U696CL Old Thread - Android won't show up as USB device on VirtualBox after putting phone in ADB/EDL mode?

Search This thread

gregeerg

Senior Member
May 12, 2022
106
14
EDIT: See the unofficial thread I made that has to do with the U696CL root and where we are:

Been trying to figure this out for 5-6hrs now. My Linux VM on my Windows 10 PC detects my phone when plugged into my PC. Great. What I cannot figure out is how to get the phone to still show up when I re-boot it into EDL/ADB mode. It simply doesn't show up in my VM *nor* my PC. But when it's booted normally, it shows just fine on both. PLEASE help. For reference: https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/umx-u693cl-assurant-wireless.4085149/post-86882085
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: _ck_

aIecxs

Senior Member
Feb 17, 2016
1,888
535
gitlab.com
all it needs is linux and working method to enter EDL mode.

I recommend to boot Xubuntu 20.04 LTS from pendrive and create a backup straight from pure linux instead (no more issues with vm usb passthrough)

extract UMX-U693CL-FireHose_Programmer.mbn from UMX_U693CL-A-Team-Root_Recovery_Package.zip and see if it works for your device.

device must listed as QDLoader 9008 mode in lsusb

Code:
edl --loader='/path/to/UMX-U693CL-FireHose_Programmer.mbn' rl dumps

(run sudo apt update once then follow install instructions as descripted here)
https://github.com/bkerler/edl
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: lebigmac

gregeerg

Senior Member
May 12, 2022
106
14
all it needs is linux and working method to enter EDL mode.

I recommend to boot Xubuntu 20.04 LTS from pendrive and create a backup straight from pure linux instead (no more issues with vm usb passthrough)

extract UMX-U693CL-FireHose_Programmer.mbn from UMX_U693CL-A-Team-Root_Recovery_Package.zip and see if it works for your device.

device must listed as QDLoader 9008 mode in lsusb

Code:
edl --loader='/path/to/UMX-U693CL-FireHose_Programmer.mbn' rl dumps

(run sudo apt update once then follow install instructions as descripted here)
https://github.com/bkerler/edl
Hi. See, I already have done all that on my host Windows PC. Like, I can boot into EDL mode and QFIL shows the port for the phone properly. I think my main issue is finding a proper Firehose file so I will try yours real quick. These are the errors I get with the Firehose I was using as well as the one you provided:
Code:
23:43:42: Requested ID 13, file: "C:\Users\Admin\Desktop\prog_emmc_firehose_8917_ddr.mbn"
23:45:12: ERROR: function: sahara_rx_data:237 Unable to read packet header. Only read 0 bytes.
23:45:12: ERROR: function: sahara_main:924 Sahara protocol error
23:45:12: ERROR: function: main:303 Uploading  Image using Sahara protocol failed
Download Fail:Sahara Fail:QSaharaServer Fail:Process fail
Finish Get GPT

I also tried the https://github.com/bkerler/edl stuff yesterday but just couldn't figure it out. I'm new to all of this. I was told I just need a Firehose file and then can do the rest of Windows. Only trying to dump my 696CL phone.
 

aIecxs

Senior Member
Feb 17, 2016
1,888
535
gitlab.com
unfortunately, for windows you need more than just firehose loader. if you prefer windows you have to install drivers and create xml file from scratch. I don't know how to get offset and partition size for this.

on linux it's much more easier, no need to hassle with drivers, just connect and run. no need to know offsets, the cmd rl "read all" will dump all partitions off the device automatically. you can even let create rawprogram0.xml with --genxml flag automatically (you can use on QFIL later, if you want so)
 

gregeerg

Senior Member
May 12, 2022
106
14
unfortunately, for windows you need more than just firehose loader. if you prefer windows you have to install drivers and create xml file from scratch. I don't know how to get offset and partition size for this.

on linux it's much more easier, no need to hassle with drivers, just connect and run. no need to know offsets, the cmd rl "read all" will dump all partitions off the device automatically. you can even let create rawprogram0.xml with --genxml flag automatically (you can use on QFIL later, if you want so)
That's the main issue I'm having with my Linux VM. If I boot the phone normally and plug it into my host PC, it shows up fine on my VM and I can access its files. But as soon as I put it in EDL/ADB/etc, the VM can no longer see/find the phone (neither can Windows but at least Windows still detects the phone on QFIL & whatnot). :( No idea how to get that to work. On QFIL, I'm selecting the Programmer path. Going to Tools > Partition Manager > clicking "Ok" and letting it run as a Flat Build and that's when I get the errors. Device Manager also shows properly as 9008.
 
