• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!

USB Issues with Oreo 8.1

Search This thread

dburckh

Jan 26, 2011
Just got the Oreo 8.1 update on my Project Fi Moto X4 (Motorola Version: OPW28.46-13). The phone does not show up in Windows anymore. No MTP, no ADB. It does charge. I've tried it on two different PCs. It was working seconds before applying the update. The cable does work properly with an S8.

Anybody else seeing this?

I'm a professional Android developer and I was using the phone for development before the update. The other issue is that Developer Mode was disabled after update. I re-enabled it after 8.1 and it didn't work. I've disabled/enabled USB Debugging and developer options several times.

Update:
Tried on OS X now too, same issue. OTG does work.

Work-Around:
https://forum.xda-developers.com/showpost.php?p=76430795&postcount=32

Last edited:
Reactions: jdrch

Neffy27

Nov 27, 2013
The previous two months became available on there as my phone got the OTA notification. I have yet to see someone who has receive the April, verify they attempted Motoota here on XDA or Reddit.

sevenpacesp

May 2, 2018
Just got the Oreo 8.1 update on my Project Fi Moto X4 (Motorola Version: OPW28.46-13). The phone does not show up in Windows anymore. No MTP, no ADB. It does charge. I've tried it on two different PCs. It was working seconds before applying the update. The cable does work properly with an S8.

I'm a professional Android developer and I was using the phone for development before the update. The other issue is that Developer Mode was disabled after update. I re-enabled it after 8.1 and it didn't work. I've disabled/enabled USB Debugging and developer options several times.

Update: