:56 AM ----------

    I got root to work. I even went ahead and disabled the security agent thing so I can restart my tablet without root going away.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: Eclipserazer

    Eclipserazer

    Senior Member
    Sep 17, 2012
    65
    11
    Newcastle
    Still havent had any luck with getting this working, I definitely have a SM-T380.
    Using This Stock ROM from Sammobile, which installs without any issues.

    Flash TWRP > Wipe Data > Install Magisk > Flash Kernel = Instant bootloops at the first boot screen.
    Flash TWRP > Wipe Data > Flash Kernel > Flash Magisk = Bootloops at the "samsung" screen after about a minute.

    What am i missing here i mean really.. /Data is always mountable up until after the first bootloop, after which /data becomes unmountable and i have to reflash the stock ROM. Im guessing thats the issue.. But what am i doing wrong thats causing that?

    The Samsung screen does not boot loop and you are going to wait for a few minutes. The boot animation which on a Samsung device is the Samsung Logo being on the screen for a few minutes is normal when you do stuff such as Installing Rom or in this case, erasing data from twrp.

    ---------- Post added at 01:05 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:56 AM ----------

    I got root to work. I even went ahead and disabled the security agent thing so I can restart my tablet without root going away.

    Yea i guess i just wasnt waiting long enough, now im trying to get smalipatcher working for it, but thats failing to generate the module. anyway thanks for the help
     

    Talich52

    Senior Member
  • Dec 24, 2010
    296
    117
    I think i worked it out, the only thing i did differently was wipe cache after installing magisk :/ idk why that worked, but now im running into another issue, the tablet boots, but /data isnt mountable at all.. is there a solution to this?
    We need to do not wipe data, but format data - yes and apply the encryption disable patch.
    I will attach the patch:
     

    Attachments

    • Tab_A_2017_Pie_forced+encryption_disabler.zip
      124 KB · Views: 90

    CaptainChris2018

    Senior Member
    Aug 29, 2018
    58
    6
    Puyallup, WA
    One thing I noticed after rooting is that cellaur stuff shows up even though my device is WI-FI Only. There is no way to insert a sim and even if there was eSim support, the device doesn't have the cellular antennas. Even if I had a cellular device, I would be using it beacuse like everyone else here in Washington State, I am stuck at my house so I have no point of having cellaur beacuse I will be home for the next few weeks. Plus I dont have cellular so this device will never be connected. Why does cellular show up? I think it's the kernel that caused it. Why is this?
     

    Attachments

    • 20200330_114459.jpg
      20200330_114459.jpg
      230.8 KB · Views: 87
    • 20200330_114413.jpg
      20200330_114413.jpg
      246.3 KB · Views: 85

    Talich52

    Senior Member
  • Dec 24, 2010
    296
    117
    One thing I noticed after rooting is that cellaur stuff shows up even though my device is WI-FI Only. There is no way to insert a sim and even if there was eSim support, the device doesn't have the cellular antennas. Even if I had a cellular device, I would be using it beacuse like everyone else here in Washington State, I am stuck at my house so I have no point of having cellaur beacuse I will be home for the next few weeks. Plus I dont have cellular so this device will never be connected. Why does cellular show up? I think it's the kernel that caused it. Why is this?
    The kernel is laid out by the respected ashyx :
    https://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=80863641&postcount=567
    Perhaps the Samsung developers did not delete everything from the kernel option for the Wi-Fi version
     
    Nov 25, 2018
    7
    0
    ---------- Post added at 01:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:37 PM ----------

    This guide how to upgrade to Pie on T380 and install TWRP, Kernel and RMM patch

    download Pie updates within software updates under settings if that fails then download Pie firmware here

    https://www.sammobile.com/samsung/g...are/SM-T380/XEF/download/T380DXU3CSL2/312343/
    flash it's using Odin

    once its done updating then go back to developer options and enable OEM

    reboot back into download mode

    then flash TWRP using Odin

    Pie's TWRP Here

    https://androidfilehost.com/?fid=11410963190603890373


    go to advance wipe and then do the format

    reboot back in twrp


    then flash Magisk within TWRP Download the latest Magisk release:

    https://forum.xda-developers.com/apps/magisk/official-magisk-v7-universal-systemless-t3473445

    install OREO/PIE ONLY within TWRP on top of Magisk
    Flash the RMM bypass zip

    https://forum.xda-developers.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=4481843&d=1524258795


    reboot tablet in download mode then flash this kernel using Odin

    Pie's Kernel for Magisk to work flash this using Odin

    https://androidfilehost.com/?fid=4349826312261626422


    once done it will reboot the tablet

    1st update the Pie, enable OEM, flash TWRP, Format, reboot back into TWRP, flash Magisk, RMM, reboot into download mode flash kernel.