Last edited:

aIecxs

Senior Member
Feb 17, 2016
1,888
535
gitlab.com
"can no longer see/find the phone" is expected behavior (if you refer to MTP) you can see it only in lsusb

I can't tell you anything other than above. running linux on vm is not same as running running live iso from UEFI/BIOS. check your VMware/virtualbox usb passthrough solution maybe, idk
 

gregeerg

Senior Member
May 12, 2022
106
14
"can no longer see/find the phone" is expected behavior (if you refer to MTP) you can see it only in lsusb

I can't tell you anything other than above. running linux on vm is not same as running running live iso from UEFI/BIOS. check your VMware/virtualbox usb passthrough solution maybe, idk
Yeah, I've messed with all of that. So, when in EDL/ADB, on Windows it shows under adb devices still but on my VM, it does not show under lsusb. I guess I will find an old USB drive and put Linux on it and try that...Never used Xubuntu before but currently downloading it.
 

aIecxs

Senior Member
Feb 17, 2016
1,888
535
gitlab.com
in linux, browse your windows hard drive first, so it will mounted automatically. create new directory on hard drive with enough free disk space. right mouse key - open terminal here
 

gregeerg

Senior Member
May 12, 2022
106
14
in linux, browse your windows hard drive first, so it will mounted automatically. create new directory on hard drive with enough free disk space. right mouse key - open terminal here
Small update: Installed Xubuntu. Installed the EDL stuff again. The USB Xubuntu IS detecting my phone in EDL mode (yay!). I ran the command you posted above and pointed to the Programmer file on my Desktop and my Terminal says:
main - using loader /(path to Firehose)
main - waiting for the device
main - device detected
main - mode detected: Sahara


Now what? It’s been sitting there for a good while. Not sure what I do next. In lsusb, I see it as: Qualcomm, Inc. Gobi Wireless Modem (QDL Mode). What I didn’t do on the EDL GitHub thing was “Convert own EDL Loaders for automatic usage” step because I don’t know what that is not the “Install EDL Loaders” step. And then I have no idea about the commands under “For EMMC Flash”.
 
Last edited:

aIecxs

Senior Member
Feb 17, 2016
1,888
535
gitlab.com
Never seen such behavior like this. sounds like it stuck in the middle of serial communication. This should not happen. is that on usb 3 or usb 2 port? you should see
Code:
sahara - Uploading loader /media/xubuntu/...
Successfully uploaded programmer :)

if your device is not emmc, try the --memory=UFS flag.

regarding usage - please mention explicit line you don't understand and want me to explain
 

gregeerg

Senior Member
May 12, 2022
106
14
Never seen such behavior like this. sounds like it stuck in the middle of serial communication. This should not happen. is that on usb 3 or usb 2 port? you should see
Code:
sahara - Uploading loader /media/xubuntu/...
Successfully uploaded programmer :)

if your device is not emmc, try the --memory=UFS flag.

regarding usage - please mention explicit line you don't understand and want me to explain
Always a problem when I do stuff. RIP. Using a USB 2.0 port because if I use a 3.0, my phone repeatedly connects/disconnects. And ok, so what do I *exactly* have to do after installing the EDL stuff? What all is optional and what do I need after that? Only trying to dump my 696CL phone. I don’t really understand what all these Loaders are. I did the installation step. The next step is “Get Loaders,” which I did run the command that’s there. After that, I’m lost.

So when I try running commands now, I get: “Device is in Sahara error state, please reboot device.” When I reboot and run command again, I get: “Sahara - [LIB]: couldn’t find a loader for given hwid and pkhash” and it lists a long string of letters/numbers that end in .bin
 

aIecxs

Senior Member
Feb 17, 2016
1,888
535
gitlab.com
Factory Loader = Firehose programmer. the Loaders repo is a collection for other devices. "Install EDL Loaders" is for adding own firehose file to collection. you don't need this. just add the --loader flag to each command pointing to your own loader.

"Device is in Sahara error state, please reboot device" is most likely caused by timeout. some devices only accept initiation during first 30 sec
 

gregeerg

Senior Member
May 12, 2022
106
14
Factory Loader = Firehose programmer. the Loaders repo is a collection for other devices. "Install EDL Loaders" is for adding own firehose file to collection. you don't need this. just add the --loader flag to each command pointing to your own loader.

"Device is in Sahara error state, please reboot device" is most likely caused by timeout. some devices only accept initiation during first 30 sec

Wait, add —loader to what commands?
EDIT: ok, I went into EDL mode again and very quickly ran the initial command you gave. It says “Firehose mode detected, uploading…” and is sitting there currently. Not sure how long that’s supposed to take but it’s been a good 18mins. I ran adb devices and phone isn’t showing there at the moment
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: aIecxs

aIecxs

Senior Member
Feb 17, 2016
1,888
535
gitlab.com
if you can't see "Successfully uploaded programmer" within a few seconds, that mean this firehose programmer is not suitable for your device (or faulty usb cable?)

there is nothing more to do. it's not your fault
 

gregeerg

Senior Member
May 12, 2022
106
14
if you can't see "Successfully uploaded programmer" within a few seconds, that mean this firehose programmer is not suitable for your device (or faulty usb cable?)

