Widget for Huawei HiLink 3G/LTE Dongles

Search This thread

dnfm

Nov 24, 2009
As the owner of a few of these CSN2/MTCD Android head units, I am also the owner of a Huawei HiLink dongle for Internet access on said devices (the kind that appears as an Ethernet device to the Android deck).

I got annoyed with the fact that using my HiLink device I had Internet access, but I had no idea the status of said Internet connection (signal quality, roaming, whether I was online or not, etc.)

So I wrote a simple Android widget that does exactly that. You can download it on the Play Store here:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.datademons.hilinkstatuswidget

While I have been a professional programmer for many many years, this is the first time I've written anything for Android, so I'm still dealing with the learning curve, so be patient with me. :D

Feel free to comment here, or email me at the address on the app listing on the Play Store for bug reports/feature requests. I find it super useful, but I wrote it for me originally; that's to be expected. I hope it can help someone else.

l9Xn8EG.png

Reactions: whocarez_pt

azcv

Feb 14, 2011
Sofia
Will it work with HiLink wifi modems?

Изпратено от моят LYA-L29 с помощта на Tapatalk

azcv

Feb 14, 2011
Sofia
I *think* it will, but I don't own one, so I can't test.

Give it a try and let me know how it goes.
Tested with:

1. Huawei E5573. The result is: found null. There is a small exclamation mark in the bottom right corner of the widget. Clicking on the widget is opening the app screen and after less than a second the activity is crashing.
2. Huawei E5330. There is only exclamation mark on the entire widget. The app creen can be opened but the info can't be fetched.
I suspect that this is because that this devices are password protected like a regular routers.