    I tested on my tablet and its working fine. Thanks to @ashyx, @FPThatea


    :confused:
    does this mode also work for t385m models?
    Do these files also work?

    Because my magisk is not installed.
     
    Last edited:

    zfk110

    Senior Member
  • Jan 11, 2014
    996
    199
    Atlanta
    ---------- Post added at 01:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 01:37 PM ----------




    :confused:
    does this mode also work for t385m models?
    Do these files also work?

    Because my magisk is not installed.

    I don't have t385m, so I can't confirm it. You can try to see, if you know how to flash stock firmware using odin, if you don't know that then you find that out how you can flash stock firmware using odin
     

    CaptainChris2018

    Senior Member
    Aug 29, 2018
    58
    6
    Puyallup, WA
    I installed some magiask modlues, edxposed Framework, a custom boot animation, and a few tweaks like centered clock and seconds in the clock. I had a few bootloops, but it was beacuse it installed incompatible magiask modlues. I fixed them by uninstalling the bad modlues in the file explorer in TWRP. I'm glad I installed the data encryption bypass for twrp. Can I have the stock boot animation please? I am happy with the one I have, but it scares me sometimes when I restart because the first reboot having the anamtions my device restarted radomly while booting. I thought it was bricked, I booted in twrp, restarted... and the lock screen came up, it has not be restarting radomly anymore. But it kind of scares me to see "Cilck here to reboot to apply changes" I want the anamtions beacuse I will restore if I get scared too much. I dont like thinking of bootloops. And that random restart made me think my device was in a bootloop.
     

    CaptainChris2018

    Senior Member
    Aug 29, 2018
    58
    6
    Puyallup, WA
    installed magisk but still no root access.. what t o do ???

    Install Custom recovery if you have not yet, Custom Kernel (The file with patch in the name) by getting the .img out of the .tar and flashing the .img in twrp in image install mode, install magiask, (your device will bootloop if you install magiask before the kernel) install rmm bypass (if you dont install the rmm bypass, your device will get bricked by knox). And it's not required but you should beacuse it can get you out of some bootloops down the road without wiping data. The not required thing is the Tab a 2017 forced eycpriton disabler.
    The bootloops it can help solve is stuff like unsupported modlues, without installing it, you would have to factory reset to uninstall modlues. Instead. You could use the twrp file manger and go to what I believe is Data/ADB/modlues/nameofmagiaskmodlue/(folder opitons)/(delete).
     

    Attachments

    • RMM-State_Bypass_Mesa_v2.zip
      1.6 KB · Views: 29
    • T380DXU3CSI5_patched_boot_111119.tar
      14.8 MB · Views: 60
    • Tab_A_2017_Pie_forced+encryption_disabler-1.zip
      124 KB · Views: 71

    bobbylo

    Senior Member
    Jan 14, 2013
    210
    53
    North Myrtle Beach,SC
    Install Custom recovery if you have not yet, Custom Kernel (The file with patch in the name) by getting the .img out of the .tar and flashing the .img in twrp in image install mode, install magiask, (your device will bootloop if you install magiask before the kernel) install rmm bypass (if you dont install the rmm bypass, your device will get bricked by knox). And it's not required but you should beacuse it can get you out of some bootloops down the road without wiping data. The not required thing is the Tab a 2017 forced eycpriton disabler.
    The bootloops it can help solve is stuff like unsupported modlues, without installing it, you would have to factory reset to uninstall modlues. Instead. You could use the twrp file manger and go to what I believe is Data/ADB/modlues/nameofmagiaskmodlue/(folder opitons)/(delete).

    I tryed rooting this tab T-380 so many times,but i was installing Magisk before the kernel,and was getting bootloops everytime.Then i read your post...
    So was i flashing wrong? You have to flash the kernel before magisk? So....Flash twrp,reboot to twrp,format data,reboot twrp flash kernel.img in twrp,then
    RMM bypass,then reboot to system?
     

    Talich52

    Senior Member
  • Dec 24, 2010
    296
    117
    So....Flash twrp,reboot to twrp,format data,reboot twrp, flash kernel.img in twrp,then
    RMM bypass,then reboot to system?
    You did not do 2 actions before rebooting - Flash the encryption disable patch Tab_A_2017_Pie_forced+encryption_disabler
    and flash Magisk.zip. After that, you can do Reboot system now :)
     
    Last edited:

    bobbylo

    Senior Member
    Jan 14, 2013
    210
    53
    North Myrtle Beach,SC
    You did not do 2 actions before rebooting - Flash the encryption disable patch Tab_A_2017_Pie_forced+encryption_disabler
    and flash Magisk.zip. After that, you can do Reboot system now :)

    Yeah,i forgot to add that i flashed magisk..So heres what i did....
    I flashed TWRP,then booted to TWRP and formatted data,then rebooted to TWRP and flashed the kernel,then magisk,then RMM bypass,then booted to system.I never did flash the Tab_A_2017_Pie_forced+encryption_disabler..
    The tablet booted up,and i had root access,but now i can't mount the Data partition in TWRP.So i can't make a backup...Is that because i didn't flash the Tab_A_2017_Pie_forced+encryption_disabler??Thanks for the help.
     