there is nothing more to do. it's not your fault
It’s gotta be something else. Tried with 3 USB cables. I just think I can’t find the right Firehose.
EDIT: Yeah, because when I use PizzaG’s 693CL ToolKit, boot to EDL mode, the ToolKit terminal says it’s detecting the phone (which I never had happen before, so that’s good) BUT it’s saying “Sahara [LIB]: couldn’t find a loader for given hwid and pkhash (lots of numbers and letters.bin)”
 
Last edited:

aIecxs

Senior Member
Feb 17, 2016
1,888
535
gitlab.com
the loaders repo has its own file naming. if you add own loader with fhloaderparse the file will renamed and added to Loaders dir
 

gregeerg

Senior Member
May 12, 2022
106
14
the loaders repo has its own file naming. if you add own loader with fhloaderparse the file will renamed and added to Loaders dir
Ok, so what should I be doing with the Programmer file you linked? Right now, I made a “newstuff” folder like the GitHub says and put it in home/EDL/. Moved the Programmer file to newstuff folder like it says to. I then ran that "fhloaderparse newstuff Loaders" command and it made a “Loaders” folder then I did "mkdir examples"
and both folders are empty. His guide has his Loaders ending in .bin but we are using .mbn so I’m so confused at this part. Am I supposed to be rooted or anything before this entire process or anything I might be missing?
 
Last edited:

aIecxs

Senior Member
Feb 17, 2016
1,888
535
gitlab.com
.bin .mbn .elf whatever name it has before is irrelevant as it will be renamed anyway. dir name doesn't matter you can name it tmp, newstuff, examples, ... just put your file(s) somewhere.

usage is (where ~/tmp is any directory with your own files and Loaders is existing target dir inside edl)
Code:
cd edl
git submodule update --init --recursive
fhloaderparse ~/tmp Loaders

your linux is live distro from pendrive? you don't need fhloaderparse as you have to re-install everything on each boot anyway, its temporary linux like DVD so it's pointless.
the only command needed is that from post #2. it's fine to test loaders. it seems like the loader is crashing your phone...
 
Last edited:

Top Liked Posts

  • There are no posts matching your filters.
  • 1
    EDIT: See the unofficial thread I made that has to do with the U696CL root and where we are:

    Been trying to figure this out for 5-6hrs now. My Linux VM on my Windows 10 PC detects my phone when plugged into my PC. Great. What I cannot figure out is how to get the phone to still show up when I re-boot it into EDL/ADB mode. It simply doesn't show up in my VM *nor* my PC. But when it's booted normally, it shows just fine on both. PLEASE help. For reference: https://forum.xda-developers.com/t/umx-u693cl-assurant-wireless.4085149/post-86882085
    1
    all it needs is linux and working method to enter EDL mode.

    I recommend to boot Xubuntu 20.04 LTS from pendrive and create a backup straight from pure linux instead (no more issues with vm usb passthrough)

    extract UMX-U693CL-FireHose_Programmer.mbn from UMX_U693CL-A-Team-Root_Recovery_Package.zip and see if it works for your device.

    device must listed as QDLoader 9008 mode in lsusb

    Code:
    edl --loader='/path/to/UMX-U693CL-FireHose_Programmer.mbn' rl dumps

    (run sudo apt update once then follow install instructions as descripted here)
    https://github.com/bkerler/edl
    1
    Factory Loader = Firehose programmer. the Loaders repo is a collection for other devices. "Install EDL Loaders" is for adding own firehose file to collection. you don't need this. just add the --loader flag to each command pointing to your own loader.

    "Device is in Sahara error state, please reboot device" is most likely caused by timeout. some devices only accept initiation during first 30 sec

    Wait, add —loader to what commands?
    EDIT: ok, I went into EDL mode again and very quickly ran the initial command you gave. It says “Firehose mode detected, uploading…” and is sitting there currently. Not sure how long that’s supposed to take but it’s been a good 18mins. I ran adb devices and phone isn’t showing there at the moment
    1
    .bin .mbn .elf file whatever name it has is irrelevant as it will be renamed. dirname doesn't matter you can name it tmp, newstuff, examples just put your file(s) somewhere.

    usage is (where ~/tmp is any directory with your own files and Loaders is existing target dir inside edl)
    Code:
    cd edl
    git submodule update --init --recursive
    fhloaderparse ~/tmp Loaders

    your linux is live distro from pendrive? you don't need this as you have to re-install everything on each boot anyway, its temporary linux like DVD so it's pointless.
    the only command needed is that from post #2 it's fine to test loaders. it seems like the loader is crashing your phone...
    I installed Xubuntu with my Windows so I can boot into either.
    So my commands in Terminal would look like this then if the Programmer you linked that I downloaded is at the newstuff folder?:
    Code:
    cd edl
    git submodule update --init --recursive
    fhloaderparse /home/name/edl/newstuff/ Loaders

    Because running that doesn't have seemed to change anything? Still empty folders.
    1
    you could also request user release source code in compliance to GPL. You can probably pick up in person between 9-5 in Shenzhen office :p