• Introducing XDA Computing: Discussion zones for Hardware, Software, and more!    Check it out!
  • Fill out your device list and let everyone know which phones you have!    Edit Your Device Inventory

What ROM for Samsung Galaxy Tab S6 ?

Search This thread

MrNice

Jan 2, 2021
Countryside
Hi,
I am a newbie with a little experience only, I installed LineageOS on my second hand S6 phone. I am happy with it.
I am thinking to buy a second hand tablet and I'd like to know what is the best for a ROM like LineageOS.
Samsung Galaxy S6 (SM-T860) looks a good one but I have read LineageOS is not working on it.
Could you confirm? Is there another ROM without GAFAM (no google at all)?

What about Samsung Galaxy S5e (SM-T720), LineageOS or other ROM without GAFAM?
What brand , reference do you advice in the same range of quality, size and power, second hand tablet to run LineageOS?

Thank you for your help

MrNice

Jan 2, 2021
Countryside
For reference:
I found the answer. There is no custom ROM for Samsung Galaxy S6, I think due to proprietary hardware chips.
The closest today is the Samsung Galaxy S5e with a LineageOS 18.1 ROM.

sosimple

Aug 20, 2017
Greece
youtube.com
For reference:
I found the answer. There is no custom ROM for Samsung Galaxy S6, I think due to proprietary hardware chips.
The closest today is the Samsung Galaxy S5e with a LineageOS 18.1 ROM.
There is no proprietary chips. There is no custom rom for almost no newer device.
Its because orinal roms are very good nowdays, and no one have the free time to create a custom rom from start. Its easier just to debloat and install some extra.
Lineage is very problematic rom. After some time become slow.

MrNice

Jan 2, 2021
Countryside
There is no proprietary chips. There is no custom rom for almost no newer device.
Its because orinal roms are very good nowdays, and no one have the free time to create a custom rom from start. Its easier just to debloat and install some extra.