    • Like
    Reactions: Talich52

    Talich52

    Senior Member
  • Dec 24, 2010
    296
    117
    ...I never did flash the Tab_A_2017_Pie_forced+encryption_disabler..
    The tablet booted up,and i had root access,but now i can't mount the Data partition in TWRP.So i can't make a backup...Is that because i didn't flash the Tab_A_2017_Pie_forced+encryption_disabler??Thanks for the help.
    That's right. If you do not flash the encryption disable patch, then Root rights will be, but the memory will be encrypted again and will not be available for TWRP :(
     
    Status
    Not open for further replies.

    Top Liked Posts

    • There are no posts matching your filters.
    • 16
      Unofficial release -TWRP recovery for the Galaxy Tab A - T380/T385, Qualcomm MSM8917

      teamwin-recovery-project-twrp-logo.jpg



      TWRP 3.2.1-0 Released

      Dec 9, 2017

      TWRP 3.2.1-0 is out now for most currently supported devices.

      What's new in 3.2.1-0:

      * minui fixes (cryptomilk)
      * Better android-8.0 compatibility in ROM trees (Dees_Troy)
      * Fix missing library in android-8.0 (nkk71)
      * Fix inconsistent SDCard naming (DevUt)
      * Default to TWRP restore instead of adb backup restore to fix restore on fresh TWRP boot


      Update 05/01/2019
      TWRP 3.2.3-1 OO build released.
      Current status: Beta



      Update 02/02/2017
      TWRP 3.2.1-1 NN build released.
      Current status: Stable


      Features:

      MTP working
      ADB working
      SEANDROID warning fix
      TWRP and Kernel built from latest source
      Raw SYSTEM image backup
      NTFS support
      Twrp app support




      You flash this at your own risk. Please ensure you have the stock ROM to hand downloaded from SamMobile or updato.com in case of problems. This will trip the knox counter.


      Instructions:


      Flash with odin in the AP slot.
      Put your device in DOWNLOAD MODE. (POWER +VOL DOWN +VOL UP)
      Uncheck Auto reboot.
      Load the respective file below into the AP slot and hit start.
      After flashing and ODIN reports PASS immediately reboot to recovery by holding POWER + HOME + VOL DOWN
      As soon as the screen goes blank change to POWER + HOME + VOL UP
      You should now see TWRP recovery.
      FAILURE TO FOLLOW THE ABOVE STEPS WILL RESULT IN TWRP BEING REPLACED BY STOCK RECOVERY


      Do NOT boot the OS, move on to the root instructions below.

      NOTE: ON ANDROID 5.1.1+ DEVICES IT IS NECESSARY TO GO TO:
      Settings -> Developer Options -> OEM unlocking
      AND ENABLE OEM UNLOCK FIRST OR YOU MAY ENCOUNTER 'BLOCKED BY FRP LOCK' WHEN FLASHING.


      DOWNLOAD:

      Oreo/Pie:
      TWRP_3.2.3-1_sm-t380_4119

      TWRP_3.2.3-1_sm-t385_5119

      Nougat:
      TWRP_3.2.1-1_sm-t380_15118


      To Root:
      Download the latest Magisk release:
      https://forum.xda-developers.com/apps/magisk/official-magisk-v7-universal-systemless-t3473445

      To disable forced encryption and mount internal storage (/DATA):
      1. Boot to Twrp
      2. Format the Data partition (NOT WIPE) using the FORMAT DATA button under Wipe options.
      (Note: This will wipe the internal storage)
      3. Check /DATA is mountable.
      4. Install Magisk

      OREO/PIE ONLY:
      5. Flash the RMM bypass zip
      https://forum.xda-developers.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=4481843&d=1524258795

      6. Reboot




      Kernel source T380DXU2BRK3: : https://opensource.samsung.com/uploadSearch?searchValue=sm-t380

      TWRP recovery source: https://github.com/omnirom/android_bootable_recovery


      PLEASE DO *NOT* DIRECT LINK TO THESE FILES. PLEASE LINK TO THIS POST


      DONATE ME HERE IF YOU WANT TO BUY ME A BEER/COFFEE OR HIT THE THANKS BUTTON IF I HELPED YOU

      5
      @ashyx

      Kernel source for T380DXU2BRI6 has been released :)
      5
      @ashyx

      Kernel source for T380DXU2BRI6 has been released :)
      Finally, will be on it soon as I get chance.
      4
      That is great. I am new to all of this. Any sort of estimated timeline as to how long it takes to update TWRP once this is done. Got the tab for christmas and keen to get this thing properly rooted so I can strip all the stuff I do not need and run multiple versions of my game app.

      Not trying to say rush to any of the awesome dev team, just trying to get an idea.

      In the mean time, hap[y new year!
      Probably when new-year is out of the way.
      3
      ok, i feel like i am being ignored here, let me iterate this in another way..

      some of us are visual learners, and no matter how much we read it makes no sense because we don't understand the basis or have anything to compare this too..

      BUT..

      if you made a video on how to install this we would understand in one shot.

      can someone make a youtube video on this please?

      thank you.

      if you dislike youtube (and I understand and agree fully) I wiill even give you webspace to store it on, but i must warn you i move from host to host every three years and next year i move again, but it give us somewhere to start.

      I am working (or trying too anyways) with build # T380DXU1ARB3

      and btw, multiple post about rooting the same device and disagreeing abotu how it is done DO NOT help, nor does it help when someone who was helped by another makes one of those posts rather than the one who provided the solution.

      it has caused me major problems on my end learning to do this actually, and I am sure others feel the same, besides, it is a BS practice.

      so ashyx you have time to make a 15 minute video or something on installing this?
      if we can get you to do that, and the guy behind magisk to do the same we could make this alot easier.

      and also noting which builds it is for and which it fails on would be good too, look ay the posts by mingkee and shahmir_k, good example.

      Hey mate you'll have no issue flashing TWRP to your device just use the download link in OP to download the recovery as your REV001 so your device is compatible as your running the 7.1 nougat SDK, make sure OEM unlock is ON

      Download a copy of your stock firmware for your T380 from sammobile.com you'll need it, any country is flashable but MAKE SURE that the firmware numbers are ☆T380ABC "U1" ABC1 and not T380ABC "U2" ABC1 for example as the new REV002 is 8.1 OREO you dont want that,

      Once you have the recovery downloaded and also the stock firmware, make sure you have ODIN3 3.13.1 also as it supports oreo compression,

      Now first load the TWRP.img you downloaded from OP and place it into the AP tab in odin3 3.13.1 make sure it is the AP tab, now select options, Uncheck auto reboot, now press start, wait for it to say pass In green,

      Now you have to reboot the device but as soon as the screen goes black you must enter recovery without letting the system boot, on the T380 I have i use these buttons reboot the device,

      Hold all at the same time
      Home button,
      Volume down button
      Power button,

      Keep holding until the screen goes black,
      As soon as it does you have to be really quick and hold

      Home button
      Volume up button
      Power button

      You should now be in TWRP now just follow the steps as provided by the OP and you will be fine the hard part is now over,

      if it didnt boot TWRP and you get a triangle screen flash back the stock firmware you downloaded and start these steps again from the start, to flash stock there will be 4 files, BL AP CSC & HOME_CSC, place the BL file into the BL tab, place the AP file into the AP tab (this will take a while to load this one) and last insert the the CSC into the CSC tab, flash and your on stock again, now start from the start,

      ---------- Post added at 05:29 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:57 AM ----------

      Never known a bootloader with the same revision to be refused. Maybe it's the region variant.
      In any case it doesn't need to be flashed, you already have a rev2 bootloader.


      Hey mate I got it all fixed I managed to get everything back to 1 and not -2 like it was, apart from (R2) this was 2 when I received it but it's not -2 like it was,

      Qualcomm secure boot and also warrantt void is not showing as 0×fffffffe thank #€£@ know what I'm doing just potentially averted a $200 loss lol, ah the Joy's of phone technician,

      What I found wouldnt flash from combination rom when tried after downloading this morning it wouldnt flash the aboot.mbn, sbl.mbn, adspo.mbn,

      what I did is disassemble the combination rom,

      Took the following and converted to .tar

      Persist.img
      System.img
      Userdata.img
      Recovery.img
      Sec.dat
      Msadp.img
      Keymaster.img
      cmnlib.img
      NON-HLOS.img
      Rpm.img
      tz.img

      Then finally very last the cache.img,

      Flash this last you will reboot get the spinning circle and it will reboot and everything will be back to normal for anyone else whom encounters this error, there is a fix to go back to 1 from -2 and have an operational system again :) enjoy guys I'll be waiting for TWRP oreo patiently and can tell my customer I didnt FUBAR they're tablet after all :)