FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

Best back end for Android app?

1 posts
Thanks Meter: 1

By Andend, Junior Member on 5th February 2016, 04:24 PM
Post Reply Email Thread
I appologize if this is a dumb question, but I am new to app development, altough some experienced in php/html.

I want to create an app where user fills in forms. The app development is easy to find info about, but i also want a back end plattform where I read the submitted forms and organize users.

So, my question. Is there a sort of ready wordpress like plattform to customize, or should this be built from scratch? If so, which platform is the best?
The Following User Says Thank You to Andend For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Andend Ad-Free

12th February 2016, 01:24 PM |#2  
Flag palo alto
Thanks Meter: 2

More
I work at Kinvey, a BaaS provider.

You list a number of fundamentally different services, so first to frame the answer you have this choices, ordered by relative position in the stack:

Baas (Kinvey, Parse, Stackmob)
PaaS (Heroku, GAE, Beanstalk, etc)
IaaS (EC2, Rackspace, GCE, etc)

In the direction IaaS->PaaS->BaaS you gain productivty, and in the opposite direction you gain control.
The Following User Says Thank You to logoinnovator For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift logoinnovator Ad-Free
13th March 2016, 01:18 PM |#3  

More
One note I should add about Buddy (full disclosure: I work there) is that we maintain independent instances of the platform in different locations around the world. If you need to host your backend in Europe (for response time or data sovereignty reasons, for example), you can choose your app backend to be sandboxed in the EU. Likewise the US and likewise China (with Brazil, Singapore and Australia coming soon).
The Following User Says Thank You to MihaelYank For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift MihaelYank Ad-Free
6th August 2016, 11:18 AM |#4  
Flag Ahmedabad

Donate to Me
More