D851 Marshmallow root and install fulmics 5.1(5.2,5.3)

Search This thread

Semi Fahid

Jun 4, 2016
Hello everyone.
I am newbie here.
I own t-mobiles lg g3 and updraded to marshmallow as the ota updates became available. But due to certain reasons, i wanted to install custom rom. The primary hurdle was rooting the device. Through trial and error method i have now successfully installed the fulmics 5.3.
I want to share my experience in this regard.

Device : d851 ( t-mobile lg g3)
Software veesion : 6.0 official marshmallow.

Root :-
Through mobile's browser, google for kingsroot. Download and install. ( donot reboot as this is temporary root, one the cell is rebooted the device will regain its previous status).
download twrp.image for d851 and save in sd card.
Now download flashify from play store and open the app. It will give three options. Select the first option ( browse image file or some thing like this) and select the twrp file you have recently downloaded. The flash will b completed in few seconds.
Congratulations, you have installed twrp.
Download a copy of custom rom ( fulmics 5.1 recommended) and save in sd card.
Now reboot the device in recovery mood ( either by turning off the cell, and then pressing simultaneously volume down+ power button, as the lg logo appears, release the power key and again press it. You will see two options, select the YES twice.
In recovery mode, first select wipe, advance wipe, system and then slide to wipe. Once done, go back and install the custom rom. After the successful installation, dont select the reboot option. Instead go back and again select wipe, factory reset.
congratulations, rom has been installed.
But you will observe sim card is not read by device. This is because cell was not properly rooted. To tackle this problem, download the modem file for D851 and flash it.
Enjoy the new custom rom.
Thanx.
Sorry for poor presentation and, offcourse, my weak english.

Semi Fahid

Jun 4, 2016