UNBRICKING THE 8th gen FIRE HD8 (karnak) STUCK ON THE WHITE AMAZON LOGO

Search This thread

Jik Sey

Jan 21, 2019
I have put together quick guide to unbricking the 8th gen Fire HD8 (karnak) stuck on the white Amazon logo, without having to take the back off or having to short any wires. I hope this will help someone out if they are stuck on what to do next. This is based on other great posts by By k4y0z & xyz & Xinto & Scripts used amonet-karnak-v3.0.1.zip and brick-karnak.zip
I am assuming that you are already using a Linux installation or live-system running ADB and have the amonet-karnak-v3.0.1.zip and brick-karnak.zip extracted to have bricked your tablet in the first place :) I am basically a total newbie but I have now tried this 3 times on 2 8th gen Fire HD8's (karnak) tablets with differing Firmware that were stuck on the boot logo. Please note I am not responsible of any physical damage in your tablet, if you choose to make these modifications.

1. First power off the tablet (Hold power button down for 20 seconds until the Amazon logo disappears)
2. Hold down the left Volume button, while pressing the Power on button. Then Plug the tablet back in.
3. From inside the brick-karnak/amonet folder open a new terminal and TYPE
Code:
sudo ./brick.sh
The terminal will say ...Brick preloader to continue via bootrom-exploit? (Type "YES" to continue)
4. Make sure you type YES, not just y or yes like I made the mistake of doing a few times!
The terminal will then say
Bricking PL Header
Check instructions on device
target reported max download size of 114294784 bytes
Sending 'brick' (111957 KB)...
OKAY [ 3.886s]
Writing 'brick'...
On the Amazon Fire screen it will display.... All good now unplug and power off the device.

5. Unplug the tablet and power it off (Hold power button down for 20 seconds)

6. From inside the amonet-karnak-v3.0.1/amonet open a new terminal and TYPE
Code:
sudo ./bootrom-step.sh
The terminal will say .... Waiting for bootrom